Sunflower Farmers Market Employee Reviews

Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company
Produce Manager (Former Employee) –  Murray, UTMay 6, 2016
Pretty laid back as far as dress code and culture but results were still expected. Management was poor and always trying to promote themselves to their superiors instead of backing their associates who were the ones doing the actual work. It would have been nice to have a management team with a backbone that was not afraid to stand up for their team. The funny thing about the particular management team I had was they would only act like they cared about their associates when their bosses came in and only cared completely about the conditions of the store when their bosses were coming in to do a store visit.
The actual work was challenging and fun, but the management team was very bad.
Pros
Good health benefits and associate discounts.
Cons
Management team was poor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace company, keeping every customer happy, paying attention to whats going on at all times. I have learned to be patient and focused.
Cashiering, sales (Former Employee) –  Dublin Blvd and Academy Blvd.September 25, 2015
worked for a fast pace environment with lots of team work. Met lots of returning customers and enjoyed seeing them once a week. Great management team with a lot of red tape and politics, but this is expected in a fast pace environment.
Pros
Employment appreciation Day. Every quarter.
Cons
A lot of arguments and fights between customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great small company
Grocery / Dairy / Bulk Buyer (Former Employee) –  PhX AZMarch 15, 2015
Great small company
Sunflower Farmers Markets
Feb. 1, 2011 to Aug. 2012
Grocery / Dairy / Bulk Buyer
• Responsible for $1.4 million of inventory.
• $450,000 in weekly sales
• Retalix and IBM AS400 inventory management system expert.
• Managed forty individual vendors
• Managed yearly contract inventory (Blue Diamond Almonds Bulk).
• Includes Dairy and Grocer categories
• Managed turns, sales, service level.
• Improved service level and inventory position every quarter since my arrival.
• Ad , promotional and seasonal buying
• Special projects, system management and training.
• Trained Buyers
• Managed all AP functions for my vendors.
• Managed freight resources.
• Managed repack (manufacturing) system functions.
• Implemented new Buying system
• Consolidated vendors from
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good college job
Deli Production and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  centennial, coMay 21, 2014
I enjoyed my time at Sunflower and developed my skills with customer service and task management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sold to Sprouts
GROCERY CLERK (Former Employee) –  Denver, CODecember 16, 2013
A little job I had while looking for another. Pay was bad and work was high.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its an OK company.
Assistant Produce Manager (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COOctober 5, 2013
The management and structure and accountabilities suck..
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Grocery Retail Environment
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Murray, UTFebruary 8, 2013
Typical day at work is production and number one is Customer Service.
Nutrition Department, easy to gain product knowledge, easy to assist customers and clients. Store well kept, good prices and discounts.
Co-workers eager and willing to assist and good team players.
Hardest part of the job is being active in cleaning, rotating, and organizing product and standing, bending, lifting up to 50 lbs.
Most enjoyable part of job is learning of product, learning how to sale, promote and engage the customer.
Pros
nice peaceful atmosphere to work easygoing, great shopping experience, discounts and good pay.
Cons
always hiring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult work enviornment
Assistant Controller (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COJanuary 25, 2013
Each morning we were reqired to go say good morning to the Controller. I prefer to come in and get to work and then socialize briefly during the day.
I learned that I do better with more goals to complete. I was hired to install the fixed asset system but found that I needed a variety of tasks to stay happy.
Pros
benifits
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sunflower Market
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJanuary 5, 2013
Sunflower Market was a great place to work. They merged with Sprouts Farmers Market and took their name.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
must be able to multi-task
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We rocked it at Sunflower!
IT/Corporate System Analyst and Programmer (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZDecember 17, 2012
We worked extremely hard but were very successful. Everyone was super to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For the most part, a fun place to work, with helpful and supportive co-workers
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMDecember 11, 2012
The typical day at work consists of providing customer service, overall, whether working at the registers or stocking shelves.

I have learned how to prepare for a day of fast-paced working and how to manage time while there, in addition to sharpening people skills.

The managers have an open door policy and the majority of them are approachable, friendly and responsive to needs and concerns.

Co-workers are easy with whom to work and a lot carry a wealth of knowledge of products and services, very enjoyable.

Hardest part of the job is maintaining communication openly and fairly. My experience has been that the information given and received has been communicated after the fact, or not at all.

The most enjoyable experience has been the interaction with both the customers and employees.
Pros
open, clean atmosphere, fun co-workers, great management
Cons
poor communication on all levels
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Deli Cheese and Cheese Specialist (Current Employee) –  Roseville, CANovember 3, 2012
Everyone was very helpful and friendly and product was amazing and well priced.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company with lots of advancement opportunity
Technical Support Engineer I (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 18, 2012
Merit based reviews helped me gain ground very quickly in my career with Sunflower Farmers Market. I had the opportunity to learn and practice new skills which led to progressive advancements in position and salary. This company values IT and understands the importance to staying on top of emerging technologies which allowed me to learn valuable new skills. Management valued input from all members of IT and provided a fair, team-based work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closed
Front End Manager (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CAOctober 17, 2012
The store is no longer in business. I loved the people I worked with and once they announced that they were merging with Sprouts everything went downhill!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun company to work for
Assistant Front End Manager (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CAOctober 9, 2012
Everyday was different at Sunflower, every customer is different but I learned something new everyday, either by the customer or at work as far as product knowledge.
Pros
nice break room
Cons
store was closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting world of supplements and vitamins!
Natural Living Trainer (Current Employee) –  Santa Fe, NMAugust 15, 2012
Being in sales for supplements, organic herbs, and vitamins was a blast!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very welll run office with outstanding staff
A/P Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COJuly 25, 2012
Unfortunately this company was bought out by Sprouts so it is going to be merged with Sprouts soon and Sunflower will no longer exist. I enjoyed everything about this company and disappointed that it will be gone soon. I do believe Sprouts was a good fit for the merger, but very sad that we no longer have this company around. The management was super, the job was challenging and the most of all the people were super to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
Bakery/Deli clerk (Current Employee) –  Modesto, CAJune 30, 2012
worst place ive ever worked most hateful people ive ever seen
Cons
lots
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place i ever worked !!!!
produce clerk (Former Employee) –  modesto caJune 23, 2012
The produce manager is horrible and impossible to deal with, and the store director is very rude and uptight. I only worked there 3 weeks and quit. I loved working there and its unfortunate to give up a great place of work.
Pros
everything except upper management
Cons
excuce the name ... not a real farmers market
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good store, but not currently hiring
customer (Former Employee) –  LomasJune 12, 2012
This is a great store, but they are currently not hiring because the whole company is switching over to Sprouts, the same type of company but from California. They won't be hiring until it's done, so don't bother applying for a few months
Pros
great products
Cons
switching to sprouts
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.4

Sunflower Farmers Market Reviews by Location