SunGard Employee Reviews

Found 234 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people who have worked there many years and know their industry
Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 21, 2017
Many products have legacy technology that is difficult to migrate to current standards. Generally, product investments are driven by the customers. Eliminated their research and development group and many under performing products which left significant gaps in solutions and minimal opportunity to become the market leading software vendor.

Work-life balance varied depending on the sales commitments. Otherwise, the organizational culture was very good since people worked closely for many years.

Many reorganizations over the years resulting in senior leadership being out of touch and decisions being made without much input.
Pros
If making revenue targets, had a lot of autonimy in the individual business units
Cons
Downsized many times, only invested in the products making the most revenue, many small dispersed offices with few amenities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very nice env. until the foreign owners decided to shut it down
Senior Developer (Former Employee) –  Chevy Chase, MDMay 29, 2017
I spent 5 very productive and enjoyable years, until our company has been bought it. Then the last two years were the twilight of what has been brilliant before. The new owners made miserable the life the old clients in order to kick them out and be able to close the shack with no remorse.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good client work experience but under tight time constraints
BusinessSystems Analyst (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Malvern, PAMay 25, 2017
Worked at Sungard as a contractor for 3 years. Had to solve complex client reporting analysis and development issues, write design documents, and complete assignments sometimes with tight deadlines. I worked from home but 100% working from home wasn't as good for me, may work for some people. Client work was interesting but sometimes had to work under pressure. Note: Sungard acquired by FIS in 2015.
Pros
Good client work experience
Cons
Tight deadlines, had to work under pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive environment; leadership effectiveness varies
Information Technology (IT) Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 24, 2017
Great place for a mid-career professional that is familiar with the ropes and expectations. Environment was not the best for an entry-level analyst. Overall, good experience.
Pros
work/life balance
Cons
few projects
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Client Services
Client Services Analyst (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 17, 2017
Was able to travel and work with many clients across the US and internationally. Learned many new technologies and worked on providing tangible solutions to the clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment with telecommute option available.
Change Management Engineering Compute Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 16, 2017
Worked for Sungard/Vericenter for 10 years and enjoyed it. Positions that were attained had competitive salary and benefits. Annual reviews were fair with goals that were attainable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre Place to Work
Sr. Director Professional Services and Support (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAMay 15, 2017
Bar was set low and people were angry with their lives. Most management and leadership had worked at the organization since college and were unprepared to succeed in today's environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internal bureaucracy hard to deal with - opportunity to work with lots of technologies.
SAP Basis Manager (Former Employee) –  VirtualMay 9, 2017
Internal bureaucracy is hard to work with. Had the ability to work with a lot of technologies and expand my skill set. Lots of projects going on, not pigeon holed doing the same work.
Pros
Wide range of technologies to work with.
Cons
internal bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and great place to work
Service Bureau / Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMay 1, 2017
Typical day is busy yet fun. Employees learn to work in a diverse environment and how to deal with people from different backgrounds. Workplace culture is friendly, the hardest part of the job is keeping up with the workload on busy days and the most enjoyable part of the job is working in a friendly environment and under good management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hired for one position, then forced into a different position
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Hinsdale, ILApril 30, 2017
I was hired under the premise that I would be a Business Consultant. I was to evaluate how clients used the [Employer] product and then help the client and [Employer] work together to mutually improve efficient use and development of the software.

I was forced unwillingly into an operational support role that neither suited my interests or best suited my skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot and built my skills.
Vice President (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 19, 2017
Enjoyed working with a lot of good people. The firm largely grew through acquisition, so that made establishing a consistent corporate culture a bit tricky.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality staff, excellent work environment
Project Manager - SunGard Professional Services (Former Employee) –  Lake Mary, FLApril 10, 2017
Laid off due to company buyout and restructure. Quality co workers and management until buy out. great workplace culture. Worked with multiple clients, managed projects as much as 45 projects simultaneously.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work ethic and work days
Senior Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOApril 3, 2017
Good people to work with
small group for division
little promotion opportunity
very supportive of staff
good work location
average salary
average benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working here was ok
Oracle Developer (Former Employee) –  Malvern, PAApril 2, 2017
I enjoyed my time at this company. Management communicated well. Somewhat flexible hours. The environment was friendly. I would recommend this as a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Management Ever
Technical Writer (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMarch 28, 2017
They pack their workers into a call-center like environment, harass you when you are late due to horrible traffic getting there, and my manager (offshore) was a heartless guttersnipe.
Pros
none
Cons
low pay, micromanaged
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a ok time there
QA Manager (Former Employee) –  Chico, CAMarch 23, 2017
if you like to be told what to do 10-15 times a day and have to get water from the restroom to drink then this place is for you. turnover is about 1-2 years. Everyone there is either wanting to leave or change the way the company operates. went through 4 CEO's in a 8 year period and still fail to provide 70% customer satisfaction.
Pros
most people are kind
Cons
the worst people tend to harass you enough to make you forget about the nice people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Intern (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAMarch 23, 2017
I shadowed an engenieer. typical day they have scrum meetings. i learned that scrum enviorment is like. management is good. culture is good. hardest part is the code. enjoyable part is the people around
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Senior Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Lake Mary, FLMarch 8, 2017
Overall, the company is a good place to work. Individual managers might affect day-to-day morale, but remote work is allowed/encouraged, so definitely a plus there.
Pros
Free breakfast Thursday, lots of activities and luncheons
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical office work with no advancement
Data Entry Assoc (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMarch 6, 2017
As a Data Entry Assoc. my job was to key financial forms, which was steady but very boring. I liked the job until I found it more difficult than anticipated to move up the ladder.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work culture
QA Analyst (Former Employee) –  NEW YORK CITY,NY,USAFebruary 27, 2017
FIS encourages its employees to grow immensely within organization.
An excellent place to work ,great experience to work with FIS,learn lot of thing like how to behave in organisation ,how to support with collegues,support at any point of time if they required as well as.
Over all nice experience with the FIS.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SunGard. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 399 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

73%
72 ratings
Add your rating