Find companies:
Sunrise Senior Living
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
444 reviews

Sunrise Senior Living Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Care Manager (Former Employee), Mount Laurel, NJOctober 17, 2014
Loved helping people do things they forget to do themselves. Loved working with the elderly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
resident aide
meds tech (Former Employee), Plymouth, MIOctober 8, 2014
very good company to work for. and need to pay more and they will train you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job review
lead care mgr./med care mgr (Former Employee), Beverly Hills, CAOctober 6, 2014
my night at work sometime could be easy, sometimes not so easy. i had a lot of responsibility on this shift, management put a lot of trust in me on this shift. some of my team members worked and as team members, others did not. the hardest part of the job, was making sure all the residents were safe at night. the most enjoyable part of my job was when – more... family members thank me for taking excellent care of their love ones. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with cooking
Baking (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 4, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short break
Cooking pasta, chicken etc..., cleaning, customer service, baking cookies and cakes for everyone to eat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff
Business Office Coordinator (Former Employee), Erie, PASeptember 29, 2014
Very clean and friendly environment. Worked with a very respected and knowledgeable team of coordinators
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home like atmosphere where we all felt like family.
Care Manager (Former Employee), Bexley, OHSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: it was like home, chances of promotions, benifits
Cons: not enough staff, created a stressful workload, high turn over rates.
Coming into work we greet each other get organized. Go over the care levels and updated information of the shift before. Check daily logs to have knowledge of what took place before your shift and the residents current status. Walking into a residents room they know you by name, smell, voice. theirs a trust respectfulness there. Every Co-worker has – more... assigned residents each day. We dance with our residents and sing with our residents Sunrise was like a second home for those of us that worked there I loved it and my residents and staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Direct Support Staff
Direct Support Staff (Former Employee), 128 st Miami FL 33177September 25, 2014
Assisted individuals with daily activities such as cooking cleaning getting ready for workshop and outtings. I learned how to care for people other then my family. Each week there are doctors visited individuals must keep and be on time.My Co-Workers was great beacuse we worked as a team.The hardest part of my job was failing at what I knew best. The – more... enjoyable part about my job was to see my patients happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working with the elderly
Care Manager (Current Employee), Huntington Beach, CASeptember 24, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
I have the best coworkers, its always fun working with the elderly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Care Manager (Danville)
Care Manager (Former Employee), Danville, CASeptember 23, 2014
Pros: the residents (i had my favorites)
Cons: the management and the staff suck
The Pay Stinks and so does the staffs attitude, if your White and a care manager the latinos and the philipinos all talk a bunch of mess behind your back or in front of you and when you try to let management know that your being harassed at work they don't do smack. So unless you let them know your bi-lingual early they won't talk about you in front – more... of your face and laugh about it like did me, little do they know this white girl speaks 3 languages........ – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was a joke. Team Player Credo Not So at All
Former Employee (Former Employee), Kennebunk MESeptember 19, 2014
Pros: caregivers work hard for the residents they care for.
Cons: find a better run business. management is lacking a lot of qualifications
Very poor management. Lead by example was not shown at all. Management had their little minions to spy on and there was no team work at all. This location was a very unhealthy place to work. You couldn't trust anyone they would lie about you to better one's self. Just so draining and glad to be out of there.

Many care managers sacrificed their time – more... for the Seniors they worked while some were lazy. I saw how dedicated they were and how much I truly enjoyed getting to know the Residents.

The time I spent there was good only knowing I helped the friends I had both in coworkers but residential friends too.

The ED and nurses should be removed and filled with better trained and who have leadership qualifications, not just a title because they lack a lot. Lastly, communication was a joke. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive clean and fun place to work
Care Coordinator (Former Employee), MISeptember 16, 2014
Pros: free food and snack allday.
Cons: working with ill and elderly people who were incapacitated
a typical day working at sunrise assisted living was working with assigned patients and assisting them with their assigned duties such as cleaning, bathing, feeding them as well as grooming. The things i learned working with elderly patients was how to assist them with their needs and getting know the feeling of certain patient issues that they had. – more... Management was great because they assisted you with whatever you needed as well as they demonstrated alot of work with patients for you to catch on to. to me there wasnt any hard part about this job because it was something that i liked doing, the most enjoyable part about this job was i that i made alot of patients happy to be where they were at certain times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wish i could of stayed
care manager (Former Employee), Wayne, NJSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: the residents
Cons: the he said she said
i feel that i should of been longer the residents were nice to me some of the employers were friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work to understand where you will be one day
Care Manager (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: beautiful locations and settings
Cons: you get attatched to the residents and it is hard to see them go
This place provides you with the experience of seeing where you will be physically and mentally as you journey through life. This in itself gives you a different perspective on the elderly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to meet older perons.
Elderly Assistant (Former Employee), San Gabriel, CASeptember 9, 2014
Showed up to help with the older ladies and gentlemen. Learned how important it is to take care of someone. Most joyful part of the job was being able to communicate and get to see how it was back in the older days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you work for this company and have a family, continue to look for another job unless you work in the kitchen.
Central Supply Manager (Former Employee), Arlington, VASeptember 8, 2014
If you work for this company, continue to look for another job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall great!!!
pss (Current Employee), kennebunk meSeptember 2, 2014
Cons: healthcare
I love working here. However, the medical and dental are so expensive that i cannot afford it for my family. Also, I feel overnights is ignored and no one sees the extra mile they go through. So it is hard to move up. But overall i have to say its a great place. they really care about the residents and i can honestly say this is by far the best place – more... i have worked for. :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great to learn new things
Sunrise Senior Living (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 2, 2014
Pros: i love helping people
Cons: short breaks
its hard work but its very rewarding job to care for the in need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast past, family oriented, meaningful community
Wellness Nurse & Medication Manager (Current Employee), Fresno, CASeptember 1, 2014
I work in a fast pace work environment continually multi tasking and interacting with residents, doctors, and family members. I have basic computer skills and document everything on the computer. I assess residents, check blood sugars, inject insulin, acquire vital signs, pass medications in a timely routine manner, re order medications, stock supplies, – more... fax orders/requests, and answer and transfer calls. I am a team player and work well in group setting. I understand when I need to take charge and do what's best for the resident health and practice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A really great experience and fun work place.
Assistant Living (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 31, 2014
Pros: free lunch, geeting to no residence, join activeties, and commut to work
A typical day at work would be getting to work 15 minutes early clocking in 5 minutes before 2pm(shift starts at 2:00pm) proceeding with cross-over for example first shift explains everything that happened during there shift and how all of our resident are doing, letting us know what they missed or had extra time to do. Then we look over daily notes – more... including doctor apt. hair appointment, notes from doctors or RN's we sign off each note, and then go about our day doing room checks, weight and vitals if needed. Encouraging independence and assisting with daily activities like bingo or puzzles whatever the activities coordinator has planned for that day. While doing that we also make time to answer every call light and help out our co- workers if they have to much on there hands. We assist with light cleaning, showers, and laundry. Around 4:30pm its rush time and we are helping every one to dinner as well as help people get ready for dinner and bringing people from all there activities. Once everyone is situated we help take orders and serve them drinks appetizer main course and desert. We also bust table, take residents back to there rooms or activities and the kitchen work is finished. We make sure room service is done, assist with answering call lights and begin getting residents ready for bed including transferring, lifting, bathing, and grooming patients towards the end of our shift. Then at 10pm we give cross-over for the next shift, sign off on residence info book at clock out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Dealership
Business Development Manager / Sunrise Ford (Former Employee), North HollywoodAugust 28, 2014
Fun and fast-paced environment to work. Worked closely with management. Problems with pay structure.

About Sunrise Senior Living

Sunrise Senior Living’s unique resident-centered services are delivered by a team trained to encourage independence, preserve – Read more

Sunrise Senior Living Photos