Find companies:
Sunrise Senior Living
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
421 reviews

Sunrise Senior Living Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Dealership
Business Development Manager / Sunrise Ford (Former Employee), North HollywoodAugust 28, 2014
Fun and fast-paced environment to work. Worked closely with management. Problems with pay structure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place to work , if you want to be over work and under paid apply here
Care Manager (Former Employee), Cascade, MIAugust 28, 2014
Pros: families and the relationships you build with them and the residents
Cons: management, staffing ratio, pay wage, job duties
Management is terrible , they are never around unless something is going wrong or they want to make a good impression on families or possible new move in's . Way under staffed there are 3 employees in the dementia unit to about 40 residents . Not to mention you have showers , ADL's , housekeeping , cleaning up after cats , doing dishes , laundry , plus – more... many other things . Under paid $9.50 to do all of the above I think is crazy. Not to mention when and if you do chose to move on from the company they give you bad reviews or threaten the hospice companies that they wont give them any more patients . And activities what activities there a barely any coloring and trivia hardly seems like an activitity to me after all the money they pay there. Food is horrible fish basically everyday , BAKED eggs who makes that , they tell resident they can have whatever they want but in fact they cant. Not to mention the dementia unit is treated different then all the others they get the short stick on everything . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace, good people
Cook/Server (Former Employee), West Bloomfield Township, MIAugust 22, 2014
Pros: down time
i truly enjoyed mu experience at Sunrise.. my co workers were great.. the managing staff were down to earth and easy to talk to..it was an honer to have been a cook at that home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Job, but limited growth potential.
Cook (Current Employee), Des Peres, MOAugust 20, 2014
Pros: free lunch, friendly coworkers, cool boss
Cons: expensive benfits, limited growth opportunity.
I love cooking and I love the ability to ensure the proper nutrition to senior citizens who may not be able to feed themselves. But this job has become a stand still. I see no further advancement with this company in the position that Im in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job
Care Manager (Former Employee), Arlington, VAAugust 20, 2014
Enjoyed working with seniors, easy commute, free lunches.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company
Lead Care Manager/Med-Tech/Coordinator (Former Employee), Chandler, AZAugust 20, 2014
Pros: great culture
Cons: stock holders out of touch
Great company and values but a definite change in the feeling since the company went public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive relaxing fun work place
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Bay City, MIAugust 15, 2014
Pros: long breaks
I work thirds at sunrise and its very relaxing we take our time and we work as a team and
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sunrise Senior Living
Care Manager (Former Employee), Tustin, CAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: feel like your always rushing
A typical day at work involved assisting residents in ways such as, transferring, bathing/showering, putting on ted hose, making residents bed, assist in feeding, and reporting any physical/emotional problems to the wellness nurse. I learned to be very independent, keep constant communication, and interact with elderly folks. The hardest part of the – more... job was making every single resident happy and getting to every resident on time. The most enjoyable part was talking to the elderly residents to hear about their past and make their day much better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sunrise Signatures
Actvities/ Volunteer Coordinator (Former Employee), Worthington, OHAugust 12, 2014
Pros: team players
Cons: not open minded
Sunrise provides good care to their residents.The residents are active and busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fulfilling to help seniors to age in place with dignity
Team member (Current Employee), Rockville, MDAugust 10, 2014
Pros: great team atmosphere
Cons: short breaks
The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing the smiles on the residents' faces because they're in a place where they are well cared for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the residents, co-workers are great but...
Medication Care Manager (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: co-workers are great, residents are wonderful, transfer opportunities
Cons: short breaks, frequent turn over for management, low pay, no employee appreciation
The company itself is horrible. Too many changes in management too frequently. Rules change depending on the situation. The pay is above minimum but definitely does not match the work you are expected to do. Frequent call offs make the job harder, management won't jump in to help even though there's supposed to be a "whole team" approach...meaning no – more... matter what level you are, you're there to help.
There's definitely separation between management and hourly staff. Marketing and sales seem to say whatever to sell a room, make promises that can't be kept. The vibe you get is that management could care less about the residents, it's all about the money to them!! I would never allow anyone I love to live there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Company
Director of Sales and Marketing (Former Employee), Deerfield Beach, FLAugust 6, 2014
Sunrise is a very strong company, they have a very good core value system. They truly want the best for their residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Edison, NJAugust 4, 2014
i enjoy working there and meeting seniors,hearing about the story when they was young coworkers was nice i enjoy working with them and learning new thing theres no hard thing about this job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work with poor management
Home Health Aide (Former Employee), Setauket-East Setauket, NYJuly 29, 2014
Pros: worked closely with nurses
Cons: poor pay and benefits, inconsistent management
Care for 5-6 dementia patients on a locked floor, including ADL's, feeding, exercising, and re-orientating. Learned to care for disabled adults and worked closely with nurses. Management was poorly trained and did not consistently manage workers. Co-workers ranged from excellent to insolent. Hardest part of job was inconsistent management and watching – more... residents grow weaker and die. Most enjoyable part was feeling of achievement when a resident did well or when family members gave compliments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meeting and treating
Weekend Wellness RN (Former Employee), Marietta, GAJuly 28, 2014
I enjoy meeting and treating patients and making them feel comfortable during treatment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Alzheimers and Dementia patients is very challenging
Caregiver (Former Employee), Palm Springs, CAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: helping the elderly and benefits
Cons: job was taken over by new management company
Providing care for the elderly I learned new things. Every day patients depending on me to provide care that they need for every day life. I enjoyed making a difference in someone life. You have to have a lot of patience to work with the elderly. Every day is not the same.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Rocky River, OHJuly 22, 2014
A typical day of work provides the greatest learning experience for new and upcoming nurses. Management has an open door policy. The hardest part of the job is not being there enough. The most enjoyable part is being there is seeing the nursing process in play for real life experiences and learning different companies protocol.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love working with Seniors
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Santa Monica, CAJuly 20, 2014
my love for this job was one of the best experience i had i would stay if i could have.i just love it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learnt so much from sunrise which is helpful in life and work
Lead Care Manager (Current Employee), Glen Ellyn, ILJuly 20, 2014
Pros: making a residents day more enjoyable and meaningful.
Cons: hard job
great team work, friendly care managers, great support, hard work but very rewarding such as bringing a smile to a residents face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly stressful environment with little support and very poor management
Department Coordinator (Former Employee), Newtown Square, PAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: great budget, high standards, excellent training
Cons: very demanding job, little support, poor management, and high turnover
Sunrise as an organization (and at the corporate level) is a leader in the senior living industry and wants the best for its residents and employees. They have very high standards and many quality initiatives or "signatures" as they are referred to (although some are unrealistic and very difficult to maintain without a true team effort), are very policy-oriented. – more... and provide excellent training. They have significantly improved their operations in recent years, but have a ways to go to truly be the employer of choice.

However, this particular community (Newtown Square, PA) is absolutely horrific, with very low census, high turnover (particularly with department heads/coordinators), a very weak and inept Executive Director and fractured management team, a highly stressful environment with little support when it really is needed, low employee and resident morale, and a building that needs some major cleaning and upkeep,

I would strongly advise anyone who is considering a position at this particular Sunrise community to STAY AWAY and save yourself from a miserable and agonizing work experience!! – less

About Sunrise Senior Living

Sunrise Senior Living’s unique resident-centered services are delivered by a team trained to encourage independence, preserve – Read more

Sunrise Senior Living Photos