Find companies:
Sunrise Senior Living
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
421 reviews

Sunrise Senior Living Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at the battlefield
Business Process Manager (Former Employee), McLean, VAMay 19, 2014
Pros: good work life
Cons: tough for minorities
I worked at Sunrise for a long time. I contracted twice but never ran into difficulty until i attempted to advance as well as become an employee. They had several people who continued to put a stop to progressing and then attempted to take all of the glory when the project closed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive atmosphere.
Care Manager (Current Employee), Lombard, ILMay 15, 2014
Pros: wonderful staff and residents.
Cons: n/a
• Help care for residents with their hygienic needs.
• Monitor all residents and make sure they are all safe.
• Answer to calls from residents in the overnight position and care for their requests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
missed this company
Care Manager (Former Employee), Berkley, MIMay 15, 2014
This company maded you feel at home it help you out with childcare and etc the pay rate wasnt much but it was something to get your experince up to date.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comments
Care Manager (Current Employee), Smithtown, NYMay 12, 2014
Cons: poor communication
Typical nursing home, difficult co- workers, lack of communication
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Acting Maintenance Coordinator (Current Employee), Broomfield, COMay 7, 2014
Pros: residents are great
Cons: managment does not take responsibility for their actions
You will do anything and everything in the maintenance department
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Champion in making a quality life for all the residents.
Medication Care Manager (Current Employee), San Mateo, CAMay 3, 2014
Pros: i'm working and at the same time i'm helping seniors.great feeling.
Cons: less working hours given to us.
Assisting seniors in their routine meds. Making sure they all took their meds on right time as always. I learned how to communicate well and how to encourage every person to do the right thing for their selves. Co worker of mine were all great to be with. The hardest part of my job is when you're running out of time in giving their meds and when pharmacy – more... and doctors doesn't reply on time for a refill meds. The most enjoyable part of my job is I always got a chance to listen for the wisdom of all the seniors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent advancement
Supervisor (Former Employee), McLean, VAApril 28, 2014
• Management
• Proficient in Microsoft Office Suite
• Medicare Billing Verification
• Lead generation and management
• Recruiting, Coaching and Motivation
• Conducted interviews, phone screening of potential candidates
• Project Management
• Documentation and Recordkeeping
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Lead Care Manager (Former Employee), Akron, OHApril 28, 2014
Clock in at 6/6:30 am. Did a check on my residents in my designated section. Prepared the assignment sheets for the day. Checked the dinning room and made sure drinks were ready! Then I went and assisted care for my residents for the day and breakfast.(wash face, brush teeth, or shower & dressed) Escorted them to breakfast. We took food and drink orders – more... and served them their meals. After breakfast cleaned and reset the dinning room for lunch.Then escorted to rooms, activities, or beauty parlor. etc. At 10 a.m I lead the exercise class for our residents. Before lunch we did a check and change. Assisted with getting ready for lunch. After lunch took them to back to rooms or their preferred area. (porch, activity room, bistro) etc. Cleaned dinning room from lunch. Time for next shift to start. We wrote in the communication log as well as a verbal report for the next shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to get experience!
Care Manager (Current Employee), Johns Creek, GAApril 28, 2014
Pros: great to gain knowledge and experience.
Cons: little chance of advancement.
Busy days! High quality of care. Little chance of advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging but rewarding.
Lead Care Manager (Current Employee), Des Peres, MOApril 19, 2014
Great place to work. I have been there 4 years and continue to excel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is Bad, nothing but favoritism
lead Care Manager (Former Employee), San Marino, San GabrielApril 18, 2014
Pros: residents are sweet
This is the worst job ever. Always short not enough help. To many residents that are not assist. More like skilled nursing facility/ pscyh unit. They except all kinds of residents. Management does nothing about complaints

May 19, 2014

This place is horrible to work for. Human resources is the worst. You go to this lady for help an she does nothing to help. They hire you as a caregiver but then after they say your going to do universal care. Including the housekeepers job.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Caregiver (Former Employee), Media, PAApril 18, 2014
Very busy through out the day but had fun enjoyed residents and families activities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor oversight, Poor overall resident care, non-compliance issues, no follow through
Department Coordinator (Former Employee), NCApril 16, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, easy work/life balance
Cons: poor management, too much power to low level employees, little follow through, little supervision, poor model of care
Management is poor. Little oversight. Low level employees allowed to call the shots, with little consequence. Lots of promises with little follow through. Management hardly ever there and when they are they expect you to pick up all the pieces if something falls through the cracks when they weren't there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisted clients with toileting and incontinence care, transfering and bathing.
Care Manager (Former Employee), Fairfax, VAApril 14, 2014
-Assisted clients with toileting and incontinence care, transferring and
bathing. Responsible for medication reminders. Assisted elderly clients with bathin, bedpan, clothing and dinner meal preparation. Offered emotional support and companionship for elderly clients in a hospice situation. Provided social and volunteer support to clients in the home – more... and locality. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment for Senior Citizens
Dining Hall Server (Former Employee), Valencia, CAApril 7, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: low pay wages
Daily activities for senior residents
Worked in Dining services
Developed close relationship with residents
Celebrated Holidays with family and friends
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mama said if you don't have anything nice to say don't say it at all....
The Scioto Assisted Living Lead Care Manager (Former Employee), Columbus, OHApril 5, 2014
Pros: residents were great
Cons: long hours, no extra pay for it, ie : bonus or holiday pay worked all holidays low pay starting pay was 8.00 wow
A typical day at Sunrise I worked the 2pm-10pm shift I was a lead C.M, I worked SHORT with only 2 CM me and another Caremanager, there were days people would call off when it was pay day (it was pattern) I only called off when I was sick yet I still made it in, and they sent me home for I had fever!!! I would pull doubles, them knowing I have epilepsy, – more... I felt we were rushed all the time, ie: getting residents laundry done, to getting them upstairs for dinner, dinner out served then activity at 6 pm (dinner was at 5) there were nights when we had someone dying so that made it hard yet I had to check on the every hour instead of 2 hour checks. I know alot of CM were not checking q2hr or turning q2hr when noted by the doctor/verified by the nursed to us it's important to listen to those orders otherwise they have bad skin break down, which leads to open wounds, 1st, 2nd to 3rd stage then death, for they are not up walking around I've seen it happen more than once, not on my shift yet on oncoming and going shifts sad really. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Care Manager (Former Employee), Rocklin, CAApril 3, 2014
Took care of residents
I learned i wanted to work in healthcare
My coworkers were really nice and hardworking
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful place for retirement
Assistant Coordinator of Residents Activities (Former Employee), Yonkers, NYMarch 31, 2014
Sunrise was a wonderful job. I was able to develop relationships with each of my residents I worked with. The environment was very laid back and comfortable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was enjoyable while I worked 11 years or so.
Dining Room Care Manager (Former Employee), Alexandria, AVAMarch 31, 2014
Pros: break room for a entree meal. if i chose to.
Cons: tough situation that ended my stay there. lack of praise for my 10 year anniversary. no respect.
I love the most all of the residents, and the staff, and most all of the program directors. Thank You
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sunrise
Wellness Nurse (Current Employee), East Meadow, NYMarch 26, 2014
Professional work environment. Must work every weekend. Poor management. Wonderful residents.

About Sunrise Senior Living

Sunrise Senior Living’s unique resident-centered services are delivered by a team trained to encourage independence, preserve – Read more

Sunrise Senior Living Photos