Find companies:
Sunrise Senior Living
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
516 reviews

Sunrise Senior Living United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid this community look elsewhere
Care-giver (Former Employee), Severna Park MarylandDecember 30, 2014
Pros: relationships with residents and families
Cons: hard to advance very far, coordinators really don't care about plight of care-givers...
The reward of working with the residents is amazing!
Pay horrible, the disparity between "higher ups" and care-givers is honestly criminal. Management at least at community level is non-supportive and unrealistic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest Living
Maintenance Assistant (Current Employee), Cresskill, NJDecember 30, 2014
It's a decent job. It can very demanding at time but there are slow periods when you'd be bored with not much to do. The pay isn't the best but it could be a lot worse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Care Giver (Former Employee), PADecember 23, 2014
Proficient in Microsoft Applications (Word, Excel, Photoshop, PowerPoint, and Outlook)
Excellent detailed data entry skills
Able to type 35 words per minute
Excellent book-keeping and organization skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful community in great area of country
Activities and Volunteer Coordinator (Former Employee), Falls Church, VADecember 22, 2014
Pros: great location... dc area! great trip opportunities for residents.
Cons: not many
I adored this community of Sunrise Senior Living and was quickly promoted to a larger Sunrise Community in the area.
The staff was fabulous and positive and of course our house dog... Thompson... was the sweetest! We had some fabulous family members as well who were very supportive of my activity endeavors and my creativity!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run for your life!!!!
Care Manager (Former Employee), Cary NcDecember 21, 2014
Cons: everything
The worst place too work. The Executive Director and the coordinators were horrible. Talk to employees like dogs and they wanted care managers to mistreat residents. I wouldn't send my worst enemies here to work!!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive day
Caregiver manager (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXDecember 19, 2014
Pros: had fun with the residents
Cons: n/a
Made sure patients room where clean, if any fun activities where going on made sure the residents made it to the activities if they wanted too. Also served in the dining to the residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a friendly atmosphere
Administrative Assistant/Payroll Manager (Former Employee), Florham Park, NJDecember 11, 2014
Pros: wonderful people and friendly staff
Cons: short breaks
Great place to work for, I performed accounting functions while managing payroll. I also conducted employee orientation. I did payroll for 200 employees. Due the amount of time and multiple priorities throughout the day, I have to say that any interaction I get to have with my staff and co-workers is a huge plus throughout the day. The hardest part of the job would have to be getting certain task done through out the course of the business day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly co-workers and residents
Care Manager (Former Employee), Highland Park, ILDecember 10, 2014
I would get to work in the mornings read the daily log in regards the residents and help them with there daily living which would be: get them up dress them up, give them a shower, bush teeth, fix their hair, and anything they need to do to start their day and take them down for breakfast. Some residents I would have to help them eat. I would taking them to the restroom and make sure that that were involved and did activities throw out the day.

Co-workers were really nice we always helped each other out. Learned a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Care manager (Current Employee), Columbia, MDDecember 4, 2014
Each day i start by checking my residents. I prepare them for the day ahead. I do Laundry,Personal care, Food preperation, etc. My co-works are amazing. In this feild everybody has to stick together to help eachother.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the hardest part of my job is to keep it clean.
House Keeping Aide (Current Employee), Bloomfield Hills, MINovember 30, 2014
I enjoy the elderly talking with them listening to story telling I love it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive friendly and pleasant work envirnoment
Concierge/Receptionist (Current Employee), North Bethesda, MDNovember 26, 2014
Always a busy day never dull moment. You have to think quickly and respond in a timely manner.
Management is ok. Team member work together whenever you need them.
The most difficult part when a resident pass and you get so attached to he/she.
When I put a smile the patients /residents face or take the extra time to listen what the family member have to say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its good to work here
Care manager (Current Employee), McLean, VANovember 17, 2014
feels good to be around elderly people. they all are just adorable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent care delivery.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 7, 2014
Pros: great team work
Cons: benefits
Team oriented
well planned day to day activities.
Maintain safety and privacy for residents.
Friendly staffs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst experience of my professional career
Director of Sales (Former Employee), Johnson County KSNovember 7, 2014
Pros: helping families and residents
Cons: corportate greed
With over 12 years of experience in this industry I have never been treated in the fashion I was from the 1st week in my position. All 4 locations in the Kansas City Area are ran very poorly. Not enough staff to begin to be able to actually care for the residents. The absolute only thing that the corporation cares about is census,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Administrative Assistant/ Medication Manager (Current Employee), Woodland Hills, CANovember 7, 2014
Great experience from this job but no form of job growth and sometimes management can be hard to deal with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Process
Nurse (Former Employee), IllinoisNovember 5, 2014
Pros: a job during a recession
Cons: see review
Not only does this company require nurses to undergo the typical TB and drug test, criminal check and credit check. They require a Physical where you must get UNDRESSED to be examined by the doctor, have a hearing test, take a vision test on the type of machine they use at the DMV then they sent me to physical therapy where I had to position my legs, arms, bend and stretch in 12 different positions, THEN walk up stairs, lift weights and 50 lb boxes.

After the exam then you must call a 800 number where you must describe the process at the exam center for another 45 minutes. The entire pre-employment exam process takes 4 hours. They require 2 weeks of classroom training at a facility which was a 2 hr drive from my home each way.

The pay is AVERAGE at best, it is NOT just assisted living they have Alz patients so the work load can be heavy, NO union protection for employees and High rates if you want insurance coverage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
caring work
Care Manager (Current Employee), SacramentoNovember 2, 2014
Pros: pay
Hours that fit for you
great pay
wonderful people
you have no boss
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place. Humbling Experience
Caremanager (Current Employee), Los AngelesNovember 1, 2014
Upon accepting the job I was skeptical. Now that I know that I can do what it takes to provide care I have no regrets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will talk about during interviews
Director of Sales (Current Employee), Dresher, PAOctober 30, 2014
1. Will talk about during interviews
2. Learned a lot about the Sunrise to Culture.
3. Management and communication were a con.
4. Some great co-workers and some not so great co-workers
5. Will talk about during interviews
6.Helping families
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactions with peers and clients
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INOctober 28, 2014
Pros: employee apprecation
Cons: management has poor communication skills
I love working with people! My clients and my staff is my ultimate goal to making sure that they are satisfied and taken care of daily. I strive to ensure that my day runs smoothly, efficiently and affectively.

About Sunrise Senior Living

Sunrise Senior Living’s unique resident-centered services are delivered by a team trained to encourage independence, preserve – Read more

Sunrise Senior Living Salaries

Care Manager
$10.50 per hour
$23,000 per year
Caregivers
$10.05 per hour
Certified Nursing Assistant
$11.00 per hour
Coordinator
$54,000 per year

Sunrise Senior Living Photos