Sunrise Senior Living Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kitchen life
Lead Cook (Current Employee) –  Dix Hills, NYSeptember 1, 2017
your typical day is very busy. time management is necessary in this job. there is one cook per shift lots of work to be done. Management is too busy to help you. hardest part of the job is delivery day. putting the orders away and cooking meals in a certain amount of time
Pros
great people to work with
Cons
not enough time in the day to do some of the work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sunrise is great
Business Office Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 1, 2017
I have worked here a few years and it was great until recently , its just time to move on. As a team member here you get a lot of benefits but with new management comes a time to part ways
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing place to work
Caregiver (Current Employee) –  East Meadow, NYAugust 31, 2017
It was an amazing experienced to work with Sunrise, the patients were treated like my own family due to my personal experience in caring for my late grand mother.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent place to work
Wellness Nurse (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MIoAugust 31, 2017
Was challenged with staff, ok place to work, needed more nursing required to do work not under scope of practice. Did a lot of medication administering due to short of staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workable
Cook Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 30, 2017
I have enjoyed working at sunrise. My problem there was how the residents were treated. Again; it was a multiculture environment.
I enjoyed working with vunorable population
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the work place was very busy
Care Manager (Former Employee) –  Paramus, NJAugust 29, 2017
In sunrise senior living, i used to work with dementia patients, the clients were given maximum care, Excellent communication skills and support to the patients was given
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced.
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Minnetonka, MNAugust 29, 2017
with this type of job, if they no you are a good worker they will ask you to work late until your relief come in, but most of the time they never show up for they shift and you end of working 16 hrs a day every day.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Short staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization
Care Manager (Former Employee) –  Springfield, VAAugust 28, 2017
wonderful mission to help those suffering mental illness. I will recommend to anybody who needs experience working in the field of mental health. Patients are well taken care of.
Pros
supportive environment
Cons
less pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive work place
Home Health Aide (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 28, 2017
Very nice, the patients were very respectful.I really enjoy working there.The staff always help one another out.. they really work together as a team the hardest part of the job is when someone passes away
Pros
Free lunch on Fridays
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful well over too many things to do while having to care and watch for patients safety.
Care Manager, (Former Employee) –  Shelby, MIAugust 28, 2017
No team work everyone is more based upon getting there job done to have free time. Stressful well over too many things to do while having to care and watch for patients safety. Managers side with most favorable coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great place to work
Lead Care Manager (Former Employee) –  Rocky River, OHAugust 28, 2017
Assisted residents with ADL's and laundry, activities etc It is fast paced. It also can stressful too. I really enjoyed working for this company. Great place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive hands on work place.
Care Manager (Former Employee) –  Rocky River, OHAugust 28, 2017
Sunrise is a excellent workplace and comforting place for their residents. Days in and out their daily goal is making their facility feel like home away from home.
Pros
Learning about different ethnicities.
Cons
Turn over rate for employees cause lack of help
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great work environment
Regional Business Manager (Current Employee) –  McLean, VAAugust 27, 2017
very productive and great opportunities to grow within the company. work life balance is amazing. great culture and amazing company to work for. highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not recommend
Care Manager (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCAugust 26, 2017
Not a good place to work, most new hires don't stay very long because management is bad & the pay is just as bad. Too stressful work with the bed ridden residents
Pros
3 shifts
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging with Residents
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DEAugust 26, 2017
Administered medications
Changed wound dressings
Documented on Resident's health
Distributed assignment to nursing assistants
Handled the admissions and discharge activities of resident
worked as a charge nurse as needed
Pros
resident's are friendly
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Paced and loving work place
Lead Care Manager (Current Employee) –  Lafayette Hill, PAAugust 24, 2017
I love working with here with the elderly. You learn a lot from them and get to care for them the way you want to be cared for as an elderly. Very loving and home like environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding place to work.
Medication Care Manager/ Resident Care Manager (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COAugust 23, 2017
Staff work together to care for patients and families. Your heart will grow as you interact with residents in all areas of the facility. Its hard work but it is also very rewarding work.
Pros
Interaction with residents.
Cons
short breaks, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a Team Player
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Golden Valley, MNAugust 22, 2017
As a LPNs, or Licensed Practical Nurse,I am responsible for a variety tasks underneath the direction of registered nurses and physicians. I am primarily in charge of caring for sick patients and work in environments such as hospitals and doctors' office.

Daily Tasks as a Licensed Practical Nurses include:

Recording patient history
Take vital signs
Giving medication and immunizations
Supervising Certified Nursing Assistants
Assessing patient reaction to medication
Interacting with family members to understand legal and medical matters.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting job for someone new to medical field
Medication Care Manager (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXAugust 22, 2017
On a typical day I enjoy engaging with residents and learning about them. I pass medication andassist nurseswith the daily care of the residents. I am learning how to assess emergency situations aswell as finding my own career path.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun activities but should take seniors' advise on what they would like to do or play.
Care Manager (Former Employee) –  Simi Valley, CAAugust 17, 2017
We would not be allowed breaks sometimes. They brought in patients that were too ill for what our training was, I liked when we were able to go on outings with the clients. I loved playing board games and bingo with them!
Pros
When I had appreciative clients
Cons
We mixed food service and toiletting the seniors. . I think these should be separate jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sunrise Senior Living. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,208 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.5