Find companies:
Sunrise Senior Living
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
385 reviews

Sunrise Senior Living Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working there
Med Care Manager (Former Employee), Carmel, INDecember 26, 2013
I really enjoyed working there. Loved my residents, liked most of my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting workplace,company strives for the best,constantly updating their systems to new trends in lifestyle, technology,managment and compensation
Management (Current Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 25, 2013
Pros: monthly meetings food and beverages are served. many levels of management to go to for support
Cons: some days need to work late, if you are flexible this will not be a problem
Working with this company is great and many educational opportunities, They believe in promoting from within Have good benefits. Embrace diverse groups have a great mission statement "Championing the quality of life for all seniors". They have many locations throughout the USA,UK and Canada. You learn different management skills through different job – more... positions. Job varies daily and has many challenges which improves problem solving, building relationship,,better listening ear.constant follow ups, attention to detail,and communication skills., – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First position as Executive Director for the entire property. Created over budget progess for success in meeting budgeted finaceing financiial budget
Executive Director (Former Employee), Rock Hill, SCDecember 25, 2013
Pros: great position in completing my position
Great training process and completeted completely with perfect process in meeting and working with all deprtement heads and complet staff of property
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
different outlook on healthcare
Wellness Nurse (Current Employee), Chesterfield, MODecember 23, 2013
Pros: i had a job
Cons: team, distance
it a job everyone will have a different experience, totally different then a skilled facility
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with opprotunities to grow.
LCM, MCM, DRCM (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCDecember 21, 2013
Pros: free lunch, overtime
Cons: high turnover rate
I believe that sunrise is a nice assisted living home. I have been working in this facility for almost 2 years and for the most part I have enjoyed my experience. I have had the opportunity to grow with this company. I started out a DCM (Designated Care Manager) and after a few months was promoted to LCM (Lead Care Manager). Not long after I started – more... working as a MCM (Medication Care Manager). I have gain a lot of experience working in this company. By choice I decided that I wanted to try a different avenue in the company and I began to work in the dietary department as a DRCM (Dining Room Care Manager). Serving during meals, an I have enjoyed this job as well and continue to work in this field currently. I truly enjoy working in this field and have a passion for helping the elderly.
In the time I have been with the company I have seen a high turnover rate in the management, which I think has cause some issues in the facility. I believe that the management in place at this time will do a great job in getting the facility back to where it needs to be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with, learned so much in a very short amount of time.
Care manager (Current Employee), Roseville, MNDecember 16, 2013
Pros: i love my job, just great people to work with.
Cons: i love my job
I love working in team. I love my present work the only down side is that, it does not count toward my nursing assistant certificate which has to stay active for my school purpose.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT JOB
Care Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 16, 2013
Pros: free food, room
Cons: traveling
GREAT JOB, PLENTY PERKS, DEALING WITH OLDER CLIENTS. HAS PLENTY PERKS. BUT NICE TO WORK AROUND GOOD PEOPLE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sunrise is a decent place to work
Care Manager (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDDecember 16, 2013
Pros: good security, good food
Cons: short breaks or sometimes no break, low pay for back breaking work
Sunrise is a decent place to work but you have to have a genuine love for taking care of people every need. Work hours are kinda crazy and scheduled days could change last minute.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Director of Dining Services (Former Employee), Plainview, NYDecember 14, 2013
This establishment provided experiences to increase my skills as a director of dining services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with sunrise is fun
LPN (Current Employee), Carmel, INDecember 12, 2013
I am very pleased to be a part of sunrise company but there is no job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Care Manager (Former Employee), Henderson, NVDecember 11, 2013
Pros: you get to use walkie talkies.
Cons: they started a computer testing process
Helping elderly residents with daily activities
I learned not to have a personal relationship with your boss
Management always looked to point the finger
Co workers lied to get you into trouble
Hardest part about the job was being a part of the seniors lives daily
The most enjoyable part was leaving work feeling that you helped people everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sunrise Senior Living
Assisted Living Coordinator (Former Employee), Bellevue, WADecember 9, 2013
Pros: excellent working environment, chance to make a difference, great training opportunities, well paid.
Cons: long hours, 24/7 on-call
A typical day starts with payroll review and community walk through. There is a 9AM meeting to ensure all coordinators are on the same page and then as the Assisted Living Coordinator I managed staff schedules and resident care. The working environment was wonderful and well managed and compensation was the highest in the area/field. There was always – more... training available and encouraged and there was always someone available to help from the community support office. It was a wonderful working environment and I was sad to leave, but it was important to be near my husband. If possible I would certainly work for Sunrise Senior Living again in the future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very team member oriented
Human Resource Manager (Former Employee), Atco, NJDecember 9, 2013
I enjoyed working for Sunrise Senior Living and their culture and mission for caring for seniors. Unfortunately the company was sold effective 11/1/2013 and I was laidoff on Dec. 5, 2013.

Sunrise has awesome training programs and encouraged team member engagement and involvement. I love working in Human Resources as I love the interaction with the – more... team members and especially enjoy working where the residents lived. They have alot to teach all of us! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assist others and have fun while doing it!
Care Giver/ Medicine Technician (Current Employee), Severna Park, MDDecember 9, 2013
Pros: easy promotion
Cons: short breaks, little pay
Sunrise is a great place to work if you enjoy working closely with others. There is never a dull moment working! Everyone is kind and full of joy and laughter! It is a very welcoming place for their residents and the people who work for thrm as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for.
Care Manager/Lead Care Manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 8, 2013
Pros: they have a training program to help you be promoted in the company
Cons: not able to always take the breaks that you have.
We had a lot of work to do which help keep us busy and made the shift go by faster. I learned to be more appreciative of others feelings and who they are. I learned how to use a Hoyer Lift which helps to move people from one place to another safely, a Sit to Stand which helps people to stand up safely and took a Med Tech training class. The ladies and – more... gentlemen I worked with was very nice and easy to get along with. What I loved about my job was being able to help people in their time of need and gaining the respect from them. Seeing the smile on their face when they see you and they greet you with a hug telling you how much they appreciate you being their to assist them with their activities of everyday life. The hardest part of my job was having to watch someone you have been taking care of pass away. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding, with no room for time adjustment
Director of Environmental Services (Former Employee), Broomfield, CODecember 8, 2013
Pros: please ask me.
Cons: please ask me.
Please ask me. I will only speak to an individual about this portion of the resume.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are looking for a job. Stay away from Sheepshead Bay Brooklyn NY
Care Manager (Current Employee), Sheepshead bay Brooklyn, NYDecember 5, 2013
Cons: didnt work there, you pay $3 for lunch
Working at Sheepshead Bay is the worst place i ever work. You do everything there. You work in the dinning room serving the residents and cleaning the tables when there finish, you wash all the resident clothes, you are doing activity with the residents even though there is someone there to do it with them, (she is always on FB and shopping) you are – more... doing housekeeping ( cleaning all the rooms, dusting and vacuuming the rooms. with all this work it don't worth the pay. If you call out they write you up. At Christmas time you dont get bonus. All they give you is a $20 check (they take tax from it) and a sweeter. The residents or family not allow to give you anything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run
CNA (Current Employee), New YorkDecember 4, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
This is the worse company to work for. They have their favorites and if they dont like you, they do what they can to push you out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company....
Sales (Former Employee), MichiganDecember 3, 2013
Pros: great company to work for
Cons: upper management of ann arbor is lacking......
Great company to work for, but the management of this building is falling apart. Short key management positions, and running on temporary staffing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truly caring culture for seniors with Alzheimer's and dementia
Reminiscence Coordinator (Current Employee), Littleton, CODecember 3, 2013
*fast-paced
*caring, compassionate team
*team building and recruitment
*building relationships with residents and families to end of life

About Sunrise Senior Living

Sunrise Senior Living’s unique resident-centered services are delivered by a team trained to encourage independence, preserve – Read more

Sunrise Senior Living Photos