Find companies:
Sunrise Senior Living
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
380 reviews

Sunrise Senior Living Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with, learned so much in a very short amount of time.
Care manager (Current Employee), Roseville, MNDecember 16, 2013
Pros: i love my job, just great people to work with.
Cons: i love my job
I love working in team. I love my present work the only down side is that, it does not count toward my nursing assistant certificate which has to stay active for my school purpose.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT JOB
Care Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 16, 2013
Pros: free food, room
Cons: traveling
GREAT JOB, PLENTY PERKS, DEALING WITH OLDER CLIENTS. HAS PLENTY PERKS. BUT NICE TO WORK AROUND GOOD PEOPLE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sunrise is a decent place to work
Care Manager (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDDecember 16, 2013
Pros: good security, good food
Cons: short breaks or sometimes no break, low pay for back breaking work
Sunrise is a decent place to work but you have to have a genuine love for taking care of people every need. Work hours are kinda crazy and scheduled days could change last minute.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Director of Dining Services (Former Employee), Plainview, NYDecember 14, 2013
This establishment provided experiences to increase my skills as a director of dining services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with sunrise is fun
LPN (Current Employee), Carmel, INDecember 12, 2013
I am very pleased to be a part of sunrise company but there is no job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Care Manager (Former Employee), Henderson, NVDecember 11, 2013
Pros: you get to use walkie talkies.
Cons: they started a computer testing process
Helping elderly residents with daily activities
I learned not to have a personal relationship with your boss
Management always looked to point the finger
Co workers lied to get you into trouble
Hardest part about the job was being a part of the seniors lives daily
The most enjoyable part was leaving work feeling that you helped people everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sunrise Senior Living
Assisted Living Coordinator (Former Employee), Bellevue, WADecember 9, 2013
Pros: excellent working environment, chance to make a difference, great training opportunities, well paid.
Cons: long hours, 24/7 on-call
A typical day starts with payroll review and community walk through. There is a 9AM meeting to ensure all coordinators are on the same page and then as the Assisted Living Coordinator I managed staff schedules and resident care. The working environment was wonderful and well managed and compensation was the highest in the area/field. There was always – more... training available and encouraged and there was always someone available to help from the community support office. It was a wonderful working environment and I was sad to leave, but it was important to be near my husband. If possible I would certainly work for Sunrise Senior Living again in the future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very team member oriented
Human Resource Manager (Former Employee), Atco, NJDecember 9, 2013
I enjoyed working for Sunrise Senior Living and their culture and mission for caring for seniors. Unfortunately the company was sold effective 11/1/2013 and I was laidoff on Dec. 5, 2013.

Sunrise has awesome training programs and encouraged team member engagement and involvement. I love working in Human Resources as I love the interaction with the – more... team members and especially enjoy working where the residents lived. They have alot to teach all of us! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assist others and have fun while doing it!
Care Giver/ Medicine Technician (Current Employee), Severna Park, MDDecember 9, 2013
Pros: easy promotion
Cons: short breaks, little pay
Sunrise is a great place to work if you enjoy working closely with others. There is never a dull moment working! Everyone is kind and full of joy and laughter! It is a very welcoming place for their residents and the people who work for thrm as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for.
Care Manager/Lead Care Manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 8, 2013
Pros: they have a training program to help you be promoted in the company
Cons: not able to always take the breaks that you have.
We had a lot of work to do which help keep us busy and made the shift go by faster. I learned to be more appreciative of others feelings and who they are. I learned how to use a Hoyer Lift which helps to move people from one place to another safely, a Sit to Stand which helps people to stand up safely and took a Med Tech training class. The ladies and – more... gentlemen I worked with was very nice and easy to get along with. What I loved about my job was being able to help people in their time of need and gaining the respect from them. Seeing the smile on their face when they see you and they greet you with a hug telling you how much they appreciate you being their to assist them with their activities of everyday life. The hardest part of my job was having to watch someone you have been taking care of pass away. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding, with no room for time adjustment
Director of Environmental Services (Former Employee), Broomfield, CODecember 8, 2013
Pros: please ask me.
Cons: please ask me.
Please ask me. I will only speak to an individual about this portion of the resume.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are looking for a job. Stay away from Sheepshead Bay Brooklyn NY
Care Manager (Current Employee), Sheepshead bay Brooklyn, NYDecember 5, 2013
Cons: didnt work there, you pay $3 for lunch
Working at Sheepshead Bay is the worst place i ever work. You do everything there. You work in the dinning room serving the residents and cleaning the tables when there finish, you wash all the resident clothes, you are doing activity with the residents even though there is someone there to do it with them, (she is always on FB and shopping) you are – more... doing housekeeping ( cleaning all the rooms, dusting and vacuuming the rooms. with all this work it don't worth the pay. If you call out they write you up. At Christmas time you dont get bonus. All they give you is a $20 check (they take tax from it) and a sweeter. The residents or family not allow to give you anything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run
CNA (Current Employee), New YorkDecember 4, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
This is the worse company to work for. They have their favorites and if they dont like you, they do what they can to push you out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company....
Sales (Former Employee), MichiganDecember 3, 2013
Pros: great company to work for
Cons: upper management of ann arbor is lacking......
Great company to work for, but the management of this building is falling apart. Short key management positions, and running on temporary staffing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truly caring culture for seniors with Alzheimer's and dementia
Reminiscence Coordinator (Current Employee), Littleton, CODecember 3, 2013
*fast-paced
*caring, compassionate team
*team building and recruitment
*building relationships with residents and families to end of life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work. Loved my residents. This was my longest job held.
Wellness Nurse Supervisor (Former Employee), Seal Beach, CaDecember 3, 2013
Good team to work with. I bonded with a lot of the staff. Regular training and fun inservices. The company took care of there employees. I would work there again if asked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in the Kitchen
Kitchen Aide (Former Employee), Arlington, MADecember 2, 2013
Pros: i got my breaks every day and the meals were just fine
Cons: the healthcare was alright. it got more challenging each time, and i did what i had done to take care of my healthcare.
It was difficult in the Begging at Sunrise. I was learning new things and getting myself organised. The job was hard, But after a while i got used to it, and very comfortable there. I took on many tasks and had problems with the team members. they gave me a real hard time. and the head staff did not think i would make through. I had put up a lot.
Also – more... the head staff had to work with me, and i had told them what i was like, and the more they got used to me and comfortable. they started seeing my Gifted side. I had helped a lot of the staff. I went different ways of trying to accomplish many tasks. I had played and had fun making people Laugh so much and we had a blast. we had done some good things and worked out the mistakes,
We had and at times they were so impressed with how m skills were developing and helping setting up for holiday Parties. I really wanted to learn and my Late boss who had past after i moved from Boston Ma. To Houston TX. I had heard what happened. and i was very saddened of his passing. I Pray for him every day, I worked very hard during the coarse of doing 12 hours out of four days.
.
I was washing the pots pans and many dish items and preparing salads and bringing the hot box of food to the memory floor. i worked very hard each day took my job with pride and worked on my strategies workout on my strengths and i got stronger each day and came in when they needed me, for an emergency to fill out and travel to help another Sunrise and show what i was made of, and proved i can do it all the way and worked very hard each day, as i went further and further to the limit. and i made a 110% going as high as i can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work with great coworkers
Medicine Care Manager / Wellness Nurse (Current Employee), Newtown Square, PANovember 28, 2013
give out medicines and do assessments
learned alot of paper work
great people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm and loving enviroment love working here.
Lead care manager (Current Employee), Lilburn, GANovember 25, 2013
Pros: working with a great team!
Cons: losing a resident.
I love the people I work with we work well together as a team. I am the lead care manager on the night shift when I start my shift I delegate the assignments to my care managers and discuss the daily events concerning the residents and their needs and then I'm off to count meds with the previous shifts lead care manager. when that's done I do my rounds – more... and check on all my residents and address their needs if any and my care manager do the same. then we're off to start the evening laundry afterwards we head to the dinning room to set up for the next day after setting it up we all come together and fold all the laundry this is the best part of my shift for me because we get to talk and laugh with one another while we work and the hardest part you best believe is staying awake it takes lots and lots of coffee all in all we manage. I 've learned that if you work hard or harder than those under you that they will work just as hard as you if you lead by a good example you will achieve great results. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looks great from the outside not so wonderful to work in
CNA (Former Employee), Sandy, UTNovember 20, 2013
Pros: looks nice, is well maintained, does not smell like an "old folks home"
Cons: managenment, their choice of lead care managers, and overtly deceptive
Although Sunrise brings a feel of a more upscale place for patients to live and be cared for, and dealing with their families concerns,that is not the case when working there. Benifits are below standard, managements is substandard. Their approach is more for their bottom line then it is caring about the people working there and for those who live there.
Looks – more... good from the outside, completely different as one learns what Sunrise really is all about. Sadly to say, quite disappointed in management and what they will lie about to fill their facility.
Also, no Nurse ever on duty full time, 24/7. Nursing staff is off at 5pm and that leaves more responsibility for PM shift and Noc shift. Doctor is rarely in house. In emergency, must go through many hoops to get the patient the care they need. – less

About Sunrise Senior Living

Sunrise Senior Living’s unique resident-centered services are delivered by a team trained to encourage independence, preserve – Read more

Sunrise Senior Living Photos