SUNSET MANOR Employee Reviews

Found 17 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Irene, SDApril 24, 2017
Typical work day was busy but full of fun.
I learned a great deal about the people living there.
Management is amazing they are very understanding and helpful.
Workplace culture there is a lot of team work.
Hardest part of the job was the attachments you make.
The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to spend time with all the wonderful residents there
Pros
never a boring day
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guin, ALApril 21, 2017
A great place to work and I loved the people,loved caring for the elderly and hearing all their life stories and about their kids and grandchildren, so much fun
Pros
Very convient
Cons
Smelly and sad at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a good place to work
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guin, ALMarch 21, 2017
I worked here for over 3 years. I loved my job, and loved coming to work for more than 2 years. Unfortunately the workplace environment became very poor from management down. It seemed like a lot of employees were trying to get other employees in trouble constantly. Management even went after a few people. Very unprofessional and made the workplace environment unfriendly and uncomfortable. Constantly watching your back and looking to see who was working before you left for work is no way to have to try to make a living. Before the shift or change or whatever happened, you couldn't ask for a better job. I would no doubt still be working here if things had not went downhill.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employees and Employers
Dietary Aide (Former Employee) –  Greencastle, INMarch 12, 2017
One of the best places I have ever worked at!
The Owner operator worked as hard as the Employees if all employers treated there employees as this company did we would all be happy..
Pros
free lunch
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with good coworkers
Wait Staff (Former Employee) –  Jenison, MIJune 3, 2016
Manageable workload with great residents to serve and works with your schedule. Coworkers were fun and helped out when needed.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Dietary cook/Cooks aid (Former Employee) –  Frontenac,ksAugust 6, 2014
Always something to do. Many nice people. The hours were good and flexible.
Pros
Always something to do
Cons
Pay is bad
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The peers were kind, good people
CNA (Former Employee) –  Jenison, MIJune 21, 2014
I loved working at Sunset and felt they do want the best for their residents. The only thing was even if you do a great job and have great reveiws there is no advancement. If you start on a 2nd shift job you can plan on staying there until you retire.
Pros
Good people
Cons
No moving forward, short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice
IV/LPN Night Shift Charge Nurse (Former Employee) –  Frontenac, KSJune 17, 2014
Employers and peer staff all exceptional and helpful Patient care #1.
The hardest part of the job, at first, was remembering pt. and staff names..
The most enjoyable part, as always, is the love and laughter that geriatric patients give and receive.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low moral
Health Care Aide (Current Employee) –  Innisfail, ABMarch 28, 2014
Each day is met with a smile. All my co-workers are very dedicated but most lack compassion. I learn from my residents every day whether it be personal or medical. But I get upset when I hear them tell me stories or being rushed or forced to do things. When complaints are reported nothing gets done. I just keep apologizing to them about my co-workers professionalism.
The most enjoyable part of my job is to see the Residents smile or laugh. If I can make them feel loved and cared for them I feel I have done my job. It is about them. Making them feel important and wanted. And not treat it like it is 'Just a J.O.B'.
Pros
spending time with Residents
Cons
moral, lack of compassion
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a lively place to work.
Housekeeping/Laundry Aide (Former Employee) –  Brush, COSeptember 19, 2013
I enjoyed working here because I had the necessary skills. Working here was enjoyable because the employees really have a open personality.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about SUNSET MANOR?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable work enviroment
Cook (Former Employee) –  129 E. Clay St. Irene, South Dakota. 57037August 24, 2013
go in and start cooking breakfast. get supplies ready for the day. prepare meals, and salads and desserts. check production sheets to get ready for next shift. learned how to be more organized.The employees are great and friendly. Hardest part of the job was learning everyones names, likes and dislikes.Best part was seeing the smiles when they enjoyed their meal.
Pros
very friendly
Cons
health insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in growth in my career
LPN Charge Nurse (Former Employee) –  Frontenac, KSJuly 22, 2013
Assessment of residents and reporting findings to doctors. Management was approachable and pleasant to work with. The hardest part of being a nurse is when you lose a resident even though you have done everything in their behalf. The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing I have been a blessing to my residents.
Pros
Feeling appreciated.
Cons
Stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work .lots of fun and wonderful job..
CNA-CRA (Former Employee) –  KSJune 23, 2013
great owners ,wonderful kitchen staff,residents get all they need as for food and snacks ,great activites,great pay .D.O.N is great. ,for certin staff,love the Restortive Program . CNAS<3 .CNAs are the best you could ask for .Hard <3 work but worth the job as residents love the staff cnas.
Pros
the cna, and the restortive and some nurses are wonderful.
Cons
cant say on here .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it is a very nice place to work except the staffing issues.
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Irene, SDAugust 30, 2012
My day starts at 6:00 a.m. We get everybody up and out to breakfast by 7:30. After breakfast we help those that need it with
everyday living things. 11:30 is dinner time and we assist those that need help serving themselves. We lay quite a few residents down for an afternoon rest and my day ends at 2:00 p.m.
Pros
a very nice place to work
Cons
way to short on staff
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice staff
Student Nurse (Former Employee) –  El Monte, CAAugust 28, 2012
wonderful staff, not very clean, patient care should be taken more seriously
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nursing home type facility
cook (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, IllinoisMarch 2, 2012
i enjoy cooking, so this was an enjoyable job for me. serving and talking with the residents was also an enjoyable part of my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

See more SUNSET MANOR reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SUNSET MANOR. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.6