SUNSHINE HOUSE Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful management
Part time Infant teacher (Former Employee) –  Douglasville, GASeptember 2, 2017
Our center was always lacking supplies and felt very dirty. Our management team was not approachable and felt very unprofessional. I wouldn't recommend this job to anyone that had other obligations, this was part time for me and they often times asked me to come in again despite my agreed upon hours. . I enjoyed the kids and the actual work I was doing but the politics of it all made me uncomfortable.
Pros
The kids
Cons
No benefits, poor management, dirty facility, and overwhelming responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
ASSISTANT DIRECTOR (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCAugust 24, 2017
this is a great company to work for. They are eager to help all staff members when needed. You can move up in the company if you would like and they help with college via the T.E.A.C.H. program
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work.
4k lead teacher (Current Employee) –  Aiken, SCAugust 16, 2017
This is a hard company to work for for someone with a degree. The pay is awful. The stress is so bad on teachers and students beacuse ratios are not followed.
Cons
Pay for the amount of demands
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place that does not value it's workers, but it's a job.
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 11, 2017
If you're in need of a job right now this is the job for you. Be sure to weigh your options first. They don't value their workers and the pay is not good. I recommend it for someone in highschool or in between jobs. I was not trained on anything. The turnover rate is high.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Lead Teacher (Current Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, SCJuly 26, 2017
Great place to work nice staff just need to be honest more with pay and sign on bonus and don't do anything to show appreciation for staff
Xxxxxxxcxcc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed educational environment
Lead Pre- K Teacher (Current Employee) –  Tucker, GAJuly 20, 2017
Report to work and prepare for class. Take out small group materials, organize materials for center time. I have learned that as long as I do my job, I should have no problems with my boss or parents. My boss checks in on my class periodically, and if I need anything, she is willing to help. Everyone works well together. We are more than willing to help each other out. The hardest part of the job is meeting the wants of the parents. Meeting the needs of the children and watching them learn and grow is the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
free lunch, safe, great management
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper management not always fair.
Lead Pre-K Teacher (Former Employee) –  Hiram, GA 30141July 15, 2017
My Summary says it all. This section is requiring me to add more before I can continue. Making a person use a minimum amount of characters for this section is unfair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring Employees and clean environment
Assistant Teacher (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GAJuly 10, 2017
Working as an assistant toddler teacher it was very challenging. I made lots of lesson plans, some went well. Followed a strict but also fun learning schedule, kept the classroom spotless. Loved working with the kids AND parents!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's what you make it!
Assistant Teacher (Current Employee) –  Marietta, GAJuly 8, 2017
I really love kids and I get the full experience as a teacher. Not only have I been an assistant teacher but I've also gotten the experience of being a lead teacher. I've grown a bond with some of my co-workers. I've also gotten attached to some of my kids and grown a bond with the parents.
Pros
Family atmosphere
Cons
Year round, you're not always going to get the pay you deserve, things are not always organized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interactive
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Augusta, GAJuly 3, 2017
The kids were so enjoyable and full of energy. I was able to care for them and teach them in a good environment. The supervisor at the time could be a bit unprofessional and rude, however that did not stop me from doing my job. I was able to experience children ages infant-3 years, which was something I won't forget.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Lead Ga PreK Teacher (Former Employee) –  Acworth, GAJune 30, 2017
I enjoyed working here. Their philosophy for childcare is child development centered and aligned with mine. I felt that they offered good benefits and as I was a Ga PreK Lead Teacher I had plenty of days off with pay due to us following the local school district calendar. The downside to working here was that they closed our center without giving us much advance notice. I could probably go work in another one of their centers, yet I would fear that without any warning they would close that school down as well.
Pros
Positive philosophy, Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring
Maintenance Tech (Former Employee) –  Aiken, SCJune 15, 2017
The Sunshine House is a place of care. Especially for caring for kids seeing that is the main task. With the daycare being a core asset to the school system, carrying an professional image is necessary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful environment and poor managment
Assistant Teacher (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJune 6, 2017
I worked at the Sunshine House for almost 1 yr. In that year there, there wasn't a day that I came and wasn't stressed or unappreciated for the job performed. The management behaved unprofessional in front of employees and customer/parents. There was very little praise for a job well done or the staff performance on very high stressed days. The kids were bounced around from room to room daily to meet ratio guidelines, even though some of the parents expressed they did not want their child in certain classrooms once they graduated to the next age group. However, most importantly, there was no room for growth or raises.
Pros
2 hr nap times
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was not my best experience
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TX 76182June 1, 2017
Not enough stability things were always changing teachers were continually quitting we were always understaffed and I was working our position plus others position because we didn't have enough employees only thing good about it was working with the kids
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment to work in
Infant Teacher (Former Employee) –  Irmo, SCMay 19, 2017
The Sunshine House created a fun, fast paced working environment. You were able to come in and be a kid again while also teaching young minds. Every day there was a new challenge to overcome and a new relationship to form. This job taught me patience and guidance and understanding. The hardest part of the job would be the discipline. It's never easy to discipline children but in the end you know that you taught them something. The most enjoyable part of the job would be the kids and their love they show you every day.
Pros
Kids, Playground fun, Fieldtrips
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 3, 2017
I did not like working for this company. Hours of employment was not good. The pay was not good. The service was not good. Job description was clear from the beginning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Daycare
Infant Room Teacher (Former Employee) –  Gahanna, OHMay 3, 2017
Sunshine House was a fun place to work. You definitely build a relationship with the kids and parents. We always had fun activities planned for the kids to do, and learning was the top priority.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an okay place to work
LEAD TEACHER (Current Employee) –  Kennesaw, GAApril 20, 2017
Some of the staff is very friendly. The parents are very easy to get along with. The turnover of staff is high if you are looking for better pay. Work schedule is flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun place to work, but the management was really bad.
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COMarch 28, 2017
A typical day for me would be doing activities with the kids and the day would be over. I love working with kids so there wasn't a lot of stuff that I learned but it was fun working with little kids. like I said the mangers don't know how to manage their facility. Hardest part of the job is staying floating around to every room and working with different kids with different ages. Most enjoyable of the job is having fun with the little kids.
Pros
nice stuff that works together
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loving place
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GAMarch 15, 2017
I love working with the people and the kids. I learned a lot of the clerical and office work during this position. The best part was helping out with the kids.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SUNSHINE HOUSE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 82 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3