SUNY College at Old Westbury Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prouductive and great learning environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Old Westbury, NYJune 1, 2016
Learned how to create questionnaires, discussion guides. Opportunity to help with literature search and work collaboratively with an associate professor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive work environment
Host, "The Break (Former Employee) –  Old Westbury, NYMarch 18, 2016
Management was very professional and very reasonable and flexible when it came to scheduling work hours. An overall positive work environment.
Pros
Great co-workers, Reasonable supervisor, flexible work schedule
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quiet and productive environment
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Old Westbury, NYApril 6, 2016
I enjoy what i do here, as it allows me to meet new people, help them learn the material a well as refine my own skills when i am presented with new and challenging problems .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Old Westbury, NYSeptember 24, 2013
Great job to get through school and develop leadership qualities, but comes with great sacrifice.
Requires many hours of personal time, but compensation defers between each school.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Operations Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Old Westbury, NYMay 18, 2015
Haven't been here long but everyone is completely welcoming and encouraging to be around. Typically I start my day in the office checking E-mails, confirming meeting requests and bill revenue streams. I love working with all the other departments to see how everything works. Management is really open to questions and more than willing to help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it
Orientation Leader (Current Employee) –  Hicksville, NYAugust 17, 2015
n Greet customers as they come in and provide required information
n Offer advice and recommend books
n Keep track of online book orders
n Operate cash register and take inventory
n Stock shelves with books according to order prescribe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a productive and skillful place to work.
Secretary - Work Study (Former Employee) –  Old Westbury, NYMay 7, 2014
I assisted with the Dean of students. Judicial officer and Counselor with anything they needed. I answered phones and scheduled meetings and I also ran some errands. I assisted the students with any help they may have needed and provided them with the necessary information. I have learned how to be a administrative assistant. I enjoyed working with my fellow co-workers. I did not experience anything hard about my job. The most enjoyable part of my job is gaining the necessary experience.
Pros
Worked around my school schedule.
Cons
The pay was very low and not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a learning experience
Receptionist / Front Desk (Former Employee) –  Old Westbury, NYJune 15, 2015
Being that you're managing a delicate component of student life its always something new you're dealing with. The most difficult part of the job is the various personalities you encounter and redirecting energy into a positive direction.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay, poor work environment
Facilities (Former Employee) –  Old Westbury, NYFebruary 2, 2015
Low pay, poor work environment. Would not suggest working here.The campus is worn down and management is terrible.Facilities are only now being upgraded and still not complete.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Old Westbury, NYJune 2, 2012
A typical day in Enrollment service was very repetitive, but there was always something to do. I learned that by having good organizational skills, helps with keeping paper work and data in order and easier to retrieve. My co-workers were very nice and helpful. The most enjoyable part was having good relationships with the other employees and students.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
not a large enough work load
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about SUNY College at Old Westbury?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Understanding
Summer Intern in the office of Dean of Student (Former Employee) –  Old Westbury, NYOctober 5, 2013
I worked closely with the social worker at SUNY Old Westbury, she was always very kind and paid attention to the small details. She was very appreciative of the project that I led and completed.
Pros
Small, Everyone knew eachother
Cons
Long Distance to Travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment.
Peer Educator Intern (Former Employee) –  Old Westbury, NYFebruary 10, 2014
Excellent job. A privately based business where everyone works together on both a business and personal level. I don't have any complaints.
Pros
flexibility, quiet and comfortable work environment, good lunch time
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organizational Culture
Financial Aid Advisor's Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 7, 2013
What I enjoyed the most about this job is that everybody is respectful of each others work. They were all very helpful. They would go above and beyond to assist the students.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Human Resource Assistant (Former Employee) –  Old Westbury, NYAugust 30, 2012
You can work there while balancing out work. They give you many opportunities!
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SUNY College at Old Westbury. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.2
Culture
4.4

SUNY College at Old Westbury Reviews by Location