SUNY Empire State College Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 10 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a very interesting place to work in.
Professor of Finance and Provost (Current Employee) –  Saratoga Springs, NYFebruary 26, 2017
I was quite engaged with my responsibilities. The quality of the professional staff is very high.

We were engaged in a major restructuring of the college when I came to Empire State College.

The experience was unsettling to some of the community who had been there for a long period.

The hardest part of the job was convincing people about need for deliberate speed in adjusting to the external environmental changes.
Pros
Very friendly environment
Cons
Too amnny meeting and extended sicussions of issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saratoga Springs, NYJuly 18, 2016
I really enjoyed my time working with this organization. Friendly environment, good management, and great benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for Work/Study
STUDENT AND ACADEMIC SUPPORT (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 3, 2016
Great place to gain experience in the work force in administration and dealing with different types of people. I would recommend doing this if you qualify and need to gain experience while studying.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a work-study student working as a receptionist
Receptionist - Part Time (Current Employee) –  Cheektowaga, NYNovember 16, 2014
I answer incoming calls, greet and direct visitors to location, announce students to the mentors upon arriving for their appointments.

My co-workers are pleasant to work with and they do not discuss their problems at work.

There is nothing hard about my job.

The most enjoyable part of the job is the ability to talk with the guest, visitors, and other students who enter the campus.
Pros
pleasant atmosphere, student centered, quiet work environment, and the staff.
Cons
That I will be leaving because the program upon completion of my degree.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Institution
Research Assistant to Retention Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 14, 2014
Working at SUNY Empire State College has been a tremendous learning experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity
Peer Tutor and Academic Coach (Former Employee) –  Saratoga Springs, NYMay 15, 2014
Working as an academic peer tutor and academic coach was a very enjoyable experience, as it allowed me to be able to practically support other students while simultaneously working on my own college-level work. The staff at ESC were very supportive and quickly assisted with any questions or concerns.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
education
Unit Secretary Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jamestown, NYMarch 15, 2013
this was the best job i have ever worked for it was temporary and i wish i could have stayed longer the staff is great
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful college that offers students a myriad of opportunities.
Mentor (Former Employee) –  Saratoga Springs, NYSeptember 26, 2012
The students and staff are wonderful to work with. Advancement is primarily political based on Deans and Vp's.
Pros
working with varied students.
Cons
administration is laden with prejudices.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a Work-Study
temporary receptionist (Former Employee) –  East Syracuse, NYMay 15, 2012
The most enjoyable part of the day was meeting and talking with students. Since Empire state College is non-traditional, students come from a wide range of experiences and backgrounds. The staff and faculty are excellent people to be around, and the basic office skills I learned was a great start to helping me get back into the job market.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

Want to know more about SUNY Empire State College?

Ask a question
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SUNY Empire State College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.8
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
4.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
4.3
Culture
4.4