Find companies:
Supercuts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
223 reviews

Supercuts Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Learn the Business and Build a Following
Shift Manager (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: built in clientele, benefits, paid vacation, continuing education
Cons: constantly changing schedules, low base pay
This is a great salon for someone who is tired of assisting but isn't quite ready to rent a chair or lacks the following to make good money working on the typical 50/50 commission. Benefits and paid vacation are a huge plus. Also, there is built in clientele, continued training and plenty of opportunity for advancement. Since everyone does everything, – more... that includes the less fun aspects of the job including counting inventory, cleaning (including the bathroom!), etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ongoing training
Cosmetologist (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTFebruary 6, 2014
Definitely teaches you how to be efficient and precise. Many different opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable work place
Receptionist (Former Employee), Chula Vista, CAFebruary 2, 2014
I worked 2 years at Supercuts in Chula Vista as a receptionist. We would see about 50 to 70 customers a day. I was in charge of inventory, clerk, closing, and other duties in the shop. I always had a positive attitude towards my customers and co-workers. I enjoyed interacting with customers and doing simple things, ex:drying hair, washing hair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
will terminate your position at any given time
Stylist (Former Employee), Geneva, ILFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: clients is available
Cons: overall bad place to work
not a place that I will recommend. management don't care nor are they available. the company don't care about they're employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Work Environment
Receptionist (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 30, 2014
Really great co-workers and customers. Had fun working there!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT WAS ALWAYS BUSY
Cosmetologist (Former Employee), Lawton, OKJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: had work incentives
Cons: coworkers that did not clean up after themselves
MY DAY AT WORK WAS ALWAYS BUSY WHICH IS WHAT I LIKE.I ALWAYS LEARN MORE ABOUT TEAM WORK AND RESPONSIBILITIES.MY MANAGER WAS GREAT BUT I DID HAVE A FEW LAZY COWORKERS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative work environment. Opportunities to help clients feel better about their appearance and selves
Hair Stylist (Former Employee), Cumberland, RIJanuary 30, 2014
Co-workers were easy to get along with and pleasant.
Management was fair and treated employees equal.
Opportunities to learn new techniques and styles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat, friendly and a overall great place to work at
Receptionist/Inventory Control Manager (Former Employee), La Mesa, CAJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: great experience, tips and customers
Cons: the parking spots were small
A typical day was receptionist duties, open/close the shop and maintaining inventory. I learned a great deal! I was taught how to deal with tough customers over the phone, calculate wait time, order/receive inventory, price the inventory and I created training manuals. The management was terrific! Still in contact with many of them. The co-workers were – more... friendly and many were fresh out of beauty school so they were excited to be at work. The hardest part was leaving to take my maternity leave and the most enjoyable were the customers who would come in and talk to me about their day/plans as they were checking out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment and easy people to get along with
Runner (Current Employee), Austin, TXJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: long distance from home
fun workplace with challenging tasks and new learning experiences everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Customer Service
Receptionist/Key Holder (Former Employee), San Mateo, CAJanuary 16, 2014
answer phones, sweep hair, laundry, up-sell, set appointments, cashier, customer service.

Learned the love of hairdressing

Management was great she would take me out to lunch all the time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice salon with room for growth within the company
Stylist/Receptionist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 10, 2014
A typical work day is a fast-paced and friendly environment where I learned new techniques on a regular basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful and upbeat salon with purple accent walls to seperate us from the rest!
Hairstylist (Current Employee), Sioux Falls, SDJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: you never really feel like you're at work!
Cons: insurance
A typical day at work for me would be to first prepare the salon for the day. I come in, turn on the lights, count the till, turn on wax pot, prepare the towels in the warmer, start combs in barbicide, and start laundry if need be. I also set up my station with all the proper equipment. As the day progresses, customers come and go. It is always our – more... main focus to meet our customers needs, whatever they may be. If my customer is happy so am i.
The owner of our company stops in from time to time and checks up to see how things are going. She has full trust in my manager, who runs things very smoothly. I work with a great group of girls who are like my family.
There usually is never a "hard" part to my job. But, every once in awhile you will get tested on your knowledge or skills during a cut or color or whatever the case may be. Sometimes, we will run into issues with customers, such as a complaint. Most of the time though, I love my job and what I do. I get to meet new people on a regular basis and also see fimiliar faces too. Making and creating a bond with a complete stranger is natural and a habit for me anymore and i love it. Being a cosmetologist has made me a better person! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for getting started
Hairstylist (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: easy job
Cons: pay is not good
If you are new to the industry, this company is an easy company to get started with and gain experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Salon Manager (Former Employee), Hebron, KYJanuary 4, 2014
Supercuts was an amazing place to work, though the competitive wages in the market made it hard to obtain quality stylist, but their training program was phenominal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, good money
manager stylist (Former Employee), Tucson, AZDecember 31, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: long hours and dedication
I was a manager and did schedules, ordering and stocking, meetings, and money management. it was a good job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice environment
Receptionist (Former Employee), Stamford, CTDecember 26, 2013
learned to work in retail. and interact with customers
its was a good job as a high school student
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, great clients, wonderful manager, pleasant work environment.
Cosmetologist (Former Employee), Cleveland, TNDecember 23, 2013
Pros: overall everything was a pro..
Cons: sometimes would end up staying late if clients were still waiting in the lobby after close.
Clients and fellow staff all got along great and we all had great work ethics and taught each other techniques in hairstyling, haircutting and coloring. Wonderful salon manager who would inspire us to push ourselves above and beyond our salon goals. The salon was always clean and neat throughout the work day. We all worker together to make the day go – more... by fast and very enjoyable. Up-do season was a very enjoyable and inspirational time of the year for me and my coworkers to create beautiful hair sculptures for weddings and proms sure to impress. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Styling hair is my hobby
Cosmetologist (Former Employee), Amherst, NYDecember 16, 2013
A typical day at work would be styling customers hair and cashing them out at the register. Every day I learned a new hairstyling or cutting technique. The hardest part of the job was that our company wanted us to get the customer finished in 20 minutes or less no matter what procedure we were performing. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting – more... to indulge in my hobby every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Co-Workers
Hair Stylist (Former Employee), Fresno, CADecember 12, 2013
Pros: great co-workers.
Cons: management is iffy sometimes.
People were team based in my shop, we always got things done and helped each other out when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace fun place to work full of oppurtunities
hair stylist (Former Employee), Easton, PADecember 10, 2013
Pros: meeting a bunch of new people and making tons of friends and learning something new everyday.
Cons: sometimes not being able to leave the floor and being on your feet your entire shift.
A typical day at supercuts involes having a engergentic fun attitude handling over 15 clients a day. figuring out what people want with out a picture or knowledge of what they have in mind. on down time cleaning and preparing for what the day brings.

About Supercuts

Although Supercuts styles itself as a neighborhood unisex hair salon, the chain targets male clients who want convenience (no – Read more