Find companies:
Superior Beverage Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Superior Beverage Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Merchandiser (Part-time) (Current Employee), Glenwillow, OHAugust 26, 2014
Build and/or rotate displays. Constant communication with customers to ensure satisfaction with work done in stores. Communication with sales representatives on daily basis on any concerns or questions. Area sales manager checked in weekly to see how things were going and offer advice to improve my skills. The hardest part of the job was deciding on – more... which stores were top priority. The most enjoyable part of the job was the freedom to express my own designs with the displays. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only if you can't find somewhere else.
Administration (Former Employee), Glenwillow, OHJune 28, 2014
Pros: too few to list.
Cons: too many to list, if i didn't below.
Work/life balance, forget that. And get back to work, slacker.

Compensation/benefits are above average, but I wouldn't rate them well as you will need the benefits to get medical care for stress, high blood pressure, and cardiac issues.

Job security is shaky as a one legged ladder. You want a kevlar vest for your BACK when you are there with the culture – more... that is there.

High level advancement is rare unless you marry into the owners' family, then you are "in there like swimwear."

Middle management is average, but executive management makes/cultivates the culture there to be unbearable.

In summary, Superior Beverage likes to buy smaller distributors, and in so doing, their employees, if they take them. EXTREMELY anti-union, so they aren't welcome. I would guess that 90% of the rest of the employees that came with the purchase are with other employers within 3-5 years because of how much they hate Superior Beverage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Glenwillow, OHJune 11, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: no opportunities for advancement
delivery of various products to food establishments in ohio and surrounding states.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay long hours
Materials Specialist (Current Employee), Glenwillow, OHJune 10, 2014
Great people to work with, management is mediocre. no set off time, and not much of chance to move up in the company from what I have seen thus far.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained valuable Experience
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHApril 27, 2014
Superior allowed me to independently develop valuable experience that will be an asset to me in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Back breaking work for little pay
Merchandiser / Entry-Level Sales Associate (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHMarch 26, 2014
Pros: working on your own and decent benefits
Cons: little room for advancement
There was little to no training for the position. Basically left to figure it out on your own. The communication between upper management and sales department could use some help. Most of the time didn't have enough p.o.s. to support my displays. It's a very physically demanding job. If you are lazy do not apply!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with excellent benefits
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Glenwillow, OHMarch 12, 2014
Pros: pay, travel reimbursement, benefits, security
Cons: lack of training and materials for my position
Superior is a wonderful company to work for. Their benefits are A-1 especially since Obamacare took place. They take great care of their employees and there is a lot of room for advancement within.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers were great upper management/ HR & the owner Dont have a clue what they are doing.
Sales rep (Current Employee), Solon OhioFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: pay is bad. work weekends nights. have to sell out of your trunk some days
A great company is only as great as their employees. I would say we have the strongest work force ever, hardest working nights weekend and we give it our all with no extra compensation or raise ever! I have been there for years and have seen nothing. The company cheats their employees out of every last penny on incentives. Supplies have told me many – more... times that the pay out was supposed to be higher then what was given. They have little respect for their employees and Dont date to value their opinion. Some of the greatest sales reps ever that have walked the halls of that building are now dropping like flies. They have to cheat and make up false invoices to try and be number one at everything. The HR department is a major joke they Dont know how to handle their responsibility. Their are supposed to be a department where you can feel free to talk about problems you are facing but it always leaves in some sort of argument and also the whole company knows by the end of the day. The positive... job security it is beer and wine. Also the coworkers who are not attached to the family. Overall rating .... 2 out of. I need to get out while I can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the entire experience
Distribution Assistant (Former Employee), Columbus, OhioFebruary 4, 2014
The people that I worked with and for were very personable and made me feel like a part of the team which I did not expect as a seasonal worker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced aggresive distribution and sales
Day Shift Warehouse Operations/ Fork Lift Operator (Former Employee), Columbus, OHFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: wage, benefits, retirement
Cons: short lunch
shipping/receiving product from breweries. inventory of all product and product shipments. I have learned to respect the detail and depth of the beverage industry. I learned and worked with so many great employees and enjoyed the many diverse examples of productivity. the hardest part of my job was time restraints and doc appointments within a timed – more... shift. The most enjoyable part of my job was meeting those objectives that seemed impossible, and yet through hard work were obtained. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a reliable job
Material Handler (Current Employee), Solon, OHDecember 16, 2013
Cons: bad managment, little to none advancements, alot of contradicting within managment.
Its a family owned business, so they mainly hire within, little to any advancements, can be difficult to learn different departments. Medium work..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work for little pay
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Solon, OHOctober 15, 2013
You work your butt off for very little pay and acknowledgement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job, little to no advancement
Merchandiser then Sales (Former Employee), Columbus, OHMarch 27, 2013
Pros: people, product, experience
Cons: lack of training, growth and pay advancement
This place is a good start if you want into the beverage industry. You learn from the ground up and the job has its perks. The employees are great and the product is too. They do a poor job of training for the next level and there is very little room for upward mobility. They also stifle movement into breweries or other opportunities in their network, – more... blacklisting you if they find out you want to grow beyond your current position. The management is seems stuck for change and struggles when change comes about. The events are great and the people you can meet are a bonus as well. This is a good starting block for young sales people who want a career in the beverage industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Driver/ night loader (Current Employee), columbus ohioMarch 4, 2013
3rd shift, you start by getting your assinments and its right to work, and its a can do no matter what it takes to get the job done, and for me i have been there for 11years on night shift and as a otr driver so in saying that, there is nothing you learn new because you have already been there and done it. as far as management they are the best in this – more... indurstry, they will never ask you to do anything that they have not already done or been through. my co-workers are fun are fun, we joke and kid around with one another threw out the evening, even though the work is hard, we still pull eachother therw everynight and laugh, at the end of the night. the hardest part of our job is the hoialdays, we need to be at work at 6pm and on the hoiladays you half to leave to go to work, leave your friends and your family, that is the hardest part of my job. the people i work with, that is what makes work fun and interesting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee), Glenwillow, OHOctober 22, 2012
Pros: good health insurance
Cons: no room to advance
A typical day of work is a very demanding job on the back and body but besides that the benefits are good, though advancement lacks for those who do work hard based on people to lean on rather than progress along
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place to work where you learn to work independently
Material Handler (Current Employee), Glenwillow OhioJune 11, 2012
Pros: easy work
I have learned that anything that goes on in the day to day operations i can handle and successfully complete.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job itself it great to be able to be outside everyday and talking to people
Sales Rep (Current Employee), Glen Willow OhioMarch 19, 2012
There is no room for any growth as far as pay. Justifications for keeping people at a lower pay grade are ridiculous. HR department is on the side of management due to the fact that they were basically married into their job.