SUPERMEDIA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste of Life
Account Management Clerk (Former Employee) –  Los Alamitos, CANovember 14, 2017
Know that saying, "You Don't Have Anything Nice to Say,...?" Well, that applies here...

But I did make a few friends for life, so there's that. But honestly, how many bankruptcies and CEO's did we go through while I was there? It didn't start out that way, but somewhere along the way, the company forgot about ideals and went for profit at all costs.
Pros
A job
Cons
Most Corrupt Place I've Worked At
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLSeptember 21, 2017
This was a fairly easy job. Took inbound calls for people to order phone books, or cancel them all together. It was very relaxing, but other times it would get very stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, poor management
Media Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 14, 2017
Hectic place to work, fast pace environment. Great training, management is nonexistent. Compensation is OK. Commission structure is very good. The training is world class and will give you the tools to get the job done.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great learning environment
Media Consultant (Former Employee) –  Bensalem, PASeptember 5, 2017
Worked there for over 13 years. Left for a better work/life balance but took salary hit to do it. Wasn't always an easy job but if you worked hard and listened and learned from trainers and seasoned sales vets, you could advance and earn a great living.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
recession period low sales
Media Consultant (Former Employee) –  Lanham, MDAugust 7, 2017
favoritism
start day with meeting withteam
cold calling
completing open apps
hardest part was selling yellow pages ads in tech savvy world
most ehjoyable-great bonus pay out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Executive
ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CAJuly 12, 2017
This was a terrible place to work. We were pressured to sell programs that the company had zero intention of fulfilling their side of the contract. People were left paying on a yearly contract and getting little to nothing in return.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory
Java/J2EE Developer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 29, 2017
i really learned a good working knowledge and work culture.I enjoyed it working for experience works.. it gave me the chance to help seniors help work. this was a nice journey for senior 15over.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too many changes
Media Consultant (Former Employee) –  Sandwich, MAFebruary 28, 2017
company changed ceo 5 times during my time there. No support from union run sales department. No respect for people. Poor communication from top to bottom.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced production environment. Friendly and fun environment.
Initial Distribution Manager (Former Employee) –  Valley Forge, PAJanuary 22, 2017
Could not speak highly enough about my tenure at Supermedia, formerly Bell Atlantic/Verizon. The benefits were very good. The opportunity for advancement was always there with hard work and determination. The management for the most part was wonderful and the job culture was very diverse.
Pros
Free Lunches off/on site. Yearly awards benefits for both employees an management
Cons
Merger brought about many changes and job lay-offs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is not any longer called Supermedia for they closed most o their offices and layed off many people.
Outside sales (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 5, 2017
I loved my co-workers but felt management was way over their heads when it cam to the internet.
The hardest part of the job was selling into an ad vehicle that was outdated.
Pros
Nice salary and compensation plan
Cons
Constantly being hazzled by management instead of being motivated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work
URL CHANGES SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Los Alamitos, CAAugust 23, 2016
awesome training, great environment. everyone was very friendly and willing to help. managers were always willing to step up and help as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere to work, very family oriented
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  3131 Katella Ave, Los Alamitos CaJuly 19, 2016
After working for this company for over 15 years I can honestly say that it has been the best company I worked for. Like at any jobs there have been pros and cons but I will say that the pros far, far outweigh the cons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pressure / dying product
Media Consultant (Former Employee) –  Beaverton, ORApril 25, 2016
Company makes 90% of it's profit from a dying dinosaur - the yellow pages. Can't sell internet fast enough to make up for losing print customers.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
High pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits, pay
Customer Service Specialist/Media Consulrant (Former Employee) –  Monroeville, PAApril 13, 2016
Supermedia paid both base salary and commission. It was a great place to work and would never have left however they closed the telephone sales department.
Pros
Benefits, great compensation
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Training, but after that not much
Austin Area Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 3, 2016
Supermedia has an excellent sales training program but their support for sales staff in the field is subpar in my opinion.
Pros
Pay, Sales Training
Cons
Sales Support, Customer Service, Public Relations
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and fun place to work
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  East Meadow, NYFebruary 1, 2016
Nice place, good management, helpful co-workers.
Comfortable relaxed place. Everyone gets along with each other. Clean, secure place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy sales work environment
Account Executive/Outside Sales (Former Employee) –  Los Alamitos, CASeptember 11, 2015
High energy sales work environment. Company is going through growing pains like most media companies getting into the social media side of advertising.
Pros
Good Money
Cons
High Stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job poor product
Internet Advertising Consultant (Former Employee) –  Manteca, CAJuly 23, 2015
I took this job in hopes of selling Google SEO programs and instead the product was Organic Google space that frankly didn't produce the placement that we were told to promise our customers.
Pros
Great family life
Cons
Product was very poor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with Fantastic People
Media Consultant (Former Employee) –  Los Alamitos, CAJuly 16, 2015
I loved working here....it was sad...like working on a Sinking Ship...

Yellow Pages had its day and we, at GTE Directories, were the Top.
Pros
Fun Place...Successful People...Great Place To Work
Cons
The Ship Was Sinking...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales trainer, District Sales manager, major account executive
Major Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAJuly 10, 2015
This was a great company, great products and ability to move up within the company and more to other areas logistically if you choose to. Great income opportunity and benefits that start day of hire.
Pros
healthcare starts day of hire
Cons
when your in management the reps are union
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SUPERMEDIA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 125 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1