Find companies:
SUPERVALU INC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
306 reviews

SUPERVALU INC. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service was valued
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Hampton, VANovember 9, 2013
Pros: easy place to work
Cons: weird hours, low wages
Farm Fresh was an okay place to work. It taught me the value of customer service, and how imperative it is to retail market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for non educated personal
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Fargo, NDNovember 8, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: irregular hrs
Great pay. Good benefits. Good vacation and sick time. order selectors have to pull and maintain a high piece per hr.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging environment where you can see results in profitability and sales
Director Area Operations (Current Employee), Seattle, WANovember 6, 2013
Allows for team building and collaboration to grow profits and sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse/Order Selector
Order Selector (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INNovember 4, 2013
Pros: good part-time work while going to school
Cons: not steady due to customer relationships
SuperValu was a good place to work. There were good managers and fellow employees alike. The managers and employees had a good work relationship.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do more with less
Warehouse Supervisor (Current Employee), Denver, PAOctober 30, 2013
Pros: the have a cafateria
Cons: most people have little or no time to use it
For all members of management the workload continues to grow while pay has remained stagnant with minimal or no pay increase for the past 5-6 years. Benefits have also diminished with the 401K match being completely eliminated. If business would improve this is could be a good, long term, employer. In the current environment recommend anyone with the – more... ability to go elsewhere to do so. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer tough work
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Pleasant Prairie, WIOctober 30, 2013
Pros: very busy work days went fast.
Cons: knew for the last year plus my job was ending.
All warehouse employees were on production jobs. Punched in, 10 min at work until you went home length of time varied everyday, you never knew ahead of time how long,Front line supervisors worked 55-60 hrs per week were in charge of any where from 25 to 50 employees .I preformed all warehouse functions on many different shifts .Hardest job was order – more... selection, enjoyed receiving functions more than others, always enjoyed forklift driving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Review
Accountant/Merchandise/Procurement (Former Employee), Chanhassen, MNOctober 21, 2013
The Grocer, Frozen and Dairy (Wholesale) was a fun group to work with. They were very open to streamlining the process along with greater reporting made for a great month or quarter close.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervalu was flexible with work schedules
Business Support Manager - Corporate (Former Employee), Eden Prairie, MNSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: size/scale
Cons: too many layers made it difficult to change results
Overall I would say the company outgrew itself when I was there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Albertsons is the best place to shop
Human Resources Corporate Store Support Specialist (Former Employee), Glendale, AZSeptember 23, 2013
Great company. They treat their employees very well. It was a pleasure working for such a great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at Supervalu
MILITARY DEPARTMENT SPECIALIST 1 (Former Employee), Tacoma, WASeptember 23, 2013
Pros: great people to work with
Cons: too much restructuring and lay offs
It was very busy, my co-workers were awesome, the hardest part was keeping up with all of the paperwork but with organization and assistance it was doable. I had planned on being there until I was able to retire however Corporate laid off my department and relocated the work load to Atlanta, GA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is very flexible
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Tacoma, WASeptember 21, 2013
Pros: the diversity of my day.
Cons: lack of benefits and growth
I have been with Supervalu for 14 years and have held 4 different positions and have gained a broad knowledge of a wholesale Grocery Distribution Company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best job Ever
General Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Pleasant Prairie, WISeptember 16, 2013
Pros: everyday something different
Cons: bad orders
Always different order selecting day to day loading, shipping, Receiving,Forklift driving, sanitation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I currently manage the finances, hiring and interview process, implement programs, build teams, and manage several departments of the store.
Service Supervisor Personnel Coordinator (Current Employee), Orange, CaliforniaSeptember 12, 2013
A typical day at work consists of team work, customer service, product knowledge, inventory, and the ability to multi-task.

I have learned how to stay on task, work with all types of personalities, build teams, and motive my associates.

My co-workers respond well to direction and we learn from eachother. We have built a strong and very effective team.

The – more... difficult tasks in my current position is to handle the interruptions that occur frequently and still have the ability to complete the daily job tasks.

I enjoy people, customers and associates. It is rewarding to help team members grow and help them to achieve there goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
IT Technician (Former Employee), Boise, IDSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: breaks as needed
I came in early in the morning, got started on my daily tasks while working in a relaxed yet professional workplace with amazing co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
District Manager
District Manager (Current Employee), Itasca, ILSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: challenging, people development, great company
Cons: work life balance, compensation -- no bonus
My typical day includes touring my stores to ensure compliance and drive profitable sales. Being in the stores is certainly my most enjoyable part of the job since I get to influence and develop my team to be successful in their jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Drew, MSSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: one hour lunch for 8 hr shifts/ half-hr lunch break for 6 hr shifts
Cons: only short conversation with customers
Co-workers were really friendly. I loved all of my customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Far East & Alaska
Military Far East & Alaska Desk (Former Employee), Tacoma, WASeptember 8, 2013
I processed all the Far East and Alaska orders by pull number for the military department. Reviewed and forecast quantities for all promo packages and one time buy packages. Reviewed all Far East orders and booked the containers based on cube, weight and product. Transmitted by pull number to DeCA three weeks worth of orders for the Far East and transmitted – more... two weeks of orders for Alaska. Reviewed each pull before it released to identify any issues with product coming in late or being shorted. Answered any questions regarding port operation times or any problems with containers going to port. Improved our departments communication with the warehouse and drivers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SUPERVALU, Inc. was a good company to work for until they sold the Distribution Center in May, 2013 creating 160 employee job loss.
HR Asst./Risk Control Assistant (Former Employee), Pleasant Prairie, WISeptember 6, 2013
Pros: fitness center with personal trainer classes.
Cons: losing you job after 23 years.
A typical day at SV working in HR was always different and exciting.
I learned to be be flexible and developed excellent interpersonal and organizational skills.
Management worked well with a Union enviroment and worked together as key members of each team.
Co-workers worked efficiently as an individual contributor, as well as with other departments – more... as a key member of a team.
The hardest part of the job was to see the business getting smaller and the fear of losing your job.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the incentive's given for working in a safe work place such as; lunches, cookouts and awards. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but friendly environment
Perishable Warehouse Office Clerk (Former Employee), Quincy, FLSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: medical benefits and retirement was made available
Cons: no job security
I gained much knowledge from working with this fast pace warehouse food distribution center. I learned that their are many duties that must be completed proficiently and timely to assure the work was done to the highest standards,. I appreciated my immediate supervisors they were very knowledgeable and helpful to me. I very much liked my co workers – more... each I looked forward to seeing each day. The hardest part of my job was I worked constantly on computers for many hours only to juggle other tasks also. I enjoyed the feeling of great accomplishment when daily goals were met. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehousing
Order Selector (Former Employee), Hopkins, MNSeptember 2, 2013
Fast paced production standards involved. Order selecting must be able to be done without supervision in an orderly fashion.

About SUPERVALU INC.

After a disastrous flirtation with grocery retail, SUPERVALU is returning to its wholesale roots. While the┬ápurchase of more than – Read more