Supreme Court of Virginia Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with
Senior Fiscal Technician/Criminal Fund (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 4, 2017
Loved working in Office of the Executive Secretary in the Accounting Division for many years. We were a small group but everyone enjoyed their jobs making it easy to go to work every day!
Pros
Relaxed atmosphere
Cons
pay was low for females
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite place to work!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Educational Services DepartmentJune 7, 2017
I loved working at the Office of the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court of Virginia. I learned so much and grew so much. I got sick and had to leave. I wish I could go back.
Pros
Opportunities to learn more and interact with truly brilliant individuals.
Cons
Traffic and Parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very informative place to work learned alot
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 12, 2017
I worked among the best people in the world. I am still in touch with them. great people to work with. work experience with the Supreme Court help me to stay focus on my life and help me to raise my girls in the way they should live their lives
Pros
security state laws and regulations and court documents
Cons
i cant say anything against them at all. i learned alot
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job
Deputy Clerk (Current Employee) –  Roanoke, VAFebruary 24, 2016
Poor trainin process, management does not treat employees fairly.
No room to advance,
Does not promote good customer service
Pros
none
Cons
low pay, no chance for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Judicial Hearings
Commonwealth Magistrate -5th Judicial District (Current Employee) –  Suffolk, VirginiaSeptember 24, 2015
I hold Judicial hearings each shift. I attempt to dispense justice with common sense. It has been an excellent position and working along side my colleagues has been tremendously rewarding. My involvement with the Law Enforcement community has been outstanding. Unfortunately the shift changes every 3 or 4 days a week and leaves little time for family and important dates.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 8, 2013
Loved working in the court system in Virginia. Retired from the state of Virginia after this job.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are no advancement opportunities and upward mobility potential near zero.
Judicial Hearing Officer (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJuly 28, 2013
Work nights, weekends and other shifts on a rotating basis every two days.
Pros
health benefits
Cons
everthing else from the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small office but work with a large court with a demanding work load.
Deputy Clerk (Current Employee) –  Suffolk, VAMay 29, 2013
Work day-in and day-out on large case loadings all while assisting other employees, judges, and customers with questions. Also assist with handling the phones and the front window for transactions from the general public which can vary from submitting documentation to making a payment.

I manage my work load and assist the other clerks with their work. The hardest part of the job is the fact that the job is never done since there is always another case to be entered. Also it can be demanding with the ever changing amount of codes and laws.

I overall enjoy this field of work since related to my studies and I enjoy having the feeling that I assisted others and tried to offer a sense of relieve for them.
Pros
Recognition from others outside of court
Cons
Lack of ability to grow with court
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Supreme Court of Virginia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6

Supreme Court of Virginia Reviews by Location