Find companies:
Sur La Table
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
76 reviews

Sur La Table Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Friendly
Sales Associate/ Cashier- Seasonal (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 6, 2014
The work environment was very comfortable and pleasant. Everyone including management were very considerate and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience. Great staff to work with. Needs better vision.
Chef Instructor / Resident Chef (Former Employee), Sugar Land, TXOctober 31, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: upper mgmt and company direction
I had a wonderful time working at the Sugar Land location. The customers/students made my days a lot of fun. I enjoyed teaching and I believed they enjoyed the learning experience and consistent knowledge. I had wonderful coworkers and great store managers and we were able to create a successful staff as managers to work for us. This resulted in a successful – more... culinary program and thriving retail store. I do regret there was not enough help from upper management in regards to the many changes they would hand out and the work/life balance they insisted they wanted us managers to have. It became more about the numbers and not so much about quality, consistency, and good customer service.

All in all I had a great experience working with Sur La Table, good, bad, and indifferent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal, but was by far the most enjoyable workplace.
Temp Cashier (Former Employee), Washington, DCOctober 17, 2014
The atmosphere was always peaceful. The co-workers... amazing and helpful. True team work! It took a little while to get used to locating where every item in the store was, but after a while everything became easy and it made my job more exciting.

From stocking and tagging merchandise to processing returns, interacting with the customers and answering – more... questions about the products, even help opening up or closing down the shop, it was overall the happiest place I've ever worked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Garden City, NYOctober 13, 2014
Very great looking expensive. New people and great environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Sales Clerk (Current Employee), Newport BeachOctober 5, 2014
Pros: great culture, management, and employee discount.
Cons: low pay, low hours, and no health benefits
Sur la Table has the best work culture. It is a relaxed atmosphere with management that cares about its employees. I have been employed for two years and enjoy every day that I am there. The downside is low pay, low work hours, and lack of health benefits which has become standard for hourly-pay retail jobs. Sur la Table does compensate for this by – more... offering a sizable employee discount and creating a strong culture that promotes friendship among employees. My overall experience has been fantastic and would recommend Sur la Table for anyone looking for part-time employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is low
Sous Chef (Current Employee), Boulder, COOctober 3, 2014
Pros: everyone, management and employees are awesome
Cons: low pay
Great place to work! Pay is really low though and no P.T.O. but everyone who works there is really amazing, including management and employees! Great work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunities to learn.
Quality Control Associate, Quality Clerk (Current Employee), Brownsburg, InSeptember 30, 2014
Good working environment, friendly co-workers. Great benefits. Easiest job not a lot of physical work. Audit the product that came in and out of the warehouse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place
Stock Person/Sales (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: no hours, lousy manager
The discount is the only reason to work for this company. They make promises for hours and then cut them down to 5 or 6 a week.
The management does not know what they are doing and the head office is just as in the dark as the local store
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with job growth potential
Sales Associate (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 27, 2014
Pros: with high turnover, there is always the option for growth in one's position within the company if desired
Cons: short breaks
Management is very personable, they listen to employees and let us voice our opinions and concerns. Each worker is highly valued and treated as part of a collective effort to reach sales goals and earn incentives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the job and the people are amazing
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Brownsburg, INAugust 25, 2014
I highly recommend anyone to apply. The pay was awesome. I loved the job and the people were very helpful and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to grow your skill set
Sales Representative (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PAAugust 15, 2014
You can gain a lot of experience working with this company. If you enjoy sales, then this is the job for you!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people who care about their employees
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJuly 25, 2014
Pros: great environment, benefits, excellent store discount
Cons: not enough hours to sustain with just this position
Sur La Table is a company that cares about its products, but also its employees. I find that my management team actually cares about how I am doing and part of the company's culture is to maintain a good life/work balance, which they uphold. Upward mobility is encouraged, and each time a temporary promotion has arisen, I was promoted. They encourage – more... anyone who is capable to try to move up in the company, and I have watched as one of my team has been promoted already and will most likely be a store manager within the next couple years. The hours for floor lead, however, have recently been cut to just under full time to no more than 25 hours/week, which is a negative. The cut in hours has greatly decreased the likelihood that I will stay for longer, unfortunately. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Part-time crewmember (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 13, 2014
I learn so much about kitchenware and cooking while working at SLT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great associates, bad upper management.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), CAMay 29, 2014
I have had good and bad experiences with Sur La Table, but unfortunately the negative has outweighed the positive. Product is amazing and the associates and kitchen staff are all wonderful people, but there is no support in upper management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales in Retail
Marketing and Sales Representative (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 6, 2014
Usually when my shift starts I would meet up with the manager to discuss the day's specials and sales as well as volume. With that information I would promote items on sale while assisting customers in products, or doing cash register. It was a good working environment as all the employees got along and ultimately got the job done no matter what. Even – more... if that meant staying in the store till 5 in the morning just to do inventory. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool gadgets; very low pay
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee), Troy, MIApril 2, 2014
Pros: cool people
Cons: overworked and totally underpaid
I worked for Sur La Table for almost 4 years. The only thing I miss now are some of the friends I made over the years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great relaxed work culture with amazing talented people.
Production Artist (Former Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 3, 2014
Pros: short work fridays (petite fridays)
Cons: hired me and 4 months lated determined that they had to make staff cuts
I loved working here. Made some really great friends and would do anything to go back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning and serving Customers with classes and Product
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Brownsburg, INFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: great bonus's and product
Cons: hours
Sur La Table was a fun place to work. They havde a great Management group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ideal
Associate (Former Employee), Brownsburg, INFebruary 24, 2014
this was an ideal position for me because of having two small children at home it allowed me to work 3 days a week and still support my family and be with them and not just working to pay bills and not seeing my children
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Picked packed cooking products.
Retail pick packer (Former Employee), Brownsburg, INFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: paid lunches
Cons: no set time for when you would be getting off cut into hours, but not awful.
Good place to work other than the Management isn't the best.

1 2 3 4

About Sur La Table

In 1972, the first Sur La Table store opened in Seattle’s Pike Place Market. It was a place where serious cooks found a – Read more