Find companies:
Sur La Table
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
62 reviews

Sur La Table Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales in Retail
Marketing and Sales Representative (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 6, 2014
Usually when my shift starts I would meet up with the manager to discuss the day's specials and sales as well as volume. With that information I would promote items on sale while assisting customers in products, or doing cash register. It was a good working environment as all the employees got along and ultimately got the job done no matter what. Even – more... if that meant staying in the store till 5 in the morning just to do inventory. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool gadgets; very low pay
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee), Troy, MIApril 2, 2014
Pros: cool people
Cons: overworked and totally underpaid
I worked for Sur La Table for almost 4 years. The only thing I miss now are some of the friends I made over the years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great relaxed work culture with amazing talented people.
Production Artist (Former Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 3, 2014
Pros: short work fridays (petite fridays)
Cons: hired me and 4 months lated determined that they had to make staff cuts
I loved working here. Made some really great friends and would do anything to go back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning and serving Customers with classes and Product
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Brownsburg, INFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: great bonus's and product
Cons: hours
Sur La Table was a fun place to work. They havde a great Management group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ideal
Associate (Former Employee), Brownsburg, INFebruary 24, 2014
this was an ideal position for me because of having two small children at home it allowed me to work 3 days a week and still support my family and be with them and not just working to pay bills and not seeing my children
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Picked packed cooking products.
Retail pick packer (Former Employee), Brownsburg, INFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: paid lunches
Cons: no set time for when you would be getting off cut into hours, but not awful.
Good place to work other than the Management isn't the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Software Engineer (Former Employee), Seattle, WADecember 2, 2013
• Works with various business units to provide the key performance indicators and detailed information required to help make business decisions by identifying trends and patterns in inventory data
• Develops and QAs reports as well as generates one-time, ad hoc reports by crafting custom queries against the data repositories
• Maintains existing reports – more... and middle-ware using C#, MS SQL, SSRS, SSIS, UML, DB2, and AS/400 – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work the people are great
Sales, Floor Manager, Asst. Store Manager (Current Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 20, 2013
Pros: people
Cons: lack of logical way they manage their human capital
Overall good experience, learned day to day operations of the store. Hardest part was just managing your associate and all there personal needs. Co-workers were great very dedicated and hard working. I love working with the public and making their dilemas go away.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Customer Service/ Stock (Current Employee), Charlotte,NCNovember 8, 2013
Pros: great discount
In this store i can really use my knowledge from culinary school to help customers get the best product and gadgets to execute any thing they are trying to do in the kitchen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and supportive environment I feel good to be a part of.
Kitchen Assistant (Current Employee), Columbus, OHAugust 20, 2013
I enjoy the creative and open aspects of Sur La Table. It is not a difficult job but it is hard work and one place for improvement would be to increase Kitchen Assistant pay rate. The store discount is wonderful but I would prefer a higher pay rate so I can use it! Overall, I am very happy with my work and coworkers here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it, don't work for Sur La Table
Sales Associate (Seasonal) (Former Employee), Roseville, CAAugust 1, 2013
Pros: employee discount
Cons: no career potential
Only work here if you want the discount. If you are looking for a career, look somewhere else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 1, 2013
A very challenging and intense place to work. I don't really want to say much more than that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I can now make food for myself instead of going out
Chef's Assistant (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 26, 2013
It's a flexible environment where the chefs are amazing. And while assisting them, you're able to learn a great deal of skills like knife skills, which foods, spices, and herbs go together well, and what happens when you don't follow the recipe.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and cool place to work.
Material Handler, Pick/Packer (Former Employee), Brownsburg, INJune 17, 2013
I enjoyed working there. I have nothing else to say. Have a great day!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I have learned!!!
Picker/Packer (Current Employee), Brownsburg, INApril 26, 2013
Pros: i do like that we get a paid lunch and paid holidays and the benefits are really good.
Cons: the management is kind of bad in my opinion.
I have learned alot from working at Sur La Table. It has been my longest job that I have ever been with in my entire life. And basically it's my second family since I am there all the time. By working there for almost four years I have experienced the good and the bad parts of the company. In my department alone I am cross trained in all areas. Picking, – more... packing, consolidation, manifest, and giftwrap. Then in retail I know how to pick and how to consolidate. I am also cross trained in working stock management, ticketing, staging, and qc. In qc(quality control) I have worked covering retail, stock management, staging, ticketing, and cross dock. I always like to get my hours so I always try and learn new things to beable to work there a full day. I also have been the picker trainer for my department for the past three seasons meaning anytime we bring in new people or temps then I am in charge of training them. I also cross train employees in my department into two other departments. Retail and staging. I think that I'm very important person in my department. I am always there and the people are very nice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, great products
Floor Lead, Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 23, 2013
Pros: great people, great customers, great products
Cons: little autonomy
I worked for this company during a time of transition. They were in the process of moving from being a small privately owned boutique chain to a large national brand.
Generally speaking, this was a very fun place to work. The job involved selling beautiful products to a customer base that was very motivated to buy them. Not a bad retail job. They also – more... promote from within. But as time went on, fewer and fewer of the decisions were being made at the store level and more were being made by corporate directive. This was frustrating as I along with many of the people I worked with felt very passionate and invested in the company and the products we sold. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like any other retailer but fun products
Store Manager (Current Employee), NYApril 6, 2013
Pros: great discounts, fun innovative products, great customers, cooking classes
Cons: outdated technology and retail data systems, no open door policy, disconnect between stores and corporate, metrics more important than people, nights and weekends
Retail is the same no matter where you go. From small chains to large companies with over 1000 stores, it's all very similar. The communication between stores and upper management and corporate is often one sided. It's fun talking to people about cooking and entertaining, but often hard to meet goals and objectives that can seem unattainable.

The hardest – more... part is inspiring employees to be more focused on meeting and exceeding goals, when most are part time and receive no benefits. Also it's tough having a life outside of work because of the business needs and various blackout periods for time off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Product.
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Portland, ORMarch 7, 2013
I really enjoyed working for Sur La Table.
The manager identified and placed me appropriately to my skill level and talents at that time. I was given more than adequate support from staff and co-workers in training. There was no drama and I was able to renew my retail and loss prevention knowledge and skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work for people who like to cook and entertain
Store Manager (Former Employee), Los Gatos, CAMarch 6, 2013
60% of the job is customer interaction, the other 40% is people development. Ensuring your team is providing the best service possible- the company takes it very seriously. It's still a very small company so expect to speak to executives about your business and store performance on a regular basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique place to shop, HORRIBLE place to work!
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), CaMarch 6, 2013
Pros: competitive pay
Cons: no values, no accountability, harsh and harassing work environment
Take my advise, promote yourself to customer and stay away. For such an immature company, you would be shocked they've been around for over 40 years. This company has zero accountability and have some of the most egotistical and rude management I've ever worked for (and I've been in retail management for 15 years). Not only that, but they seem to only – more... promote those who have a cut-throat attitude and encourage that over developing people. The product assortment is unique, but this company is clearly not committed to development, advancement or values at all. I was berated by my store manager on a daily basis, even on days when one of us was off through calls and text messages. On occasion, I was even subjected to harassment from other store managers over the phone. I tried to bring harsh work conditions and harassment to the attention of district and corporate managers and my reward was a one sentence termination document and the unemployment line. Yes, California is an "at will" state, but retaliation is against the law. Just to make a point, I really am not a bad worker. In fact, I have been with a new company for less than a year and I've already received two promotions based on high performance. Development and recognition are not part of Sur La Table's culture. I vehemently recommend you keep your distance. There are so many better places out there. – less

1 2 3 4

About Sur La Table

In 1972, the first Sur La Table store opened in Seattle’s Pike Place Market. It was a place where serious cooks found a – Read more