Find companies:
Swank Audio Visuals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

Swank Audio Visuals Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Business Center Representative (Former Employee), Washington, DCApril 30, 2014
Fun great work place. Managed the business center of the Washington Court Hotel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer service
Director of Audio Visual Services (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: client interaction & being creative
Cons: long hours & pay
This job is a great for a dynamic customer service and relationship balance that will challenge anyone to improve. You have your hotel partners, client's, and the company.

I learned a lot from my employment by operating my own property. This is like running your own business with upper management support.

You have an Team Leader or Regional VP to – more... support you with partner hotels, client issues, special request, & additional training.

To work in this dynamic atmosphere you have to have great co-workers to work as team. I would say I have worked with some of the best.

The hardest part of the job would be the Job Work/Life Balance. This is a job that requires service 365 days and around the clock.

The most enjoyable part of the job is the constant interaction with business leaders and people from all over the world. You also get to use your creative side to designing custom sets to wow your client's.

If you like to serve, work hard, long hours, with a medium pay this job would be a good fit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company knew how to grow until merger. Management was extremely supportive.
Director (Former Employee), Boston, Chicago, IndianapolisJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: management, hotel relationship, supportive
Cons: merger with psav was the end of swank
Swank supported me through 12 years of loyal work. They knew hiw to create partnerships with hotels and clients. Great review process and compensation. The only bad decision was to merge with PSAV instead of crushing PSAV with their impeccable standards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Audio Visual Technician (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 28, 2013
Good company to work for and great training.
They have all the gear you need.
They flew me to St. Louis for a week of training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exciting and demanding workplace
AV Technician (Former Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 15, 2013
Pros: professional training for entry level workers
Cons: fluctuating hours/schedule for part time workers
Swank A/V (I believe they have since merged with PSAV) is an excellent company which provides training for entry level employees, as well as good benefits. A typical day can vary widely depending on the business needs, but the most common jobs include the setup, operation or teardown of both large scale ballroom A/V events and small breakout rooms. – more... I was trained in all aspects of the A/V industry including audio, video and lighting. Co-workers are in large excellent teammates. This is due to their process of hiring not based on technical skills but customer service and positive, upbeat attitudes. The hardest part of the job can also vary from hard physical labor (moving heavy equipment) to long intense hours (work shifts are dependent on business needs). The reward is seeing large scale events put together and exceeding the clients expectations. Swank is an excellent company for those looking to enter the live Audio Visual industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wow-Where do I start?
Audio Visual Technician (Former Employee), New Orleans, LASeptember 12, 2013
Cons: too many to list
No communication between the sales team and operations. We'd have have to reset rooms several times before it was set right. More times than not, we would have to asked the house men for diagrams of the rooms. The sales team would never give us them. Managers would call me in before my scheduled in time on a daily basis and expect me to stay until my – more... scheduled out time (not getting to leave early for coming in early). We would set rooms the way the sales team wanted at night and the next day when we would come in, the room would look completely different. Management wouldn't find replacements for techs that would call in sick for their shifts, leaving sometimes just one or two techs to set a huge workload. Management would disappear for hours and not be on radio, not giving specific direction on basic tasks. When they would finally show up they would get upset on how little work was done. WTF? Management promised to train me in several areas of AV. It never happened. 80% of the time we wouldn't get a lunch/dinner break. I would usually hit 40 after only working 3 days. Too big of a hotel and not enough staff. You would walk in to a storeroom to get a piece of gear and the case would be empty, or the gear would have no case. Management would rent gear out for personal events and not tell anyone, leaving us scrabbling to locate gear that our clients had ordered. We would end up having to cross-rent gear, when the books said our gear was on property (it wasn't). Management would always bend over backwards to accommodate internal hotel meetings and not put the order in the system, making us scramble before the meeting was supposed to start. I kept accruing vacation, but management would never approve time off. I would look in the system to see how busy we were for a specific date and a month out we wouldn't look busy. I would look at the date a week out and we would be busy. We didn't have price lists for pop up gear that clients wanted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company not many opportunities to develope
Technician - Basic (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 20, 2013
Good Company Not the place for me after three years I have not seen any type of loyalty, there is no desire to put myself a dedicated employee into a better position. This would be the perfect job if they truly cared about their part time employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Level of Professionalism and Customer Service
HRIS Analyst (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 15, 2013
At Swank Audio Visuals, the Human Resources department treats team members as customers. The mission is to provide flawless execution in daily responsibilities and tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very technical and hands on experience customers service oriented and alot of client interaction
Director of Operation (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 12, 2013
Pros: paid lunch break, promoted from within, and proformance incentives.
Cons: long work hours
A typical work day first thing was to make sure that all of the room were set from the prior night for the morning meeting. Making sure that each room had all of the equipment that was ordered and was tested and operating properly. What I learned about the job was how to deal with the customer to managing a team of people. I learned how to build relationship – more... with co-workers to form a good team by treating people with respect. The hardest part about the job is trying to keep a happy client and maintain a good work environment. What I enjoyed most about the job was the end result by delivering a successful show at the end with a satisfied client. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swank is rank
LEAD CAMERA OPERATOR & PRODUCTION COORDINATOR (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAAugust 5, 2013
This place is dust. No longer in existence. They would overwork their employees with little compensation. The best perk was the free food in the back of the hotel hallways.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company To Work For
Employee (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 2, 2013
Competitive salary. Good company values. Low turnover rate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides outstanding Audio Visual Service
Audio Visual Technician (Current Employee), Washington, D.C.July 16, 2013
Pros: great customer service
Cons: a lot of work
The customers truly gets what they pay for. Every aspect of Swank's service is designed to make the customer's audio visual experience a great and positive audio visual experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swank AV was a great company
Assistant Director (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJune 30, 2013
Pros: good benefits, flexible hours
Cons: long hours, not much notice for schedule
It's too bad they merged with PSAV. Swank was a great company that took care of their customers and their employees. You don't see that very often with large companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Company is trash
AV technician (Former Employee), Miami FLMarch 31, 2013
Bad management, not respect for people time, they think your soul below to them, definitely trash company, thank that they are disappearing as an AV company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learning workplace
Lead Audio Visual Technician (Former Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 26, 2013
Their a good company very fair they trained me in advanced audio visual by working with up to date audio visual equipment in all of the different aspects of a/v such as Audio,Video,Lighting and Internet Technology
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
AUDIO VISUAL COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Dallas, TXFebruary 6, 2013
Looong hours, under compensated with no overtime. No time for family or social life...but it pays the bills, if that's all that matters in life to you then go for it!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a great example of how you can advance in this company if you work hard enough.
Audio Visual Sales Manager (Former Employee), Santa Monica, CAJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: company values for customer service.
Cons: my position as a sales manager was eliminated at the hotel i last work at.
Responsible in working closely with hotel Sales Mangers and Conference Managers in assisting with future clients with their audio visual needs.
Secured future business for the next two years, which estimated in revenues of over 15k per year
Responsible in directing a staff of 10 + technicians. Which included training of new employees, overseeing daily – more... routines, meeting and greeting all clients. Attended all pre-con and post con meetings. Responsible for completing all paper work such as purchase orders, ordering equipment, etc. In addition I was responsible for all transfers and maintaining and inventory worth over 2 million.
Scored the highest points out of 7 properties in a Swank contest which consisted of 100% inventory, customer comment cards and daily routines being met, clean and efficient audio visual sets, and cleanest office and equipment wharehouse. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad hotel personel
Event Technology Coordinator (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PADecember 19, 2012
Just a bad job
Very unpleasant people and unhappy faces.
Bad management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Productive Workplace
Marketing/Communications Intern (Former Employee), St. Louis, MONovember 7, 2012
I really enjoyed my time at Swank Audio Visuals. It is a very professional and work-oriented company. The team members and executive staff are among the most professional I have ever worked for or with!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sell your soul to swank AV
Coordinator (Former Employee), Los AngelesOctober 29, 2012
Pros: beginning experiance with av equipment. training
Cons: management. directors. hours. employee favoritism and protection
Bad managmet! They promote people that fall asleep while teching events then promote them. They support people that cause derision among other employees. Then send them off with blessings to other cities. You work in hotels that have no idea about AV. You're forced to wear suits to work. Then climb ladders and hang lights, audio, screens, and projection. – more... I would never go back. I sold my soul once. It will never happen again. – less

Swank Audio Visuals Photos