Find companies:
Swarthmore College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8 reviews

Swarthmore College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intrinsically interesting place of employment
Electronics Instructor (Former Employee), Swarthmore, PAMarch 23, 2014
Pros: educational assistance
Cons: long travel distance
I am currently retired and interested in working in the field of electronics where I can bring my skills to a new marketplace.

Over my lifetime career I have managed students in daily lab skill.

At RCA I rose to a mid level postion at Corporate Staff NYC, and had an office in Washington DC to interface with the FCC.

Travel was the hardest part of – more... the work.

Working on the edge of technology was always the most enjoyable part of the work I did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to improve your IT knowledge.
Information Technology Student Associate (Former Employee), Swarthmore, PAMarch 17, 2014
Working in IT at a small school like Swarthmore, you have to be knowledgeable about a wide range of technologies. You learn a ton on the job, and co-workers are almost always willing to lend a helping hand when tricky tickets come in. The more you put into the job, the more you'll get out of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work at .
Environmental Services (Former Employee), Swarthmore, PAFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: 1 hr lunch break not on campus.
It was a self paced work place that only required supervision on certain tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful campus
Access and Lending Assistant (Former Employee), Swarthmore, PAFebruary 10, 2014
A stunning, beautiful campus environment. Swarthmore students are motivated and inspiring and I really enjoyed working with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware - Highly recommend not applying for this particular department.
Former employee (Current Employee), Media, PAJune 5, 2013
Pros: great benefits (health and retirement);overall the college is a nice place to work
Cons: lack of college administrators to recognize department dysfunction
Department manager adheres to a "Do as I say" not "Do as I do" philosophy, department has a history of rampant turnover and low morale among deans as well as AA's, department has a very poor reputation campus-wide, no campus employees apply for these vacancies, department management is unprofessional and borders on incompetent, highly recommend waiting – more... to apply for positions in other departments that may become available. – less

June 23, 2013

The person who posted this comment must have been referring to the Admissions department. I know several people who have worked in this department over the years and the review is absolutely accurate. I don't know how this department has continued to exist as it is without intervention from the college president.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fostered great environment for academic and personal growth
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Swarthmore, PAApril 10, 2013
Pros: diverse intellectually and socially
Cons: small population
I was a grader and TA who worked alongside the tenured professors in the engineering department to create a peer-guidance program for both academic improvement and time-management skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND GOOD LEARNING PLACE
Lead Cook/Painter (Former Employee), Swarthmore, PAJune 13, 2012
Pros: work for school painting dorm in the summer
Cons: short school year
PROPER FOOD FOR TWENTY HUNDRED PEOPLE,LEARNED HOW TO COOK CO-WORKER WHERE GOOD . THE HARDEST PART OF THE JOB WAS FOOD BROAD WHERE PEOPLE PUT UP RECIPES TO BE MADE. ALSO WAS IN THE MILITARY AT THE SAME TIME