Swarthmore College Employee Reviews in United States

Found 13 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job where I got to watch soccer
Soccer Team Videographer (Former Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAMay 27, 2015
I videotaped the soccer games and got to travel with the team. The only part that was difficult was keeping my hands warm enough when it started to get cold out. But all in all it was a really fun job.
Pros
Lots of soccer
Cons
Gets very cold at the end of the season.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice campus
Environmental Services Crew Leader (Current Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAMay 12, 2015
It is a very nice place to work, I have the freedom of running my crew my way. My co-workers are amazing and do a great job for me
Pros
Gourgous campus
Cons
Not enough time to get major projects done because the campus is so busy all year long
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swarthmore College
Statistical Paleontology Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Swarthmore CollegeNovember 25, 2014
I absolutely love studying computer science and statistics at Swarthmore College. The combination of intellectual rigor and learning as a community are what draw me here. I am currently a Statistical Paleontology Research Assistant and I run the help clinic for our Statistical Methods class.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intrinsically interesting place of employment
Electronics Instructor (Former Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAMarch 23, 2014
I am currently retired and interested in working in the field of electronics where I can bring my skills to a new marketplace.

Over my lifetime career I have managed students in daily lab skill.

At RCA I rose to a mid level postion at Corporate Staff NYC, and had an office in Washington DC to interface with the FCC.

Travel was the hardest part of the work.

Working on the edge of technology was always the most enjoyable part of the work I did.
Pros
educational assistance
Cons
long travel distance
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware - Highly recommend not applying for this particular department.
Former employee (Current Employee) –  Media, PAJune 5, 2013
Department manager adheres to a "Do as I say" not "Do as I do" philosophy, department has a history of rampant turnover and low morale among deans as well as AA's, department has a very poor reputation campus-wide, no campus employees apply for these vacancies, department management is unprofessional and borders on incompetent, highly recommend waiting to apply for positions in other departments that may become available.
Pros
Great benefits (health and retirement);overall the college is a nice place to work
Cons
Lack of college administrators to recognize department dysfunction
Was this review helpful?Yes31No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A real nice campus
Public Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Swarthmore, PANovember 21, 2014
Swarthmore is a enjoyable place to work,but the hardest part of the job is dealing with the office politics. They have a great benefit and Pay. Overall the people are nice and professional and alway willing to help and teach.
Pros
we get paid well
Cons
a bit slow on acting on staff concerns
Was this review helpful?Yes16No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to improve your IT knowledge.
Information Technology Student Associate (Former Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAMarch 17, 2014
Working in IT at a small school like Swarthmore, you have to be knowledgeable about a wide range of technologies. You learn a ton on the job, and co-workers are almost always willing to lend a helping hand when tricky tickets come in. The more you put into the job, the more you'll get out of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fostered great environment for academic and personal growth
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAApril 10, 2013
I was a grader and TA who worked alongside the tenured professors in the engineering department to create a peer-guidance program for both academic improvement and time-management skills.
Pros
diverse intellectually and socially
Cons
small population
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good learning place
Lead Cook/Painter (Former Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAJune 13, 2012
Proper food for twenty hundred people,learned how to cook co-worker where good . The hardest part of the job was food broad where people put up recipes to be made. Also was in the military at the same time
Pros
work for school painting dorm in the summer
Cons
short school year
Was this review helpful?Yes4No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful campus
Access and Lending Assistant (Former Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAFebruary 10, 2014
A stunning, beautiful campus environment. Swarthmore students are motivated and inspiring and I really enjoyed working with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Coach (Former Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAJuly 31, 2014
Great people
Top level higher learning institution
Diverse campus and community
Always at the forefront of political issues
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work at .
Environmental Services (Former Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAFebruary 19, 2014
It was a self paced work place that only required supervision on certain tasks.
Pros
1 hr lunch break not on campus.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No5

See more Swarthmore College reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8

Swarthmore College Reviews by Location