Swedish Medical Center Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and provide security and benefits
HR Administrative Support (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAAugust 5, 2017
I only work for temp employee with this company but I can see the typical day at work can be variable with any type the job that everyone work into it. I learned so far only what I supposed to do during the assignment but I like the work culture that can create positive environment for the employee to do their job well. I don't see any the hardest part of the job yet with this company but every job has their own uniqueness and I am pretty sure everyone will enjoy it once they can work it properly and well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hospital, bad corporation
CNC Charge RN (Current Employee) –  Englewood, COAugust 2, 2017
great place to work until HCA took them over. A lot of cuts being made in every department. Otherwise a great place to work. Awesome Doctors and nursing make the place that is is. Good location in south Denver area.
Pros
great co workers, excellent doctors and nurses, professional
Cons
compensation, staffing shortages, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Charge Nurse/Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Englewood, COAugust 1, 2017
I have enjoyed my career at Swedish. They are supportive in job advancement. The staffing is a challenge at times but it seems like management is actively trying to remedy this
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
-Charge nurse/Staff nurse (Former Employee) –  Issaquah, WA 98029July 26, 2017
Nice place to work, I worked only one year in the hospital, but I had a good experience. Co-workers were very helpful. very high-technique hospital.When I worked there, there was issue with management to make some confusion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits and pay.
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJuly 20, 2017
Good benefits package and good pay based on experience. The most enjoyable part of this job was meeting patients from all over the world and being able to help them through a challenging moment in their life. Chronic core staff vacancies meant per diem nurses and float nurses were routinely part of your team and this made it difficult to build trust with core staff.
Pros
Good benefits, good pay, parking garage.
Cons
Staffing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swedsih is not competitive with RN salaries
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Englewood, COJuly 20, 2017
Too many managers and not enough floor staff. Floor RN and CNA's
are overworked and the managers spend all day in meetings when they could be helping on the floor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Phlebotomist/Radiology Rep (Former Employee) –  Englewood, COMay 15, 2017
great place to work, very clean, staff friendly, cafeteria food is moderate. Great place to work and the people that work there are friendly and work very hard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager will ignore your important e-mails
Healthcare Intern (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 15, 2017
My volunteer internship with Swedish was a great disappointment. The manager practically ignored my e-mails after I had graduated the program. She told me she mailed me a letter of completion for the program, however I did not receive it. I e-mailed her twice about this, but since then gave up since she clearly doesn't care to respond.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work overall
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Issaquah, WAMay 12, 2017
Flexible place to work in terms of floating to different units. They are honest and upfront with you. They keep you extremely busy due to the consistent fluctuations in patient load. This makes for good job security. They are unionized so wages and benefits are all given on a standardized even scale.
Pros
They provide ample on the job training
Cons
Parking is great in Issaquah, not so much at the Capitol Hill locations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and excellent learning opportunity
Surgery and Procedures Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 10, 2017
I volunteered with Swedish in the Surgical Procedures Admissions Unit. I made beds, took patients back to their beds, and asked them basic questions such as; when had they last eaten, drank water, etc. It was wonderful to see what a hospital looked like in action, and I had the opportunity to meet some really wonderful staff members!
Pros
One free meal per shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor pay
Critical Care Float Pool RN (Former Employee) –  Englewood, COApril 10, 2017
They're the number one money making hospital in all of CO for a reason. they pay their bedside employees considerably less than other hospitals. Assignments on some of the floors could be considered dangerous.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like helping peoplw
Patient Transporter, Patient Assistant (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 8, 2017
I liked working in a medical environment because I was able to contribute to the patients care. The people I worked with were caring and intelligent.
Pros
Helping people
Cons
Sickness
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always learn new things everyday.
Charge Nurse (Former Employee) –  Englewood, COApril 6, 2017
Great place to work for. I really enjoy the challenges it presents everyday, because every day is always different. Great team of Physicians and Nurses
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kind nurses and doctors
RN (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 25, 2017
I worked at this location for 16 years. over the years a lot of changes happened to the hospital. We were bought out by providence and the morale dropped considerably
Pros
good space; good ergonomics; fabulous surgeries
Cons
management; punitive environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Staff RN (Current Employee) –  Ambulatory Infusion CenterMarch 22, 2017
Great environment to work as RN. Lots of opportunity for advancement and great support from management in developing great work environment. Management support staff in ongoing training and development,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place , they dont treat employes with respect
insurance rep II (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 20, 2017
swedish medical center, is not gooa place to work as they dont vlaue the employes here at all.. favoriteism is huge here. if the head boss dont like you good luck
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work that will give you many learning experiences.
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 16, 2017
It is a very hard but rewarding job. Management does a great job trying to support you in your needs, however it is not easy to get time off (comes with territory of being a newer employee). The environment is nice as long as you're able to stay on top of time management. Employees are very dedicated and willing to help when needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to learn and gain skills
Emergency Department Technician (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 14, 2017
we work hard to care for patients but there just isn't staff.

I learned that you do your best and make the most of what you got. you do your work, but most importantly take care of the patients the best you can.

Management- there is still a lot of work to accomplish. there seems to be a lot of gap communication between employee and administration/management.

workplace culture- a diverse atmosphere to work in.

hardest part of the job- patient ratio. sometimes as a nac you are by yourself on the floor with 16 patients +

the most enjoyable part of the job- to be able to see a patient progress and to see them improve day by day. To have coworkers be able to help and work as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and cares about volunteers & employees
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Englewood, COMarch 13, 2017
- Assisted program participants with age-related cognitive impairments
- Organized events and meetings for upper management, designed agendas
- Acted as patient liaison
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place with lots of diversity in the workplace
Patient Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 11, 2017
I appreciate the diversity of people who have worked at Swedish. Overall is is a great place to work. Would love to see workloads more balanced so they can retain staff.
Pros
Employee discounts
Cons
Employee week lunches could use some improvements
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Swedish Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 155 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.1
Culture
3.5