Sweetbay Supermarket Employee Reviews

Showing all 91 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interesting place to work.
Baker (Former Employee) –  Punta Gorda, FLJuly 2, 2014
I would bake, package, and label cookies and bread to be sold to the populace. Clean the work area and floors at the end of the day. Slice deli meat and cheese to be used for sandwiches and to be sold to customers. Cleaned and sharpen the slicers. Unload the delivery trucks and organize the fridge.

I learned that in a supermarket setting, the bakery does not do any actual baking. They get pretty much everything frozen. When things don't sell, they donate it.

Management was very helpful and kind. They treated everyone with respect.

My co-workers were very nice as well. Some of us hung out only for a little bit outside of work. We got along surprisingly well.

The hardest part of the job was dealing with the very troublesome customers.

The most enjoyable part was the people who had a very good sense of humor and actually brightened up my day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided customers service at the customer service counter, such as lotto, western union, money orders etc.
Bookeeping asst (Former Employee) –  South pasedena, FlJune 27, 2014
Working at the customer service counter I also would make deposits at the end of the day, count out cashiers tills, balance the safe and scratch off tickets.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
grocery associate
grocery associate (Former Employee) –  Bonita Springs, FLMay 20, 2014
was hired to work in natures place...an area of passion I have for natural and organic food. I worked in HBA and ran a register when things got real busy in the store. was cross trained in produce and in wrapping meat.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Zephyrhills, FLMay 18, 2014
Standing on your feet all day, short breaks, bad management, rude customers.
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job
Cashier/Customer Service Leader (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLApril 25, 2014
I worked for Sweetbay Supermarkets from August of 2010 to February of 2013 where i was layed off.
Pros
fun
Cons
layed off
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Assistant Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLApril 22, 2014
Sweetbay was my very first job. I worked there 6 years and within the six years I seen a lot of face. I also got to know a lot of those faces. Great place to work if you love fast paced customer service jobs. Don't mess up though, they typically let you go after the first mess up.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Plant City, FLMarch 14, 2014
Was my first job and i liked it for the most part. except for the fact that they always sent the black kid with dreads out to get the buggies.
Pros
friendly costumers
Cons
felt kind of picked on for the un-liked duties.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, poor career
Stock Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLFebruary 20, 2014
Good company.Hard to move up in the company. Mediocre benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Team Work,
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLFebruary 7, 2014
It a very good place to work, organize, team work, respect for people, special attention with the customers, opportunity to grow,
Pros
opportunity of growing
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun productive customer service driven environment
Retail Store Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLFebruary 3, 2014
huddles/ meetings
training
retail sales
inventory

corner stone of the community, great environment, room for growth and advancement

hardest part of the job was working nights till 11pm or 12am, holidays and weekends
Pros
great benefits
Cons
nights weekend and holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sweetbay
Deli/Bakery Associate (Former Employee) –  Lithia, FLJanuary 23, 2014
overall a good job for someone who was in highschool. had alot of duties.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 19, 2014
i enjoyed my time working there in different positions. fun environment. opportunities of growth
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start in the retail business
Center Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Naples, FLJanuary 8, 2014
I have worked for sweetbay for 4 years. I enjoyed my time here. They are very flexible whenever i need time off. The employees are nice everywhere I go (ive worked at 4 stores). Management is very hands on.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what i learned
Front End Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dunedin, FLDecember 22, 2013
I learn how use register ,most enjoyable part of job, when they need me
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a decent place to work, with very flexible hours. Management could do better though.
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Ocala, FLDecember 19, 2013
I enjoy the people i work with and the overall feel around me, but my managers forget my breaks on a daily basis.
Pros
flexible hours, good atmosphere
Cons
forgetful management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great culture; company being acquired
Corporate Communications Director (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FlNovember 14, 2013
Great company, however, company is being acquired by regional grocer.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positive environment, a store that strive hard to excel in customer satisfaction
Produce Associate / Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Valrico, FLNovember 7, 2013
I was an associate in the produce department who is in charge of receiving deliveries and stocking into their designated shelves. On busy days, I helped the cashiers bag groceries and stock the freezer. I get along well with everyone I work with and vice versa. I enjoyed helping customers. The hardest part of the job is missing dinner with family on holidays like Thanksgiving and Christmas and having very little pay and no room for advancement. However, the company was very accommodating with my schedule when I was attending school and that helped a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Venice, FLNovember 6, 2013
I really loved working at my store, we had great customers and the employees and managers got along well. This job taught me a lot about retail, and how to interact with customers in a positive way.
Pros
nice work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sweetbay has been a very good company to work for.
District Manager (Current Employee) –  Venice , Fort Myers, Naples FLOctober 30, 2013
Sweetbay has been a very good company to work for, however, Sweetbay is current under a purchase agreement by Bi-Lo Holdings and will soon be retired as a DG Banner.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a Job
Customer Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLOctober 25, 2013
If you need a job, they are always hiring, it's quick money and you get paid every week, but the company was just bought by bi-lo so they will become Winn-Dixie sometime between January and March 2014.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 91 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture