Find companies:
Swift Transportation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
532 reviews

Swift Transportation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
drove 48 states and mentored students
Class A heavy commercial vehicle operator (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZApril 16, 2014
Pros: wide open spaces
Cons: compensation was equal to national standards
The company was a large fleet and turnover was an issue. I even was bumped in the company lot by a student in another truck doing an inspection on my truck
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flatbed driver
Commercial truck Driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZApril 14, 2014
Pros: good starter company for the entry driver
Cons: low low pay at the begining.
SWIFT is great for the entry level driver. The pay is bad at first but scales up nice at the end.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Commercial Truck Driver (Current Employee), Menasha, WIApril 12, 2014
Fun to work at, training company. People are very nice but I have to find a local job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the happiest place on earth
OTR driver (Former Employee), waApril 10, 2014
Swift will take u fresh out of drivers school but they consider you as just another number in there vast fleet of trucks and drivers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't stay too long here.
Driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZApril 9, 2014
Pros: dedicated fleets
Cons: everything else
Management is terrible at most terminals. Got lied to quite a bit from them about loads. Miles were mediocre. Only time i made good money was on a dedicated fleet. DON'T go into the owner division. Just get your driving experience and get out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job
Tractor Trailer Driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZApril 9, 2014
did delivers all over the east cost had fun doing it.it was a fun job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CDL Driver
Driver (Former Employee), Swift transportationApril 4, 2014
Pros: seeing the country
Cons: being away from home for long periods of time
Over the road driver Transported, Delivered and picked up merchandize in a timely manner Maintained a log book of the driving activities to ensure compliance of Department of Transportation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
constantly pushing you to do more loads even though it puts you in D.O.T. violation
Driver (Former Employee), Manteno, ILApril 2, 2014
Demands to much for little pay. starting pat is .25 cents per mile
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Driver (Former Employee), Orlando, FLApril 2, 2014
I transported freight throughout the USA in a safe and timely manner.
I learned a lot of different routes.
A good management team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starting Out
Over-the-road, truck driver (Former Employee), Denver, COMarch 30, 2014
Swift was a good starting out company with very good teachers that make sure you know everything needed and after you get out the drivers for the most part are helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY LOW PAYING COMPANY
TEAM DRIVER (Former Employee), PHX AZMarch 27, 2014
GOOD PLACE TO TRAIN BUT NOT SUSTAIN A CAREER. THEY HAVE A SENSE OF URGENCY FOR GETTING THE JOB DONE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel,and fun if like traveling.
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 24, 2014
Pros: rise every 6 month of 0.2 cent
Cons: no cons
Here you must be on time with pickups and delivers. D.O.T. Department of Transportation guide lines a required. Now Air-Brakes, hook and unhook of 53" trailers, electronics and paper logs, inspections on entire truck.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
papa murphy's
Truck Driver (Former Employee), grandisland neMarch 23, 2014
working here i learnd valuse fast working staying on top doing the best that i can .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was dissapointed how they ran .
Over the road driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZ, will relocateMarch 22, 2014
Communication with drivers and routing miles that a person could make a good living, not the greatest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job right there
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 21, 2014
Pros: traveling
Cons: fired
Fulltime rotating shifts on the road most of the time
everything
Management- ok
Co-workers- hardly on your own
Hardest Part- Got Fired!
Enjoyable- seeing the Country!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 20, 2014
ok place to work and learned lots of the country, co-workers were great to work with buta bit more down time than you want since you need to be there in the yard waiting for jobs or runs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
mechanic (Former Employee), Inver Grove Heights, MNMarch 19, 2014
fun place to work, good management fndsfnsdhflsdhflsdhfildsnifodkfdsfhsdlhfsdfosfljksdfhjofwerof
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better then expected
CDL A Truck Driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 18, 2014
Pros: cheap health insurance and available after only 30 days.
Cons: home time maybe??
Heard about all kinds of problems I would experience if I worked for them. None of it turned out to be true. Seemed like an average OTR company. I quit only because I got tired of being out 2 weeks at a time. Wanted more home time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero Stars
Personal Assistant - Volunteer (Former Employee), Lathrop, CAMarch 18, 2014
Pros: swift has pros? huh. that's news to me.
Cons: see below.
I obtained my CDL through Swift Transportation, and after a poor and highly unprofessional experience with three separate mentors, I left the company to go to another major carrier. Fast forward to 2014. I decided to ride along as a passenger for a while to help my husband-a brand new driver with no experience-out during his first winter, and what I – more... saw him go through with Swift was deplorable! They never kept their word about getting him home when he was supposed to be, not even close as in within a few days of his request. He got NO pay between December and when they terminated him four months later. Yes he took a weekly advance, but he was running, and should have been seeing a check! I was right there with him, I saw how poorly they treated him, and when I helped him, rather than him having to wait four hours for on-road, the Lathrop terminal raised nine kinds of hell. If you drive for Swift, avoid the terminal in Lathrop, CA like the plague! Two words. WITCH HUNT! Lathrop has a BAD reputation, and doesn't care if your food spoils if you have an ice based cooler. Have an iceless cooler or a propane stove? Don't let Swift find out. The guys in the shop will tell you to trash it, or clean out your truck. This company does NOT care if you starve. Their attitude is it's not their problem. They expect you to live on fast food, truckstop food, and to afford all this on $.28 cpm or less. It's insane, and if you work for Swift at all, I suggest getting your two years, and leaving.

Also, I was a personal assistant to the driver, my husband, and was not an employee of Swift in 2014, but I was an employee in 2001. Regardless, I wouldn't recommend them to anyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not work here
Trailer mechanic (Current Employee), Mira Loma, CAMarch 17, 2014
under paid over worked
i have nothing else to say about this company

1 2 3 4 5

About Swift Transportation

Swift Corporation is a truckload carrier that operates a fleet of truckload carrier equipment.

Swift Transportation Photos