Swift Transportation Employee Reviews

Found 1,456 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
System
Tractor Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, TXJune 21, 2017
I learned several different troubleshooting systems. I also learned how to work on different trucks. The pay is fair, but could be a little more then what it is.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Diesel Technician (Current Employee) –  United StatesJune 21, 2017
overall good place to work and learn, helps improve your skills as a diesel tech, co-workers are willing to help out, everyone works as a team to get equipment turned over fast and ready to roll
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours behind the wheel.
OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJune 19, 2017
This job is the single people. Long distances with lots of days builtin and little home time. Management requires a lot out of the driver. You got to live in a shoe box
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Jurupa, CAJune 19, 2017
though I didn't like the lifestyle. I enjoyed the job.
sometimes hard to get in tough with management by phone.
learned to work by myself. hardest part of job is lifestyle.
best part is the driving and maneuvering vehicle around.
Pros
good benefits. great support system
Cons
lifestyle, long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Greer, SC 29651June 19, 2017
swift transportation is ok but they do not get u home all the time.And they could work on management.thier dispatchers are very ruid and do not car about you.all I can say is if u want to be lid to go to swift
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of dispatch to assist
Driver (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 18, 2017
night and weekend dispatch is horrible. lack of communication!! would not recommend this company to anyone unless last resort. I will say that they are more than willing to hire new drivers but they allow drivers with little to no experience to train
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was Just a number to company
Comercial Driver (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJune 18, 2017
Swift did not like to pay for work experience. I began to understand that Swift does not want its drivers to think for themselves. Only the drivers given raises where drivers who were completely dependent on driver leaders on how to think.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 17, 2017
Good pay. Long hours out on the road. Great driver leaders and planners. Good terminals throughout the United States. Helpful services if truck breaks down.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An alright place to work
Trailer Mechanic/Thermo king tech (Current Employee) –  Winter Haven, FLJune 16, 2017
Swift is an alright place to work, they can't seem to get my money right but they did pay for me to get Thermo King certified. I do have job security there but the advancement is a little different.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swift Is horrible
Over The Road Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 16, 2017
Never get home time its very impersonal and they put me in a truck with bed bugs from the previous driver and i had to throw my clothes away and sit out in Ohio for 3 days without getting paid and no way to get around to get food or new clothes and and I Still haven't been reimbursed for my clothes
Pros
Training
Cons
Everything Else
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adventurous
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Ocala, FLJune 16, 2017
Exciting job got to see the country and meet different people was a really great experience in itself learned a lot about truck driving.the only downside was not enough home time.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Hardly any hometime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swift Transportation
On-Site Driver Manager II (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ 85043June 15, 2017
I loved Swift Transportation and would go back when I am ready to. Most of there management is great and the people you work with are lively for the most part.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was forced to drive
Professional Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 15, 2017
I got out the army got divorced. Army put me out in a crazy manner and was give really no options. I had a general under honorable conditions. When I got out I got divorced had to stay with my mom for a few months also to visit. No public transportation in that small country town no jobs and did not want to go back into military life. Truck driving was just a boost to being independent again and decided it was not for me.
Pros
own schedule
Cons
lonely, low pay, makes you lazy, not healthy
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
trucking is the business
Driver (Former Employee) –  Macclenny, FLJune 14, 2017
here you will just have to go there and get into the right department or don't sign up at all if you're looking for freedom try another company. Well you want me to give you information I don't have so apply and see for yourself
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 13, 2017
It's a good place to work good loads and a good atmosphere insurance is great driver management are very friendly it's just an all out great place to work good vacation time also
Pros
Great insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is awasome
Trailer Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJune 12, 2017
The people here are great they really wanna work for the company and make everyone a better person. pay is awesome and plenty of room for improvement. great job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good family comapny
Work Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 9, 2017
Swift is one of the largest trucking company. Swift believes in helping their own. They provide training courses in all area to get an employee familiar with company rules procedures. The people i work with in work comp performed their duties in a respectful.
Pros
friendly atmosphere
Cons
helping their employee
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Company Driver - Solo - OTR (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 8, 2017
The beginning is pretty rough they train you for about a month to get your CDL. If you don't already have one then.Then put you on the road with a mentor for about a month. Once that's over upgrade to solo or team. its pretty rough being OTR Driver at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
OTR Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Sparks, NVJune 6, 2017
Good Company to work for. Swift does a good job of training new drivers for life on the road, company policy compliance and DOT compliance. Lots of health plan option and 401k.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Driver (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 6, 2017
Driver manger was disrespectful, first day I met him, he left a bad impression. starting off they give you a truck thats not that great....I had to pick up my truck that was abandoned
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Swift Transportation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 1,494 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.0

Swift Transportation Reviews by Location