Swift Transportation Employee Reviews

Found 1,460 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Started Job
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 24, 2017
Great company to start a career. OTR with plenty of loads once you've been there past 6 months. Great pay and benefits. Great job to have if your single with no kids.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Dispatch/ Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Jurupa, CAJune 23, 2017
Swift is an awesome place to learn grow and excel. Very friendly and family oriented team members. Working for Swift was very rewarding. If you have no experience Swift is the place to be they will give you a chance and train you to be the greatest team player.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent place to start
Master truck technician (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 23, 2017
When I started with Swift things were a lot different than they are now. Now it seems like all management cares about is numbers. They are less worried about quality repairs. As with anywhere else management have favorites. They are constantly breathing down your neck with questions like "What are you doing right now" when you're obviously turning a wrench on a truck. Expectations are always changing so be prepared to be told you are doing something wrong constantly. Upper management steps over shop managers and foreman. Don't be surprised if upper management comes out in the shop and starts giving orders.
Pros
Pay, Schedule, Training
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OTR Driver
CDL Class A Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 22, 2017
Job was pretty easy for me I would say.
Being able to drive long distances for a long period of time
I was usually away for about 3 weeks then come back home for 3 to 4 days then back out again
OTR trucking is not only a job but it is a lifestyle.
You do get to see a lot of the countryside and that was one thing that I did enjoy. Being in different environments
Pros
Paid to travel
Cons
pay, lack of being home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
System
Tractor Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, TXJune 21, 2017
I learned several different troubleshooting systems. I also learned how to work on different trucks. The pay is fair, but could be a little more then what it is.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Diesel Technician (Current Employee) –  United StatesJune 21, 2017
overall good place to work and learn, helps improve your skills as a diesel tech, co-workers are willing to help out, everyone works as a team to get equipment turned over fast and ready to roll
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours behind the wheel.
OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJune 19, 2017
This job is the single people. Long distances with lots of days builtin and little home time. Management requires a lot out of the driver. You got to live in a shoe box
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Jurupa, CAJune 19, 2017
though I didn't like the lifestyle. I enjoyed the job.
sometimes hard to get in tough with management by phone.
learned to work by myself. hardest part of job is lifestyle.
best part is the driving and maneuvering vehicle around.
Pros
good benefits. great support system
Cons
lifestyle, long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Greer, SC 29651June 19, 2017
swift transportation is ok but they do not get u home all the time.And they could work on management.thier dispatchers are very ruid and do not car about you.all I can say is if u want to be lid to go to swift
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of dispatch to assist
Driver (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 18, 2017
night and weekend dispatch is horrible. lack of communication!! would not recommend this company to anyone unless last resort. I will say that they are more than willing to hire new drivers but they allow drivers with little to no experience to train
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was Just a number to company
Comercial Driver (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJune 18, 2017
Swift did not like to pay for work experience. I began to understand that Swift does not want its drivers to think for themselves. Only the drivers given raises where drivers who were completely dependent on driver leaders on how to think.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 17, 2017
Good pay. Long hours out on the road. Great driver leaders and planners. Good terminals throughout the United States. Helpful services if truck breaks down.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An alright place to work
Trailer Mechanic/Thermo king tech (Current Employee) –  Winter Haven, FLJune 16, 2017
Swift is an alright place to work, they can't seem to get my money right but they did pay for me to get Thermo King certified. I do have job security there but the advancement is a little different.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swift Is horrible
Over The Road Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 16, 2017
Never get home time its very impersonal and they put me in a truck with bed bugs from the previous driver and i had to throw my clothes away and sit out in Ohio for 3 days without getting paid and no way to get around to get food or new clothes and and I Still haven't been reimbursed for my clothes
Pros
Training
Cons
Everything Else
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adventurous
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Ocala, FLJune 16, 2017
Exciting job got to see the country and meet different people was a really great experience in itself learned a lot about truck driving.the only downside was not enough home time.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Hardly any hometime
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swift Transportation
On-Site Driver Manager II (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ 85043June 15, 2017
I loved Swift Transportation and would go back when I am ready to. Most of there management is great and the people you work with are lively for the most part.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was forced to drive
Professional Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 15, 2017
I got out the army got divorced. Army put me out in a crazy manner and was give really no options. I had a general under honorable conditions. When I got out I got divorced had to stay with my mom for a few months also to visit. No public transportation in that small country town no jobs and did not want to go back into military life. Truck driving was just a boost to being independent again and decided it was not for me.
Pros
own schedule
Cons
lonely, low pay, makes you lazy, not healthy
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
trucking is the business
Driver (Former Employee) –  Macclenny, FLJune 14, 2017
here you will just have to go there and get into the right department or don't sign up at all if you're looking for freedom try another company. Well you want me to give you information I don't have so apply and see for yourself
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 13, 2017
It's a good place to work good loads and a good atmosphere insurance is great driver management are very friendly it's just an all out great place to work good vacation time also
Pros
Great insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is awasome
Trailer Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJune 12, 2017
The people here are great they really wanna work for the company and make everyone a better person. pay is awesome and plenty of room for improvement. great job
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Swift Transportation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 1,499 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.0

CEO Approval

68%
456 ratings
Add your rating

Swift Transportation Reviews by Location