Find companies:
Swift Transportation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
635 reviews

Swift Transportation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good flat bed experience
over the road truck driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: enjoyed driving flat bed
Cons: not enough home time
had a great co-driver. visited the US, all 48 states. good flat bed driving experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
OTR Driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: good treatment of employees
Cons: need to be home every night for my daughter. im a single father.
Great people, family atmosphere. Swift has one of the best Trucking schools in the industry. They are truly best in class.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going from state to state.
Semi Truck Driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 7, 2014
Seeing the US is great.
A lot of quiet time.
Always on the go.
You get to go home twice a month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated run with a Fun group of people to be around, love the up and back getting home every night.
Truck Driver (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: local type run and home 99% of the time every night
Cons: increased traffic, longer days with less pay compensation
My typical day starts off by getting to the DC where my truck and that days load is at. I start my day by checking into the DC dispatch office to get a copy of that days BOL for the load and then head over to my truck. Once at my truck I do A pre trip inspection on the Tractor/Truck and then bobtail over to the out bound row where I hook to and pre – more... trip the trailer I will be transporting up to western washington for delivery with the stores needed merchandise. On the way out I usually pass other co-workers on their way out and throw out a waving hand has for there is about 15-20 of us that leave around the same time in the morning.
My trip up to western washington starts and I then head out to I-5. Every other day has a stop on the start of the day on the way up to fuel up the truck, put on DEF (if needed) and scanning paperwork to insure that it is received in a timely manor. The hardest part of my day is probably dealing with heavy traffic in the high volume areas of the cities that I travel through both up and back through. The best part of the days is getting back at the end of the day safely and completing both the task of delivering the morning and returning with the goods necessary to the DC's in bound inventory. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Fontana, CASeptember 5, 2014
I enjoyed working there and have only good things to say about this company and the management personnel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Qualcom, long days 6 days a week
Dedicated Driver for Walmart (Former Employee), Los Lunas, NMSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: qualcom insures downtime
Cons: long hours each day
6 days a week, with long days and no weekends off. Sleep in the truck often, home time very limited.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Truck Driver (Current Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: great oppritunity to see the country
Cons: a lot of time away from home
A typical day of work consist of performing preventive maintenance to equipment. Communicate with driver leaders and vendor to set up pickup and delivery schedules. Plan your route and safely transport freight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OTR truck driver
OTR truck driver (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 29, 2014
Pros: travel seeing the country
Cons: low pay long hours
Over the Road truck Driver truck driver and all that it entails.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment not concerned with drivers needs
OTR Truck Driver (Current Employee), Troutdale, ORAugust 28, 2014
Pros: health insurance
Cons: not enough home time
Typically in a days work I receive my assignment between 6-8 AM each day, never know ahead of that time what my destination will be. Sometimes have to wait for longer period 12-24 hrs for a load. Some days short runs 34 miles, 200 miles which end up taking up all my driving hrs because of delivery times and traffic.
Management seems unconcerned with – more... drivers needs for time for Dr. appointments and home time.
Co-workers seem to have the same problems.
Hardest part of the job taking care of health and finding healthy food on the road.
Most enjoyable part of the job, I love to drive, enjoy doing my job well at all times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
ECOT (Former Employee), Laredo, TXAugust 27, 2014
I loved working there.

It was fun and a place where you could meet a lot of different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was work nothing more
Over the Road Truck Driver (Former Employee), New Boston, MIAugust 25, 2014
Pros: no
Cons: standard dot breaks
It was a learning experience, I Don't Have anything else to say about this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
need something new
Driver (Current Employee), Monroe GaAugust 25, 2014
long driving, and don't know what time you coming to work. You only get one day off work. The hardest part is being away from your family and don't have time to get anything done
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough work and pay system terrible
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Lathrop, CAAugust 23, 2014
Pros: saw a lot of states
Cons: pay unfair and working conditions terrible
drove truck with helper, not friendly
long hrs of interstate driving
had to pay for gas never new how much I would get at the end of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work with
Driver/Heavy Haul Division Representative (Former Employee), Lancaster, TXAugust 20, 2014
Pros: they take care of there drivers
Cons: working in all types of weather
was able to pick hours work
communication was key to work here
great driver management
co works were good
working all types of weather
very easy to work with when needed time off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay but few opportunities to enjoy it
Company OTR Driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 19, 2014
Pros: great pay, easy work, excellent view
Cons: very little home time, poor assistance
once you've received your next load you begin planning your trip and
depending on your hours left as well as time frame to your final destination, you either accept or reject the load then you proceed to the receiving location after connecting the trailer and inspecting that it's secure you acquire your paperwork and start driving to your destination. – more... Once there you drop the trailer where the guards tell you and go to the receiving desk to have your paperwork filled out afterwards you go to a scanner either at the terminals or a truck stop and scan your documents for pay confirmation. Typically you receive anywhere from 4-7 loads a week at around 250-550 miles per load for solo drivers and 3-5 loads at 1200-2700 miles for team drivers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i didnt care for this work
Truck driver (Former Employee), Grandview, WAAugust 18, 2014
Cons: lousy pay, 14 hr days
lousy pay, 14 hour work days. i needed a job and chose truck driving. i did it for almost a year and i didnt like it. i am sure that if someone likes truck driving that swift is a good place to work. i got lousy pay and had to work 14 hr days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for beginners, but pay attention
CDL Class A Driver (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 18, 2014
Pros: thorough training
Cons: low pay, slow trucks
Their training program is very thorough. The dispatches in the dry box department can be chaotic and poorly planned. Make sure to use common sense and do hesitate to ask questions. The pay is low, and the trucks are slow. Office staff (dispatchers) seems to be disengaged from the drivers not knowing what a map looks like so dispatches do not make sense – more... at times. But it is experience and they do get you behind the wheel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work experience
Owner Operator Recruiter (Former Employee), Fontana, CAAugust 16, 2014
Pros: good co workers to help you succeed
Cons: no loyalty
A good company to work for but you will be run over if your not being productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i LEARNED ON MY OWN
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Lancaster, TXAugust 14, 2014
Pros: i got to drive
Cons: the pay
I WAS NOT THOUGHT THEY BEST WAY POSSIBLE. THEY DID GIVE ME IN OPPORTUNITY BY I MOSTLY LEARNED ON MY OWN TO DRIVE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
graet place to work with possivle advansment
production (Former Employee), Marshalltown, IAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Work as a team to maximize productivity and efficiency.
Capable of working in stressful situations in times of need.
Willing to work in an environment where producing high volume output is the key.
Willing to work long hours as needed.
Follow OSHA’S safety guidelines.

1 2 3 4 5

About Swift Transportation

Swift Corporation is a truckload carrier that operates a fleet of truckload carrier equipment.

Swift Transportation Photos