Swift Transportation Employee Reviews

Found 1,174 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start up company
Professional Over the Road Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZDecember 3, 2016
if you're a new driver this place can be for you. I just finished my year and am looking for work elsewhere. I learned everything necessary to move forward with this type of career. if you love working alone and challenge yourself daily this is for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
training company
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Martinsburg, WVDecember 2, 2016
not a bad company to start your cdl career off at.pa is not bad at all for a beginner driver.they keep moving pretty good,you can make decent money by keeping the wheel turning
Pros
see all over the country
Cons
not home much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivering from Walmart DC to Walmart stores
Local Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Robert, LADecember 2, 2016
No set schedule Hard to have family life. Work dominates life. friendly co workers. Mostly work nights. Avg day 12 to 14 hrs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for beginners with NO FAMILY
Company OTR Driver (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXDecember 1, 2016
I love working for Swift. They are great with getting you loads. They are also great with getting you home time when you REQUEST it. Management is okay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard life.
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  West Valley City, UTNovember 28, 2016
its a hard life, protect yourself if you going to work for swift, they wont throw you down... But if you fall under the bus they will run you over.
Pros
they take just about anyone
Cons
not enough miles
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 25, 2016
Low wages Long hours no respect towards drivers. Need to put drivers first and increase freight and payment. I am not happy at all with their company ethics and priorities.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Driver Leader Level II (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 23, 2016
Very comfortable, able to workout and play basketball on break. Very fun environment and people that want you to advance in the company.
Pros
Gym, advancement
Cons
Very large company
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The supervisor of Jurupa Valley trailer shop tried the employes bad
Trailer Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Mira Loma, CANovember 22, 2016
The coworkers are really helpful , the only bad thing is that the supervisor talk bad to the employ and do not help the worker to success . The supervisor of trailer shop go in the work time to buy food and takes a lot time .
Pros
bad tread
Cons
bad vaccination times
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just another number
OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Denver, CONovember 21, 2016
They didn't treat there employees with respect. They made you feel like you were just another number. The pay wasn't good and you had to be away for four to six weeks at a time with two days off before going back on the road.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh, it's a trucking company
Driver (Former Employee) –  Phenix, ARNovember 21, 2016
What can you say. They have good dispatcher and bad ones. Some drivers like to complain a lot. But I felt they treated me fair.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start your trucking career
CDL Class A Driver (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 20, 2016
They are not committed to retaining drivers. There is a revolving door on hiring. Starting out be prepared for not running a lot of miles. Pay is average compared to industry. The only problem is as they say " if you aren't turning you are not earning". They don't keep you running.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large breakroom with vending machines
Yard Worker/Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 20, 2016
Pick up load papers and trailers and head out to destinations. Allways map out time on the road and arival times. Road conditons were allways changing.. being on the road making drop offs at stores.
Pros
Working alone and making dropp offs.
Cons
Having bad directions from office.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work- and very fast paced love it
Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Greer, SCNovember 18, 2016
Swift was very fast paced and I enjoy that- makes time go by faster.
I would recruit driver in office or travel to truck driving schools
and have presentations- loved that part of my job- meeting new drivers is always great.

My manager was awesome- while working there my sister passed away and he was great during my tough times through loosing her.
loved my co-workers had 2 that helped me when I first started- they knew team work..

the hardest part of my job was getting paid every 2 weeks- It's just me paying the bills so had to make it stretch.

The most enjoyable part was hiring drivers and knowing they had gainful employment.
Pros
Have to say here at Swift traveling was my favorite part
Cons
Getting paid every 2 weeks was hard for me
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee) –  Jurupa, CANovember 18, 2016
Worked on a dollar tree account. Work was very intence. Truck was unloaded by swift drivers with no pallets no forklifts. Trailer was fully loaded and unloaded by hand
Pros
Otr
Cons
Intence labor
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer to work for.
Dedicated Driver (Current Employee) –  Greer, SCNovember 18, 2016
Great company to work for but not many local job opportunities. Swift Transportation is a good reliable employer. Swift have many accounts with customers and companies.
Pros
Very good benefits and dependable employer.
Cons
Most accounts are over the road.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Training
Flatbed Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 17, 2016
I lived in the dorms at Swift in Phoenix, Arizona for 3 weeks & achieved my class A license. Shortly after school was completed I went out on the road with a driver trainer for 6 weeks to complete my over the road training. Issued a Freightliner condo and lived out on the road for a couple of years working for Swift as a flatbed driver.
Pros
Training
Cons
Lonely @ Times
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average At Best
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Rochelle, ILNovember 17, 2016
This company has its ups and downs. Over all it was a job. Why are you making me review this company. Im just filling word count at this moment cause i choose to remain neutral
Pros
Plenty of drive time
Cons
Runs over DOT clock consistantly
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no review did work there to long
Driver (Former Employee) –  Lathrop, CANovember 14, 2016
working weeks away was difficult for me. At first the new employee is assigned a mentor. Each mentor owns there own truck so each have a set of rules in how to operator their truck. As owners , their main goal is to get miles , more miles ran, the more money the mentor makes. The miles that the trainee is running under the mentor goes to him/her.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work
Over The Road Driver (Current Employee) –  Jurupa Valley, CaNovember 14, 2016
They have amazing people working in Phoenix Arizona and Jurupa Valley California. Other terminals are ok. They need more coordination.
Pros
Great opportunities for advancement
Cons
Pay is low
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, KSNovember 14, 2016
If you're not accustomed to life over the road is not for you is hard to be with some one and still be out there for months at a time. It's a good job if you love to travel.
Pros
Good job keeps you running they help you out of you need it
Cons
Gone for months can't always get you home on time
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report