Swift Transportation Employee Reviews

Found 1,417 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good starter company
OTR Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Jurupa, CAApril 28, 2017
I drove a refrigerated truck. Allot of work for no pay. The "armchair safety camera" was stressful. Sometimes I would spend two days looking for a trailer, have to clean it out for no pay. The good side was there was always someone there to talk to. Great place to learn the ropes of trucking.
Pros
Help
Cons
Work for no pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its trucking
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 28, 2017
typical truckers life... its really what you make of it... you will either love life on the road or hate it... a great experience to me... its not easy but if its the life for you live it
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work OTR
CDL Class A Driver (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 28, 2017
Decent entry level transportation company. Easy to work for. New equipment and decent salary. Friendly managers there 24 7. Pay is good providing you stay for sometime.
Pros
good equipment
Cons
not much home time
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Class A CDL Driver (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 27, 2017
The job requires the driver to stay away from home too long before allowed days off. the work to home time ratio does not favor any of the employees at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Trucking company
Receptionist/ Switch Board Operator (Former Employee) –  Greer, SCApril 26, 2017
The terminal in Greer, SC just one of many. Swift is all about helping customers move product. They also have great Driver Managers that are there to help the driver succeed. Great Company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driver leader
OTR Tractor Trailer Driver (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 25, 2017
the driver leaders always had attitudes, they did not listen to us about where we did and did not want to go, they did what they thought was best for us and they were guessing on road conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for beginners
Driver Helper (Former Employee) –  Red Oak, TXApril 25, 2017
They give new drivers a chance at a driving career so thats always a plus to helping people out you learn real quick over there in the couple weeks with a trainer
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 24, 2017
-picking and dropping off loads driving and paper work
-the in and outs of the trucking agency
-they were helpful at times and due to that some didnt drive it was hard to relate to them
-communication was the hardest part of the job
-being able to see the country
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive n fun work place
Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 23, 2017
It was a good job just lack of hours they have great benefits also it was some ungreatful people but I went to do my work I was a great worker I am depebdable
Pros
Great benifits
Cons
Cut of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
knows how to take care of and compensate their employees
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 23, 2017
Swift driver terminals are the best. They are like truck stops but better. They have a great benefits package. They take very good care of their trucks and expect their drivers to do the same
Pros
being able to take out advances on your pay
Cons
being able to take out advances on your pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report

Want to know more about Swift Transportation?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable to work here
Assist in customers w/ loads (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ 85043April 23, 2017
The night shift is very stress free and fun to work people are very
helpful when problem arise and there is a lot of files that have answers that you have questions on to complete your job.
Pros
Shift hours
Cons
Cost of health care
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This workion condition was excellent
Driver (Former Employee) –  Ocala, FLApril 21, 2017
Everyone working over all was able to set their own time. they was no boss behind us since we were our own boss. The very best day of work was when the pay day came.
So many things that I have learned from this job. For instance, the way customer's handle their packages delivery to them ; make it really enjoyable..In addition to many benefits that I received.
Pros
Actually, everything cost a little bite of money but it was worthed to worked it there.
Cons
We had brake every fifteen minutes. When we are at brakes, we were able to relax . Eating was rcomandable for this job, so that you can do the job well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get experience
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Manteno, ILApril 21, 2017
Was a good place to get experience. The management sucks. Be prepared to get screwed over a lot. Get what you need and get out of there asap! Period point blank!
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swift is a great starter company to work for.
ECT Manager (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXApril 21, 2017
The reason I say that Swift was a great starter company to work for is because you have a good chance of advancement. If you work hard you get to slowly know every position there. The educate you through everything so you are confident about the position you're in.
Pros
Great atmosphre
Cons
You have to be there a while for a great salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointed
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Decatur, GAApril 21, 2017
I was in an accident and was stranded in my truck for three days. While on Worker's Comp leave, the company discontinued my insurance. I provided proof that I paid it and they did nothing.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
swift
Driver (Former Employee) –  Rochelle, ILApril 20, 2017
This company in my option is a good one they help you from the bottom up there are a few flaws in there starting program but it is a big company. you just never get to be home
Pros
no body over your sholder 24/7, good money
Cons
away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
adventourous
Tractor Trailer Operator (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTApril 19, 2017
I enjoyed the travel and the equipment was kept in good shape. I saw many places and learned several new skills. I also enjoyed my boss who was willing to work with me on any problem.
Pros
travel
Cons
lack of hometime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to start your truck driving career with!
OTR Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Ontario, CAApril 19, 2017
Awsome company to start a truck driving career with, they train you to get your license give you a job and a opportunity to make money and get your experience
Pros
They will try to keep you rolling the best they can
Cons
The pay is not always worth the time you are away from your loved ones
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New trucks and good people you work with
Diver (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 19, 2017
The only reason for me i did not LIKE for OTR I want to be home
I still work for swift but I'm looking a job that keeps me in the city or around the city
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learing experience
Driver (Former Employee) –  otrApril 19, 2017
i enjoy swift it fast friendly place to work the machine and trucks are and new and are in great conditions, swift gives you the tools and resources needed to succeed.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Swift Transportation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 1,453 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.0

Swift Transportation Reviews by Location