Swinerton Builders Employee Reviews

Showing all 31 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive, Active and fun place to work
Project Administrator (Former Employee) –  600 World Way LAX, Los Angeles CAJanuary 5, 2017
Every day was different, because of the construction life that's how it is and that was amazing. I learned a lot about how buildings and renovations go. The engineers are so amazing. Love all my co-workers, young old, men and women. The hardest part of the job was just trying to maintain the subcontractors with their contracts, business license, Safety license. The most enjoyable part of the job was that I meet a lot of beautiful people who are still friends to this day.
Pros
Free Lunches every Tuesday and Thursday
Cons
Lunche was just 30 minutes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay was great the work was opposite.
Solar Installer (Former Employee) –  Mountain Home, IDJanuary 3, 2017
Work consisted of 10-12 hour days out in the 90-100 degrees. We had short breaks that caused for people to pass out from lack of water. I had to go to the hospital from dehydration and the company's benefits are not acceptable . Overall its a horrible company and they treat there workers not good.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Short breaks, benefits, management, work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swinerton
Carpenter Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CADecember 20, 2016
Great company good leadership
Take great care of employees and family time is always given and never looked down upon
Learn a lot by the best and doing it SAFELY
Pros
Great leadership
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  TexasOctober 26, 2016
The San Antonio office shut down and left lots of people out of work. The did give exiting packages. The local leaders were great, but overall you were a number due to the size of the company.
Pros
none
Cons
Texas was left to drown
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work with
Quality Control Inspector/Foreman (Former Employee) –  Los Banos, CASeptember 21, 2016
Safety needs improvement for new employees but improved as the job continued on as training classes were started and more of a safety culture was established !!
Pros
Nice people to work with
Cons
More Safety focus at beginning of jobs neede
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swinerton Builders has always cared for my future with the company
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HISeptember 10, 2016
I'm constantly learning something new when I'm on the project. Especially from the subcontractors, who I work side by side with on a daily basis. Taking the knowledge you've picked up from being on the field with them or from what you pick up in the office will only help me further my career goals in the construction industry. I would say this is the most enjoyable part of the job, knowing when the day is over I had put in a full day of quality & professional work. Quality is key, you may have production, but if the quality & the passion is not there, then at times it's not worth it. The hardest part of the job is making sure you're always keeping up & growing with the industry.
Pros
Culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A laid back place to work
Receptionist - Main Office (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 17, 2016
This place can be very quite and intense throughout the day. The CEO's are very nice and always come to the office to bring encouragement. The hardest part of the job was miss-communication from co-workers. The most enjoyable were the compliments I received from the CEO's and managers.
Pros
Free Lunches & friday game nights
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place work with the guys in the field
SAFETY MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXMay 26, 2016
The long timers are great to work with and are a blast to be around. The executive committee are great people to work for with a good sense of what's going on all around them. Each division is self sufficient but a working unit of the whole company.
Pros
Family First
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee Owned General Construction and LEED Company
Jobsite Accountant (Current Employee) –  Various JobsitesMarch 2, 2016
Swinerton Builders, a employee owned company, is a most remarkable place to work. I have been in mostly jobsite positions rather than corporate office; but workforce development is the same.

A much attributable review of Swinerton from an employee viewpoint would be most accurately stated in the Corporate Social Responsibility Philosophy. Much has to be said for the company that goes to such lengths to promote such a working lifestyle for the betterment of "giving back" to its employees and communities. Indeed the main safety slogan of Swinerton, "YFNY, Your Family Needs You", reflects immediately how much they believe in a work-life balance which I have yet to see in other like-sized corporations.

Personally in my accounting position I have learned much in team management, network file strategy, and work-life balance. And I have made a lot of friends that will carry with me even after I am no longer working in this culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swinerton needs to place management under some employee sensitivity classes.
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 2, 2015
Management is all I have to say, a lot of promotions are based on favoritism not how well the employee is doing. A lot of very unprofessional choice of words used toward employees. Management will be verbally abusive.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company to work for
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAMay 27, 2015
Swinerton is a good place to get your foot in the door. They offer great benefits, and the workplace is very friendly for the most part. It however lacks in good management. I only recommend working there long enough until you can land a better position somewhere else.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard like business atmosphere
General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMay 18, 2015
Successful concrete pours, good management. Learned how to schedule concrete pours, schedule manpower. Most enjoyable part of the job was no recordable injuries.
Pros
Great 401K program, insurance
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work with good people
PROJECT SUPERINTENDENT (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAMarch 3, 2015
- Supervise the daily construction activities of the assigned project.
- Never take anything for granted or assume its done.
- Competent management
- Competent co-workers
- Staying on top of the problem subcontractors
- arriving for work each day.
Pros
Working with a good team
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great professional place to work.
ACCOUNTING MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Fresno DivisionFebruary 28, 2015
Fresno Division

Managed the Fresno Division Accounting department. They closed the Fresno Office due to economics.

Still friends with my co-workers.

Traveling to supervise my staff.

Learned how to be part of a team.
Pros
ESOP company
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful Job
Cadd Design Technician (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 7, 2014
With my experience and Computer knowledge, I don't fill I use my Microstation and Autocad software to my fullest.
Pros
it was fun working with people
Cons
working late and pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall wonderful place to work. Open communication.
Management (Current Employee) –  TexasJune 20, 2014
Swinerton is a great place to work . Good people and experienced management.
Pros
Employee owned business
Cons
Client
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Building and Constructing
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAApril 17, 2014
Sometimes strange hours generally pretty straight forward work and tends to be fairly simple most of the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Development Focused
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 10, 2014
Swinerton is 125 years strong. One's career path is presented and discussed upon being hired. There are several career development opportunities provided thought each year. Swinerton focuses on the employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
BIM/VDC/IPD Specialist (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAFebruary 23, 2014
Proactive and Assisted in studies and job related training.

A typical day would be to model the architectural / structural for complex structures; Hospitals/ Hotels/ MOB/ Solar fields/ etc..
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people, reliable, low salary
Assistant Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 21, 2013
My experience with Swinerton changed from project team. Some project teams were fun and enjoyable to work , some were difficult.
Within years companies management improved.
However salaries and benefits little below industry standarts
Pros
job security, trainings
Cons
low salary, benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Swinerton Builders. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 31 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8