Find companies:
SYCUAN CASINO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

SYCUAN CASINO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced environmentl
Deli Attendant (Former Employee), El cajon, CAAugust 19, 2014
The typical work day consisted of either making sandwiches for the orders that guests placed, or cashiering; assisting guests with their orders. Also, we had to prep daily. We prepped ready to eat foods, as well as portioning out the meats that we used for the sandwiches. No one goes into a job knowing whats what So i took my prior knowledge of what – more... i learned in my previous job and applied it to Sycuans work I learned how to compose myself in a different environment, I also practiced more on the art of customer service. The management team was well organized, was always there when we needed help. My coworkers as well were organized, they stuck with me when it was time for rushes and I was just a brand new employee. They were pleasant, a great team to work with. The hardest part of the job was always having to deny people for not being able to use their benefit casino comps when they couldn't provide an ID. They'd always get frustrated, but I'd always be patient and attend the guest with a smile. The most enjoyable part of the Deli was how well we all worked as a team. We went through rushes in no time, we all helped one another at the same time attending to the guests needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
painter (Former Employee), san Diego caAugust 15, 2014
Having a easy safe work day
Helping and friendly co-workers
Painting at vary high levels
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
GUEST RELATIONS REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 26, 2014
helped me deal with customers on a one to one basis. Gained experience in the casino field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much barrier between management and employees
Table Games Dealer (Former Employee), El Cajon, CAMay 23, 2014
Always tried to enjoy my working day by connecting with co-workers but there was too compartmental.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Security Officer (Former Employee), El Cajon, CAMay 20, 2014
nice place to work just very unorganizd and not to fair to there employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place because of the smoke
Slot Attendant (Former Employee), El Cajon, CAMay 13, 2014
Pros: could take our breaks together like 45 min.and 15 min
Cons: health care very good
very busy,most of the time hectic people making line to get change maintain smile always, having a very good team members and management made it ease, responding to the customer light when they need it help and not been able to get to them and a timely manner because stop by other customers the hardest was to be in smoke environment.
and having a radio – more... 8 hrs a day in my ear. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace on the Casino floor for students while attending school, not so great of a workplace for Administrative employees.
Benefits Coordinator (Former Employee), El Cajon, CaMay 8, 2014
Pros: fun place to work, discounted lunches, friendly employees
Cons: bad management
My typical day at work began with reviewing hours worked for Human Resources department for the prior day. Then I would review documents for benefit changes (adding/dropping dependents, new enrollments, cancelations), then approve changes and send to third party administrator. I would conduct the insurance portion of new hire orientation and assist – more... with benefits enrollments. I would run reports for health insurance, employee assistance program, and life insurance bills, audit, and assure payments were made in a timely manner to appropriate companies. I would coordinate vendor visits and schedules and assure they were paid accordingly and in a timely manner. I would answer all employee questions regarding benefits, life insurance, and 401(k). I would do data entry for all enrollments and changes for 401(k) and Met Life Home/Auto/Pet Insurance changes. I would coordinate annual open enrollment period for all benefits offered. I would coordinate and make arrangements for annual employee recognition events. I did a lot of my previous supervisors job along with everything on my job description.

I had amazing co-workers for the most part.

There really wasn't anything hard about my job duties other that dealing with a supervisor who didn't supervise or give any relevant feedback.

The most enjoyable part of my job was being extremely reliable and providing excellent service to the employees and departments I dealt with on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ehh
Internal Auditor (Former Employee), El Cajon, CAApril 3, 2014
Graveyard shift is rough and the management team is not willing to accommodate the needs of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Equal Opportunity Employer - Gender
Project Technician (Former Employee), El Cajon, CAMarch 17, 2014
Pros: equal opportunity employer
Cons: smoke environment
Offerd me the opportunity to work as a Project Technician.It was a department mostly operated my males. They trained me and I was able to successfully complete the three month probationary period.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job should be recognized
Bingo Server (Current Employee), El Cajon, CAFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: free shutttle
Cons: part time
I like to work there and i been there for 8 months now as a part time worker, I just sometimes don't like the way the management works for some employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Grill Cook (Former Employee), El Cajon, CANovember 18, 2013
Pros: work independantly
This was one of the best jobs I have ever had! I wish that I would not have had to move or I would still be working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sycuan Casino
PBX Operator (Former Employee), El Cajon, CASeptember 24, 2013
Customer Service. Operates switchboard to relay incoming, outgoing and interoffice calls. Provides excellent customer service by answering calls efficiently and professionally along with an exceptional phone etiquette. Excellent communication skills with two-way radio, telephone, computer systems and paging systems. Screens telephone calls for Team – more... Members according to guidelines. Follows up guest requests with a call back to assure that the request was completed to the guest's satisfaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xx
Waitress (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 1, 2013
Pros: xx
Cons: x
Great working with the guests. I enjoyed working in an entertainment environment.
It was tough on your feet all day, running to get drinks because we did not have a bar tender and it was hard working in smoke.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good communication among co-workers
Utility Worker (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJune 24, 2013
Whenever a holiday coming, Sycuan Casino is always busy. I learned to improve my communication skills. I manage the ice delivering and stocking water to all of the stations in Sycuan. My co-workers and I got along very well. The hardest part of the job was probably doing the task in a safe, careful and correct way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casino
Payroll Clerk (Former Employee), El Cajon, CAJune 20, 2013
Pros: incentive program, training
Cons: upper management
I enjoyed working here. The Casino cared about the employees had a very good incentive program. The payroll department got a long very well. Learned new skills. The Supervisor was very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to be if you want diversity
Guest Services supervisor (Former Employee), El Cajon, CAMay 15, 2013
Pros: staying busy, employee cafeteria, made great people..
Cons: management wasn't approachable, management didn't work graveyard and couldn't really understand graveyard needs.
The management needs to reviewed and evaluated. But most of the people there are great. I worked the graveyard shift and it was a challenge but the co-workers all worked together to make it work. I learned so much from the guest and my co-workers. I learned a lot on professionalism and patients. The hardest part of the job was to stay awake all night, – more... but I made it work for several years. I would like to say the most enjoyable part of my job was the it was in a casino so it was busy all the time. I interacted with the guest and helped them with all their needs. Most guest were a lot of fun!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Security Officer (Former Employee), El Cajon, CAJanuary 27, 2013
Pros: good personal time off package
Cons: no holidays off, walked on egg shells
The tribe was very good to work for, excellent benefits. I learned how
to be a good security officer, management was not really as good
as it could have been.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
House Keeper/Co-Owner (Former Employee), El Cajon, CADecember 13, 2012
learned alot , reqired alot of job experience, and the employee's became family
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is a fun enviroment to work in and great pay.
Admission Clerk (f/t) (Former Employee), El Cajon, CANovember 5, 2012
Pros: discounted meals, greats benefits
Cons: n/a
Working for this company was a great experience. I was able to learn a lot of skills and traits that will help my be succesful in my career. The position is promising however, some managment slowely looses track of the service they used to provide. The best part is dealing with several different ethnicities and the various personalities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an ever changing environment, keeping you on your toes
Security Dispatcher (Former Employee), Back of house in the casinoNovember 2, 2012
Pros: you will meet & retain many friends, as well as learn new things during your employment
Cons: sometimes things are continually changing, which make advancement hard to obtain
My position was responsible for delegating officer assignments, report writing, handling radio calls from various departments via an 8 channel console & telephone, notifying management when incidents occurred, sending counterfeit bills to the secret service as needed and assisting in administrative duties as needed