Find companies:
SYKES Enterprises, Incorporated
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
728 reviews

SYKES Enterprises, Incorporated Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid this place
CSR (Former Employee), Bardstown, KYAugust 14, 2014
Pros: very nice assortment of expensive snacks and meals in the break room
Cons: management, training, everything.
The training is long and tedious, but as soon as you go into nesting you realize how much you did not learn. My entire class was completely unprepared as we took our first calls. For instance, we were told the most common call would be to make a payment, yet we were never trained on how to process a payment. We were told over and over that we would – more... have a ton of floor support and we did not.

The training was all over the place and very unorganized. One person would tell us one thing, only to have someone else tell us completely different. There was a ton of down time where we talked amongst ourselves.

With 5-6 weeks of training, there's no reason why Sykes can't prepare employees better. My class had 6 people quit by the time we went into nesting.

We were also told that if we stepped away from our phone to use the bathroom, that we had to deduct that time from our 15 minute break. I was told, "we don't pay you to use the bathroom." I'll be speaking with someone about that policy.

The problem with this company is simple: they don't pay their employees enough. Their "management" is comprised of poorly paid, poorly educated, power-hungry employees. The managers don't make much more than their subordinates (who make $9/hr), and in this case, you get what you pay for.

Except for the employees on the phone. We were expected to not only assist the customers with their needs but also try to sell them products as well. We were told to make an offer on every call- no exceptions. Seems like a lot to ask for $9/hr. I'd rather wait tables than work here again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful people to work with
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Wise, VAAugust 14, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: monotonous
I liked working here. It is a call center so if you're not used to being on the phone all day long then this job is not for you. The people at the Wise call center were wonderful to work with. If you show up to work your shift every day they will definitely work with you on your needs as far as what shifts you need to work and days off. I was given – more... opportunities to help with new employees so I could get off the phone a few weeks at a time and walk around answering questions or helping them find answers to customer's questions. The pay is fair for the area. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Job Security
Quality Analyst (Current Employee), Lakeland, flAugust 13, 2014
Pros: easy, ac
Cons: poor pay, capped vacation, favoritism
I have worked here for over 2 years and this job has shown me that this company has no respect for an employee working hard to move up. They have not given me a raise in 2 years and now that I have achieved a position that I am happy with they want to demote me. Not for performance but because they made a new contract with the company they work for. – more... I would not encourage anyone to work here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid this place like the plague.
"Trusted Advisor" (Former Employee), Kingstree, SCAugust 13, 2014
Pros: there is a ceiling, so you won't get wet when it rains.
Cons: pay, environment, coworkers, management, policies, management.
Let me walk you through my time at Sykes. I worked there for almost 2 years, unfortunately. When I first got the job, I felt pretty positive. I went into training, liked the trainer and most of my classmates pretty well, and did very well in the class, according to everyone above me, including my trainer and the other managers. I was told multiple times – more... that "once I was out on the floor taking calls, I would be able to advance very quickly." Things were looking pretty positive for me.

Once I got on the floor, I worked my butt off to do well at the job. I was focused on providing great customer service and things went nice for a little while. The pay was pretty pathetic, but it was better than minimum wage, which is what I was making at my old job.

When I applied for the job, I asked plenty of questions about what it would consist of. I even asked if any sales would be required. I was told that all it consisted of was helping customers troubleshoot problems with their phones and answering billing questions for them, and that there were no sales involved. Of course, a few weeks after I get onto the floor I find out that not only are sales involved, they are required. You have a quota of sales to make per day, and if you don't make that quota two things happen. One: You get disciplinary action against you, which scales up according to how many days you miss the quota. Two: You have to write a statement on why you didn't make sales goals, as if you were a third grader being disciplined for not turning in homework.

Still, in spite of this, I worked as hard as I could to make sales quotas, with the added incentives that I would supposedly be getting extra money on my paycheck for each sale. After two years working there, I never saw a single dime from this. I'm the type of person who kept track of every single pay stub to make sure I was getting paid the right amount, and never did I see any pay for incentives. Every time I asked someone in management, I got an evasive answer. Sometimes it was "You're asking the wrong person, you need to ask X about that." Sometimes it was "The sales you're making don't qualify. You have to sell certain features." I eventually went all the way to the site manager, and was told "We know this is a problem, and we're working on it." Also, I can't confirm whether this is true, but there were rumors circulating that we were supposed to be getting Christmas bonuses one year, which management actually took, spent a portion of on door prizes for a Christmas party, and pocketed the rest. I also found out-and I can confirm this-that there were several people, myself included, who were supposed to get a fifty cent raise after six months of employment and did not. I did eventually get reimbursed, but the process to make that happen was a long and difficult one. No one told me I had been shorted, and I probably would have never gotten the money if I hadn't asked about it myself.

In spite of everything, I kept trying as hard as I could at the job, hoping for some form of recognition, and hoping desperately for a pay increase. (I later found out-and I can confirm this-that there were several people, myself included, who were supposed to get a fifty cent raise after six months of employment and did not. I did eventually get reimbursed, but the process to make that happen was a long and difficult one. No one told me I had been shorted, and I probably would have never gotten the money if I hadn't asked about it myself.) The most recognition I ever got was a balloon and a fun size candy bar every now and then. This is what counted as recognition at Sykes. Finally, after about a year of trying hard, applying for every open position, and being told constantly, even by management, that I would "surely be moving up soon", I gave up. I stopped trying so hard and soon found out this worked pretty well, since it was what everyone else was doing anyways. I found out that promotion to management or any other position was nothing more than a lottery at worst and a popularity contest at best. This job turned me into a very cynical, bitter person, because it taught me that sometimes, no matter how hard you try, no one will care.

_________________________________________________________

Let's talk a little bit about what the job actually consists of, and the environment.

Coworkers - Some coworkers were nice, and some weren't. The majority of workers tended to be young, disrespectful, and extremely unprofessional. Imagine working your self half-to-death trying to get ahead and then being grouped in with these foolish, uneducated, juvenile morons. The same goes for managers. Some managers were always willing to help in whatever way they could, and would take escalated calls if necessary. Others would avoid helping as much as possible, and would absolutely refuse to take escalated calls. There were several managers there who had never even been on the phone in the first place. The worst managers were those at the top, who made no bones about treating us low-life peons like garbage.

Job Duties - The first thing you will need to learn for this job is how to lie really well. You don't need to know what you're talking about when customers ask you a question. You just need to know how to sound like you do. Places like this are why your AT&T customer service is so bad. They have a revolving door on the building for the constant stream of terminated employees going out and new hires coming in. These new hires are thrown into training and rushed through it (When I first started training, it was six weeks long. Last I heard, it was cut down to two weeks.), then put on the floor to take calls with very little actual experience or understanding of their job. You learn pretty quickly how to sound like you are good at your job, instead of actually knowing how to do it well. Once out on the floor, you'll have a very difficult time catching up, because once you finally think you've learned something, there is a policy or procedure change, which you might not get training on for anywhere from one week to six months after it is implemented. For example; AT&T started offering shared data plans, and I had customers call in frequently about these plans. I was unaware that any such plan existed, so I would tell these people they must be mistaken. After about three weeks of this, we finally found out that AT&T really had started offering these plans, and finally got training on them about two weeks later. Other fun things we had to deal with included combined billing, which could only be handled by a certain department. Fun fact: that department was only open Monday through Friday until 7PM. Our department was open every day until 1AM. Just imagine what fun it was explaining to customers why I couldn't even so much as look at their bill, and that the only people who could just closed five minutes ago. There was also the sales quota. What a load of fun that was. There was no lack of people who wanted to meet that goal and get that incentive pay, no matter what lengths they had to go to to do so. Several times daily, I would have to remove features from accounts because other employees had added them without permission, in order to meet those goals. I saw a few employees get terminated for this, but I saw even more get away with it.

Work Environment - This was one of my least favorite parts about the job. The management thought it would "increase morale" to have music constantly playing. This sounds like a good idea right? In practice, playing a little bit of music at a low volume might help relax people, right? If only we were so lucky. In reality, what this amounted to was blaring "Today's Hip-Hop and R&B hits" at maximum volume, unedited and full of every curse word and derogative line of every song. I lost count the times when I had customers ask if I was at home or if we were having some kind of party. When bringing this up to the managers, their response was "Tell them we are having a party, celebrating great customer service!" I was so embarrassed and felt like it made us look so unprofessional. I'm sure it was even worse for those right next to the karaoke machine they use to blare the music. Fortunately, I was halfway across the floor from it, but it was still entirely too loud.

Benefits - The "benefits" of this job are hardly worth mentioning. The health plan is nothing special, and getting vacation time is like pulling teeth.

Overall, my warning to you is this: Avoid this place at all costs. Don't fall into Sykes' trap. This is how they operate; They go to small communities with a high poverty rate, so they can hire people desperate for jobs at ludicrously low pay. They will push you to do better and better, only ever noticing your failures, never your successes. They will suck any positivity you have right out of you. Keep your lower-paying job elsewhere. The slight increase in pay is not worth the hassle of working for this company. You will have to lie to people daily and try to sell them things they don't need or can't afford. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy to handle work tasks
Medical appointment setter (Former Employee), Allentown, PAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: customers i spoke with
Cons: management, they never gave a raise
inbound calls were received by people who wanted to attend a public hospital in Miami Dade county my responsibility was to schedule appointments or pass along information about charity opportunities.I learned how to capture information and computer literacy. management was very difficult in the sense that communication just wasn't there. for example – more... if there were a change it will take long before we knew. I got along with co-workers. There really wasn't anything hard about the employment if i had to say something i would say communication. To me personally i enjoyed speaking to patients and doing the best on every call. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SUCKS
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Fayetteville, NCAugust 12, 2014
Pros: you can clock in
Cons: management, hours, pay, everything
This place sucks the life out of you. We have on lady to place her two weeks notice in and they walked her out the doors. Top agents ate refused promotions because they are once holding the place together. If you suck at customer service then you get management position. By far this is the worst ever. And they half pay your your bonuses they you have – more... worked all month for. Just crazy – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retention agent
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lakeland, FLAugust 12, 2014
Cons: everything
Worst company to work for, they have the worst managers, nasty attitude, they don't know how to talk to people with respect... I know the owner of this company is disappointed in the people that's running the site on Griffin road!! They lie about everything!! Pay check always short, bottom line is just don't waste your time applying for job with this – more... company. . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was really fun
Floor Support rep (Former Employee), Lakeland, FLAugust 12, 2014
Pros: too many to list
Cons: the health care plan was too expensive
i learned how to be a manager i had great trainers and co-workers it was a very competitive atmosphere but the rewards where out of this world they took really good care of the employees. the hardest part of the job was just keeping the job quota but like i said once i got to train my team then it was a a great job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Sykes
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Kingstree, SCAugust 12, 2014
A typical day at work for me would just be answering the phone all kinds of customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Producted a safe and fun work place such as rewarding with parties.
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Sumter, SCAugust 12, 2014
Pros: rewarding parties
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work would be clocking in and on my way to my computer I would be greeted by my team manager and co-workers. Who were always nice and friendly. Then I would log into my computer were I would assist with banking information via phone. And that's a typical day at Sykes. But I would have to say the hardest part of that job would be the – more... customers that were upset. But once you speak with them use empathy and sympathy and let them know you understand it was better. but I really enjoyed being able to help the customers and fixing the problem. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sykes
Customer Sales Representative (Current Employee), Fayetteville, NCAugust 11, 2014
Pros: friendly helpful people
Cons: n/a
My typical day at work will include speaking with customers frequently to meet their needs as far as technology. I've learned to deal with any type of personality without any anger issued. The management is great they make sure your on top of your job and also make sure you have all your needs with this job as an employee, the co-workers are very friendly – more... and willing to assist you if your lost on anything. The hardest part of the job is really dealing with all these different personalities but it makes you a better person in the long run! The most enjoyable part is knowing that you have made someone extremely happy with the new product they are going to receive soon. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life at sykes
Member Service Representative (Current Employee), Fayetteville, NCAugust 10, 2014
Pros: helping member better utilize their banking serivces
Cons: short breaks
My job at sykes is member representative services to assist members with financial issues or common questions and or advice with banking
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive call center, not much interaction with coworkers while working
CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENT (Former Employee), Sumter, SCAugust 8, 2014
Pros: free lunches and weekly meetings to discuss performance
Cons: short breaks, and survey evaluations
Clocked in log into computer to start receiving calls pretaining to banking accounts.I learned alot about bank accounts and troubleshooting issues that came with online banking. Management was Disbrusied into teams. We had a 10 teams per department with a team lead. Then we had the AM that was over a certain portion of the teams. The hardest part of – more... the job was dealing with irate customers, even when you were trying to do all you could to fix the problem and to do what would make them happy at the moment. The most enjoyable part of the job was the diversity and interacting with different people from all walks of life over the phone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I've ever had
Customer service agent (Former Employee), Allentown, paAugust 8, 2014
Pros: my trainer and fellow trainees
Cons: this field isn't long enough to list then all...
I'm 54 and have been working for almost 40 years. Never in all my years in the workforce have I ever been lied to as I did here. Our training class started out at 23 people. After just 4 weeks, its down to 7.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A brand new experience for me.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Allentown, PAAugust 7, 2014
I worked in the post office and loved it. I weighed, metered and packaged items. I learned the many ways of shipping out a package. I sold stamps, packaged boxes for customers and sold postal products. My coworkers were amazing people to work with. They were very helpful to me in the beginning of my employment with the company.
Management was very understanding – more... and worked with their employees. It was a pleasure working for this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
call center environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Allentown, PAAugust 6, 2014
enjoyed working there learned the call center experience was not crazy about the hours or the pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Sales Job
Customer Service Agent (Current Employee), Lakeland, FLAugust 5, 2014
Pros: ood pay
Cons: time clock and management not accurate
After getting hired, I realized this position was not what I was interviewed for. It was a sales position instead of Customer Service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lakeland, FlAugust 4, 2014
The work never gets boring. The management require a lot from you and after a while it gets really stressful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and light hearted work area
Business Care Representative (Current Employee), Lakeland, FLAugust 2, 2014
Pros: meeting goals and incentives
Cons: random shift changes and not enough overtime
Working in a call center taking calls for individual, family, small business and enterprise accounts. Assisting with bill reviews, plan changes, adding international services, re-rating plans, bill payments, payment arrangements and issuing credits when need be for AT&T customers. I have learned the difference between small businesses and enterprise, – more... how to read cellular towers and do basic troubleshooting. The management for business care is amazing they realize that you do have a life out side of work and things happen. My co workers are light hearted and playful so even though the job is to be taken seriously there are fun times to be had. The hardest part of the job would be making angry customers happy only because it isn't always so easy to work with someone who is upset due to what a previous rep did before. The most enjoyable part of the job would be helping the customers who had an issue that you were able to resolve. Having great co workers doesn't hurt either. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company th at is only loyal to it's self
Retention Specialist (Former Employee), Lakeland, FLJuly 31, 2014
Pros: hour lunches, sitting down all day, working in the a/c
Cons: management
Sykes is a company that is loyal to no one but it's self! Yes they will work you, and you may even move up with in the company, however, in the blink of an eye they will take it all away and put you back down to the lowest position and then treat you like dirt. The people that you will meet and the friendships that you will make will be awesome.

1 2 3 4 5

About SYKES Enterprises, Incorporated

Sykes Enterprises provides business process outsourcing services, IT consulting and IT-enabled services, such as technical support – Read more