Find companies:
Symmetricom
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Symmetricom Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Symmetricom, San Jose, California – US : Feb 2011 – Jul 2013 Regional Sales Manager - Middle East & Africa
Regional Sales Manager - Middle East & Africa (Former Employee), San Jose, CANovember 17, 2014
Accomplishments:
• Set up/ directed winning sales team for region, developing and executing key business strategies to ensure regional growth and success
• Set up/ implemented sales objectives, developed & monitoring sales plan and quota for region
• Managed financial oversight of operations, including forecasts, annual budget development, variance – more... and expenditure analysis
• Compiled regional sales information/ recommendations to support strategic planning and problem resolution
• Evaluated issues and promoted regional sales system improvements. Coordinated all aspects of human resource management, including recruitment, training and coaching, planning, performance management, and compensation review
• Built up new MEA market from scratch generating $5 Million in yearly sales for the company
• Led critical expansion of customer base through strategic analysis of sales performances and strong relationship building efforts with new and key customers
• Promoted follow-up structure, establishing network of new agents in Middle East and Africa
• Negotiated major contracts with integrators (Bharti-Africa) and secured major $6 Million contract for project in Libya
• Organised several key exhibitions, including ITU-Africa in Cairo and GITEX in Dubai

Job Profile:
• Coached the regional sales team in development/ implementation of business strategies for accomplish of regional business targets. Set up and implemented sales plans/ quota for the region
• Prepared forecasts, annual budgets, variance and expenditure analysis
• Involved in compilation of regional sales information and recommendations to support strategic plans
• Managed human resource aspects of the regional sales system encompassing recruitment, training & coaching, planning, performance management and compensation review
• Enhanced customer base through strategic analysis of sales performances and maintenance of regular interaction with existing clients/ prospects – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pleasant work experience
Global Customer Service Representative 3 (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJanuary 11, 2014
All I have to say is Symmetricom, Inc. had it's moments but the good times out weighed the bad. Sad to see they were bought out by Microsemi, they let go of a lot of good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworkers and interesting technology
Software Engineer Firmware (Current Employee), Boulder, COJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: casual dress, flexible time other than core hours, good benefits
Cons: project cancelled
I worked on 2 embedded projects, both on company-custom hardware, written in C and C++, with accompanying GUI interfaces. I did bug-fixes and feature enhancements to the C and C++ logic, as well as debugging problems in HTML, Javascript, and PHP files.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stillted
Test Engineer (Current Employee), San Jose, CADecember 7, 2013
Pros: a pay check
Cons: poor management
Non-progressive. Suppressive management. Non-supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Sales Engineer (Former Employee), RemoteDecember 6, 2013
Symmetricom was acquired by Microsemi. The culture and policies will be different than before.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A little startup in a bigger company
R&D Firmware Engineer (Former Employee), San Jose, CANovember 21, 2013
Typical day: Research and development
Great opportunities with the work in the T1E1 working group

I worked on a new Broadband product that Symmetricom was trying out. My team operated as a startup within the company.

The broadband line didn't take off and Symmetricom downsized the initiative
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work
Research&Development Technician II (Former Employee), IrvineAugust 23, 2013
I learned a lot of RF products and troubleshooting skills.
Teamwork with all coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy all the time
Production Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee), Beverly maAugust 12, 2013
Pros: good working environmen
Cons: no communication
From the time I got in I was asked a variety of questions regarding the work day. If someone was out reorganize the work day and help wherever necessary.

Learned how to work with all the personalities to make a successful team that really liked their job.

Management pretty much kept to themselves and communication could have been better.

the hardest – more... part of the job was getting people to handle constructive criticism.

Best part is when the urgency was felt from the entire team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good job experience
Quality and Engineering Director (Former Employee), Aguadilla, PRAugust 5, 2013
Worked there 18 years,
Responsible of maintaining the quality system according to TL9000 and ISO 9001 standards
Be customer contact
In charge of internal audits
Implemented a metrology lab
DEveloped a dock to stcok program
Qualified vendors and performed supplier assessments

At the latter part was In charge of Quality and Engineering, and Repair functions – more... managing about a group of 45 people
See resume for further details – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very active company
Logistics Specialist (Current Employee), Derry, NHAugust 2, 2013
Pros: it is a very busy company when it is busy
Cons: when its quiet its dead
I am a temp to hire with this company through Lighthouse Placement in Ward Hill.
I have learned a great deal about the company as well as a new computer program ( Oracle).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment. Very complex product line. High energy work place.
Senior Operations Manager (Current Employee), Beverly, MAJuly 17, 2013
Pros: flex time, people orientated
Cons: too much turnover in upper management
Approximately 175 employees
People orientated
Difficult to manage very complex Space & Defense product lines
Many Program Managers
Very Detailed Budgets - Monthly/Quarterly review
Managing Fortune 500 companies was challenging
Delivering products that launched into Satelites very rewarding
Working with very talented employees very enjoyable
Management – more... changed over too much at CEO and Exec. level
Continuing Education was strongly suggested
In house SOAR awards very motivating – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work, great management style
Technician 2 (Former Employee), Boulder, COApril 9, 2013
Pros: early start time(7:00am), casual dress requirements
Cons: very complex equipment
I worked on complex electronic equipment, while keeping an eye towards verifying work instructions. The people there were nice and easy to work with, as well as helpful towards learning the equipment. The manager was thoughtful and very helpful to me while being understanding of time that I needed away from work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Executive Assistant to EVP Operations (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMarch 11, 2013
Pros: usually had lunch from different meetings on a daily basics.
Cons: sometimes took breaks at desk.. not usually healthy
Enjoyed working at Symmetricom. Started as an assistant to accounting. Worked my way up the ladder to Executive Admin to our EVP of Operations. It was a long road of on the job experience. I enjoyed working with the different departments of the company and has made some great friendships along the way. Management gave me the respect to work on my own – more... with little supervision. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
MECHANICAL DESIGN ENGINEER (Former Employee), San Jose, CAFebruary 13, 2013
Great work environment, hard working employees with a fun attitude
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working day was hectic from the time I arrived to the time I left.
Stockroom/ Production Lead (Former Employee), Boulder, COJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: very good ojt
Cons: the right hand didn't know what the left hand was doing
I had a lot of opportunities to learn about managing people and staff. Most of the workers were real nice and willing to help with issues that always arouse. I had to put in many hours straightening out errors in processes to correct inventory. The management at Symmetricom Boulder was a bit to be desired, they didn't seem to make plans with contingencies
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CAOctober 16, 2012
Pros: great environment for employees, fun atmosphere balanced with hard work
Cons: management pressured by corporate goals would not always listen to employee needs
Symmetricom is a company that appreciates its employees. The benefits and rewards of hard work were good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Symmetricom as a company has tremendous potential and it needs to define itself whether they want to make continuous improvement and commit themselves
Six Sigma Balck Belt (Former Employee), Beverly, MASeptember 26, 2012
Working at Symmetricom was very frustating for a Six Sigma Black belt. The program was not fully supported by senior management in spirit, with the result that employees would bypass the DMAIC methodology and improve processes by stealing ideaas from the project in progress.

I enjoyed the hi-tech product and my association with it. My immediate supervisor – more... was not a good manager who felt intimidated if others praised my work and support was not there when I needed roadblocks removed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work. Smart, hardworking people, exciting products.
Manufacturing/Process Engineer for Atomic Clocks (Former Employee), Beverly, MAJune 7, 2012
Pros: all the corporate perks: awards, outings, recognition programs.
Cons: some restructuring and downsizing.
Good work environment with plenty of talent. Dedicated management staff and executive team. Good benefits, good pay, flexible work hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, Great people
Quality Engineer - ISO9001 Registered (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CAMay 8, 2012
Pros: great people
Typical day at work would involve many different Quality aspects as my responsibility was full spectrum; NPI through Field Failures. The most common activity overall though was accessing our Quality issues Dbase, our PDM (SmarTeam) and Oracle/Agile.

Hardest part of the job was bandwidth challenges and so many different things to get done.

I learned – more... many things about UTC, oscillators, and other electronic comm. technology. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and professional staff
Senior Buyer/Planner 3 (Former Employee), Beverly, MAApril 9, 2012
Pros: willing management staff to train on products
Symmetricom is a precise timing company with plants in MA, CO, and CA. They have cutting edge technology and an outstanding team of professionals.

About Symmetricom

Time waits for no one, but it can be put to work. Symmetricom manufactures synchronization and timing equipment used in GPS satellites – Read more