Symmetricom Employee Reviews

Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to work
Técnico de IT (Former Employee) –  Puerto Rico, AguadillaSeptember 21, 2016
good treatment of staff, good managers and HR staff.
good atmosphere had entered Coworkers.
Very good benefits , there were many opportunities to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Operator (Former Employee) –  PRJanuary 28, 2016
In this company have excellent manager, was a good company to work for me was a good experience. I recommend this company to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telecommunication Co that was productive and driven.
Facilities Administrator & Sr. Receptionist (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CASeptember 28, 2015
Great Co to work for. Always encouraged you to grow and learn the new product that were brought in. Mae it easy for employees to want to come to work.
Pros
Catered lunches
Cons
Nothing i could think of. It was a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job here was so easy and relax
Quality Engineer (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAAugust 27, 2015
This is small company that don't have much good benefits. My first job was so easy and relax. My manager and other managers are so nice to employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a blast working @ Symmetricom
Customer Relations Rep/CS Support Level II (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CADecember 7, 2014
A typical day @ work is challenging yet educational
I had learn how to interact with my customer & sales rep in a very professional way. I learned about product & the Oracle software system.
Very supportive management group that encourage education, onsite training & classes for employee to grow.
Great co-workers
The hardest part of the job, having a manufacture outside US.
The most enjoyable part of the job: Knowing that we learn something new everyday.
Pros
Great Company to work for, good paid salary
Cons
Job Security is an issue due to bad economy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Symmetricom, San Jose, California – US : Feb 2011 – Jul 2013 Regional Sales Manager - Middle East & Africa
Regional Sales Manager - Middle East & Africa (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CANovember 17, 2014
Accomplishments:
• Set up/ directed winning sales team for region, developing and executing key business strategies to ensure regional growth and success
• Set up/ implemented sales objectives, developed & monitoring sales plan and quota for region
• Managed financial oversight of operations, including forecasts, annual budget development, variance and expenditure analysis
• Compiled regional sales information/ recommendations to support strategic planning and problem resolution
• Evaluated issues and promoted regional sales system improvements. Coordinated all aspects of human resource management, including recruitment, training and coaching, planning, performance management, and compensation review
• Built up new MEA market from scratch generating $5 Million in yearly sales for the company
• Led critical expansion of customer base through strategic analysis of sales performances and strong relationship building efforts with new and key customers
• Promoted follow-up structure, establishing network of new agents in Middle East and Africa
• Negotiated major contracts with integrators (Bharti-Africa) and secured major $6 Million contract for project in Libya
• Organised several key exhibitions, including ITU-Africa in Cairo and GITEX in Dubai

Job Profile:
• Coached the regional sales team in development/ implementation of business strategies for accomplish of regional business targets. Set up and implemented sales plans/ quota for the region
• Prepared forecasts, annual budgets, variance and expenditure analysis
• Involved in compilation of regional sales information
  more... and recommendations to support strategic plans
• Managed human resource aspects of the regional sales system encompassing recruitment, training & coaching, planning, performance management and compensation review
• Enhanced customer base through strategic analysis of sales performances and maintenance of regular interaction with existing clients/ prospects
  less
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pleasant work experience
Global Customer Service Representative 3 (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJanuary 11, 2014
All I have to say is Symmetricom, Inc. had it's moments but the good times out weighed the bad. Sad to see they were bought out by Microsemi, they let go of a lot of good people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworkers and interesting technology
Software Engineer Firmware (Current Employee) –  Boulder, COJanuary 6, 2014
I worked on 2 embedded projects, both on company-custom hardware, written in C and C++, with accompanying GUI interfaces. I did bug-fixes and feature enhancements to the C and C++ logic, as well as debugging problems in HTML, Javascript, and PHP files.
Pros
Casual dress, flexible time other than core hours, good benefits
Cons
Project cancelled
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stillted
Test Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CADecember 7, 2013
Non-progressive. Suppressive management. Non-supportive.
Pros
A pay check
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Sales Engineer (Former Employee) –  RemoteDecember 6, 2013
Symmetricom was acquired by Microsemi. The culture and policies will be different than before.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A little startup in a bigger company
R&D Firmware Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CANovember 21, 2013
Typical day: Research and development
Great opportunities with the work in the T1E1 working group

I worked on a new Broadband product that Symmetricom was trying out. My team operated as a startup within the company.

The broadband line didn't take off and Symmetricom downsized the initiative
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work
Research&Development Technician II (Former Employee) –  IrvineAugust 23, 2013
I learned a lot of RF products and troubleshooting skills.
Teamwork with all coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy all the time
Production Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  Beverly maAugust 12, 2013
From the time I got in I was asked a variety of questions regarding the work day. If someone was out reorganize the work day and help wherever necessary.

Learned how to work with all the personalities to make a successful team that really liked their job.

Management pretty much kept to themselves and communication could have been better.

the hardest part of the job was getting people to handle constructive criticism.

Best part is when the urgency was felt from the entire team.
Pros
good working environmen
Cons
no communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good job experience
Quality and Engineering Director (Former Employee) –  Aguadilla, PRAugust 5, 2013
Worked there 18 years,
Responsible of maintaining the quality system according to TL9000 and ISO 9001 standards
Be customer contact
In charge of internal audits
Implemented a metrology lab
DEveloped a dock to stcok program
Qualified vendors and performed supplier assessments

At the latter part was In charge of Quality and Engineering, and Repair functions managing about a group of 45 people
See resume for further details
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very active company
Logistics Specialist (Current Employee) –  Derry, NHAugust 2, 2013
I am a temp to hire with this company through Lighthouse Placement in Ward Hill.
I have learned a great deal about the company as well as a new computer program ( Oracle).
Pros
It is a very busy company when it is busy
Cons
When its quiet its dead
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment. Very complex product line. High energy work place.
Senior Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Beverly, MAJuly 17, 2013
Approximately 175 employees
People orientated
Difficult to manage very complex Space & Defense product lines
Many Program Managers
Very Detailed Budgets - Monthly/Quarterly review
Managing Fortune 500 companies was challenging
Delivering products that launched into Satelites very rewarding
Working with very talented employees very enjoyable
Management changed over too much at CEO and Exec. level
Continuing Education was strongly suggested
In house SOAR awards very motivating
Pros
Flex time, people orientated
Cons
Too much turnover in upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work, great management style
Technician 2 (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COApril 9, 2013
I worked on complex electronic equipment, while keeping an eye towards verifying work instructions. The people there were nice and easy to work with, as well as helpful towards learning the equipment. The manager was thoughtful and very helpful to me while being understanding of time that I needed away from work.
Pros
early start time(7:00am), casual dress requirements
Cons
very complex equipment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Executive Assistant to EVP Operations (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAMarch 11, 2013
Enjoyed working at Symmetricom. Started as an assistant to accounting. Worked my way up the ladder to Executive Admin to our EVP of Operations. It was a long road of on the job experience. I enjoyed working with the different departments of the company and has made some great friendships along the way. Management gave me the respect to work on my own with little supervision.
Pros
usually had lunch from different meetings on a daily basics.
Cons
sometimes took breaks at desk.. not usually healthy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
MECHANICAL DESIGN ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAFebruary 13, 2013
Great work environment, hard working employees with a fun attitude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working day was hectic from the time I arrived to the time I left.
Stockroom/ Production Lead (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COJanuary 25, 2013
I had a lot of opportunities to learn about managing people and staff. Most of the workers were real nice and willing to help with issues that always arouse. I had to put in many hours straightening out errors in processes to correct inventory. The management at Symmetricom Boulder was a bit to be desired, they didn't seem to make plans with contingencies
Pros
very good ojt
Cons
the right hand didn't know what the left hand was doing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Symmetricom. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0