Syracuse University Employee Reviews

Showing all 148 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The University had a lot to offer
Associate (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYFebruary 20, 2017
I did not take advantage of what they had to offer. I will always remember the attentive nature of my professors and the small class sizes.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are better Graduate Schools
Senior Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYFebruary 19, 2017
For a large private University there pay and culture toward graduate students is subpar. If you can get excepted here you will be exceted at other institutions who will pay better and treat you with more respect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive working environment
Event Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYFebruary 13, 2017
I loved working for SCPS at Syracuse University over my four years at school! I gained several skills including management, event coordinating, conflict resolution and more while working at SCPS.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Syracuse University
Computer Consultant (Current Employee) –  New York StateFebruary 11, 2017
Syracuse University is a great school with tons of opportunity and people willing to help. I learn so much at work and in class that I know I can apply to my future careers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work place community
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJanuary 26, 2017
I am in such greatness to work within Syracuse university area that is a real opportunity they are very friendly they are willing to give a great opportunity to the right hard working people who is willing to prove they have what it takes to be successful.
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect job for a student
Residence Hall Main Desk Assistant (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJanuary 22, 2017
Being a main desk assistant at Syracuse is perfect because it is a very flexible schedule that can be molded to anyone's class schedule. I would recommend this job to anyone who attends Syracuse.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting and informative
Economics Tutor (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJanuary 12, 2017
Great way to make extra money as a student. A typical client would contact me by email and we would arrange weekly meetings depending on how much assistance they need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
FIRE MARSHAL (Former Employee) –  Lyman HallJanuary 5, 2017
Small city inside of a city, good co-workers, advancement opportunities and various hours of employment, gratifying in assisting students with problematic situations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Opportunity
Orientation Leader (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJanuary 5, 2017
Deciding to apply for OL was one of the best decisions I ever made during my time at SU. It's hard work but extremely rewarding.
Pros
free food, merchandise, amazing teammates
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYDecember 16, 2016
Working at Syracuse University provided me with an extreme amount of experience working one on one with students in counseling, mentoring and being of a support. This position allowed me to work and learn the dynamics to work within payroll.
Pros
Exposure to experiences
Cons
Deadlines of paperwork
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Two jobs - 1) developed student leadership development programs and 2) supervised Residence Life staff
ASSISTANT DIRECTOR OF RESIDENCE LIFE (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYNovember 30, 2016
During the first part of my job I set up student governments in each of the residence halls. I then developed leadership retreats, workshops, etc, to train the student leaders. In my second job I supervised professional staff who were managing residence halls.
Pros
Love to work with students and supervise professional staff.
Cons
cannot think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic Setting
Site Director (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYNovember 25, 2016
The position no longer exists but I enjoyed the partnership between the university and the schools. It was a great position, I had a great team, and flexible schedule.
Pros
great vacation package
Cons
the position was eliminated
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Head Women's Tennis Coach (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYNovember 17, 2016
Awesome
I loved it!
It really helps when there is ultimate support and vision. Bring your hard hat and lunch pail bed ause it is not easy being extraordinary and developing tomorrow's extraordinary leadership. The SU community is supportive and positive. It is cold ...... very cold in the winter but if your driven and dedicates it shouldn’t matter
Pros
Opportunity awaits the willing
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYNovember 9, 2016
Syracuse University is one of those places which give the students the chance to develop his interset only , But also helps in developing the personality in them
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspirational and Fulfilling Experience.
Runway Coach/Instructor (Part-Time) (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYOctober 27, 2016
To be an instructor and teach at my Alma Mater is a dream come true. I have been fortunate enough to experience the life of a student and now an educator, it truly helps me to connect with my kids more and give them the help and guidance that they need.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Janitor/Custodian (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYOctober 22, 2016
Syracuse university had many opportunity for a work place in advancement, student housing is building, employing very high rated, great benefits, college courses for employees
Pros
great opportunities
Cons
there isn't any
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great olace to work, helps tou set up a comfortable future
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYOctober 20, 2016
Great place to work for, the benefits help take care of all my doctor needs down to them helping me own a home. Management is great and they are always there to help and it is a good overall environment between co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Syracuse University Internship (Current Employee) –  Santa Clara, CAOctober 3, 2016
Very good place for students to practice their skills and abilities to get prepared for their careers. The policy is flexible so I can work remotely at home, and also I can choose projects I like to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New innovation approaches, Positive attitude
Hardware Programmer (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYSeptember 26, 2016
Hardworking,
new approaches to new technology,
get it done attitude
believe in teamwork,
Be confident in any circumstances
Flexibility in work life
Good understanding among the teammates
Pros
Educating new technology- STDP Neural Network
Cons
well focused approaches with logical reasoning
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYSeptember 21, 2016
Organization / good atmosphere / friendly people
Customer service / no indoor smoking / bathroom always cleaned / sports merchandise / Entertainment/
Pros
good atmosphere
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Syracuse University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 148 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

Syracuse University Reviews by Location