Find companies:
Sysco Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
366 reviews

Sysco Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok, depending on which department you work in.
Clerk/Customer Service (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: relaxed work environment, great benefits.
Cons: high turnover, pay isn't competitive.
Overall, Sysco is a good company to work for. I was there for 6yrs & gained a lot of knowledge about the food industry. I worked for some great supervisors. I started as an Accounts Receivables Specialist & then went on to Posting. I also worked in Customer Service. All positions were great & I learned a lot. My last position there I was a Transportation – more... Clerk. I enjoyed my job, but the overall moral of the department was low. Incompetent, careless management is what I dealt with day to day. It was hard for me to watch the drivers work so hard, but go unappreciated. The were treated like things/robots. A director from a different location came in to take over the department. He decided to change the duties/functions of my position, but refused to train me. He said that he didn't have the time. I found that very interesting because I've never been in a situation like that. If you're willing to go for anything they want you to do, even if it's unethical or immoral you won't mind being there. In the time I had been with the company, I've never seen such a high turnover. I watched so many quality drivers just walkout on a regular basis. The communication is horrible & there's no organization. I feel sorry for any drivers who are trying to get in there. They won't stay for long, they'll be begging for their old employer to take them back! Over worked, under paid & not appreciated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours
Marketing Associate / Sales (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: not stuck in a cubicle 9 to 5. stock purchase plan.
Cons: lots of windshield time logging miles on your own vehicle with no car allowance at all.
Need to work long hours in order to be successful in this business. Many hours spent in your own car logging countless miles all on your own dime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a good place to work. Now there's no job security and weak management.
Marketing Associate (Former Employee), Traverse City, MIJuly 21, 2014
Pros: decent benefits
Cons: no job security, cutting product offering, cutting pay and/or firing people, poor upper management, short-sighted management, clueless corporate leadership, innept program management, slow implementation of any new policy... i could keep going...
Sysco employees used to be proud of how long they've worked for the company. Now they seem to be counting the days until they leave. Corporate has been taking more and more control over the individual OpCos and upper management transfers in for other markets and starts cleaning house before they have any knowledge of the unit's culture or operations. – more... No one feels secure in there job and even performing sales people aren't safe.

We used to be able to "sell" Sysco's wide product offering, strong brand, and business resources. Now they've reduced it all.

It's almost cliche, but they are losing sight of the value of a talented sales force and instead placing value on young and inexperienced employees who are more easily manipulated and will willingly except a lot less salary. Making shareholders happy is good, don't get me wrong... I was one. But they seem to not pay attention to history and other publicly-traded companies in other industries that have made the same mistakes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marketing Associate
Marketing Associate (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 21, 2014
Pros: great people, fun job, great company
Cons: no expense, income potential
Great company to work for but don't count on starting a life-long career here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large successful organization
Category Planner (Current Employee), Denver, COJuly 18, 2014
Pros: good salary and incentive
Cons: long hours high stress
Looking for something closer to Evergreen CO relocating, Category Planning is a high stress high anxiety position, management holds planners completely accountable for numbers and their own success as individuals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Distribution giant
Food industry Sales/Marketing Associate (Former Employee), Poway ,CAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: great benifits great support team
Cons: working 24/7
During my tenor with Sysco I have learned to implement various sales techniques, worked with a broad range of clients attended educational seminars and trade shows. its a good company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to start
Customer Support Rep 2 (Former Employee), Cypress, TxJuly 16, 2014
Pros: central location
Cons: horrible pay, the worst hours, unknowledgeable management
The first group of management underpaid the the employee's they hired. then left. the new group in management didn't update the pay so you had people with less experience and tenure making more money. The computer and systems errors they are plagued with daily makes trying to do your job extremely hard, SAP, Email , Delivery Tracker and the Ordering – more... System went down everyday the whole 2years i was there. They don't care for a work/life balance because they put you on a random rotating schedule. You are the only group in the building working all holidays and weekends the day of this review, i was let go because of a computer error that has happened twice before. on top of that it was by yet another new person from another call center who was only employed for 2 months. The individual opco's do what ever they feel and the sales people don't answer their phones. One sysco, sure it is. If you can start in any other department, do so but stay away from Customer support. It's a joke as a department and the people running it have no clue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Accounts Payable Dispute Resolution Admin I (Current Employee), Cypress, TXJuly 16, 2014
very diverse, overall company is growing. Enjoy working with my coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent management and involvement in your business,
Marketing Associate (Former Employee), atlanta ga.July 14, 2014
Pros: excellent support
Cons: long hours
Sysco was very beneficial for my growth and learning in the business. I still use their ideals today in my business approach.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working the night shift hours.
Night Lead Person (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKJuly 14, 2014
A typical day at work, was a nonstop, usually makes the night go by quick. What i've learned, using data entry,swms ( RF) wear, how the food warehouse operated. Many adjustments had to be made because management was constantly changing. My co-workers were very hard workers and easy to work with. Difficult part of the job was to shut down the swms (RF) – more... systems at the end of the shift. Getting orders out efficiently to our customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a productive workplace that's all about business
Forklift Operator (Current Employee), Jackson, MSJuly 7, 2014
A typical day at work can only be determined on how fast you finish with one project, because that's the prime factor of the job itself. While working at Sysco, I have learned to complete my job in a timely manner and i've also become more familar with the reading of a breakdown. The managment and co workers, are all about helping each other; I believe – more... that is a great form of team work. In my opinion, the hardest part of the job is dealing with the changing temperatures. I say that because, you have the work on two different docks; cold and hot.The most enjoyable part of the job is basically being around friends and people that are willing to help you learn and do better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CDL DRIVER BEWARE OF THIS JOB
transporter (Former Employee), Las VegasJuly 7, 2014
Pros: they need some pros, bunch of amateurs as of now
Cons: they are all cons some i bet felonies
I started to work at this company and on the fist day I felt like I joined Some cult. Management is very rude as to even blame you for their work issues. This company will write you up every time your late or caught taking a brake. There is no overtime, no breaks, if the truck breaks down it's your fault, one of my managers threw a bottle at my feet, – more... it smashed and I got written up for breaking glass on the doc. This position is pure EVIL . Every Driver at this job is looking for other work to do, so they can quit this job. I have never in my 18 years of driving ever seen anything like the clowns at this place. before wasting your time filling out the on Line application, read the comments people are posting.. THIS JOB IS NOT WORTH IT. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work.
Warehouse selector (Current Employee), Denver Co.July 2, 2014
Pros: $$
Cons: everything
They are constantly writing you up for every little thing you do. They hire and fire like I've never seen in my life. They will fire you for anything they can!! They hire 10 warehouse employees a week and about 1-2 will actually make it. 100s of workers have come and go
In the past four years. And if you want a life forget about it! Shifts start 5:30 – more... pm and end when all work is done usually around 4-6 am, 6 days a week. Better be a soldier to work here, It's not for the weak! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sysco
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee), Riviera Beach, FLJuly 1, 2014
Great company to work for
great management team
great compensation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Order Selector (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJJune 27, 2014
Good work envoirment fun and very productive stress free and a safe work envoirment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Results
AR/AP Asst (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 26, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: people whom lie
busy
values
great
great
not able to complete a project due to malfunctions
completed jobs that reached the ultimate goal
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
911
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXJune 24, 2014
when 911 happen a lot of my sales accounts went out of Business
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outside Sales- New Business
Marketing Associate (Former Employee), Ankeny, IAJune 24, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, non-traditional work hours, benefits.
Cons: use of own vehicle, use & payment of own cellphone
Great training program & comprehensive benefits. Sales is all about obtaining new business which is the lifeblood of the corporation with regards to sales. Depending on the market, territory and competition surrounding you sales can be lucrative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
havin fun with co workers at break time
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Olathe, KSJune 22, 2014
Pros: the money and the co workers
Cons: the union
replenishment for 2 hours
take product off of the dock and put in overstock for the remainder of the day. then clean up and go home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Company
Marketing Associate (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 22, 2014
Things I learned: Salesforce, consultative selling, marketing, advertising, invoicing and billing

About Sysco Corporation

As a subsidiary of SYSCO Corporation, the largest foodservice distributor in North America, Sysco Houston distributes fresh and – Read more