Find companies:
Sysco Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
296 reviews

Sysco Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHSeptember 7, 2013
Pros: good working conditions
I enjoyed working there and hope to again one day. My co-workers were fun and easy to work with. Management was fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay but hard on my family
Delivery Associate (Former Employee), Sysco Hampton RoadsSeptember 3, 2013
Works was hard but paid decently. The work schedule always interfered with my family life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Route/shuttle driver (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 29, 2013
Pros: rewards and bonuses for your hard work
Cons: off one during the week
typical day at work long steady shifts I learned how to be patient and listen to customers management was good co-workers all get along and work together hardest part of day unloading pallets off truck
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mildly stressful
Manager (Former Employee), FloridaAugust 28, 2013
Pros: people always need food, so, this business is not going away
Cons: long hours, odd shifts
With so many changes coming so fast, stress is growing at a rapid pace. They seem to want to replace anyone with talent/tenure with someone that will do the job for half the cost with no regards as to what it will cost them later.

Their recent IT Department changes prove the above. They are now hiring IT people to replace the ones they "downsized" – more... just recently.

They will feel this even more when OSHA goes through a few more of their buildings!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job with excellent benefits
Order Selector/Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Olathe, KSAugust 22, 2013
Pros: salary
Cons: short breaks and physically demanding.
Sysco is a well balanced employer, with ethnics and structure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs Improvement
SAP Business Analyst II/ Deployment Coordinator (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 22, 2013
Work Life balance would be great
Pay could be better
Management needs improvement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work.
Food Picker (Former Employee), Wayne, MIAugust 16, 2013
Pros: the pay was great.
Cons: short breaks, no help, bad new around each corner.
Job was driving a 6ft. pallet jack with hard controls with three pallets with thight corners where you can barely turn have to stack and sort items which can get too 7 ft. tall. Drive around stick labels try and wrap it up too be loaded on the truck. You only get a sorten mount of time to pick. It was UAW so everyone there was trying to stop you get – more... into your way or not trying to help you make your time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Customer service/relations (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 14, 2013
I worked in the accounts receivable department so a typical day was processing payments, balancing money and deposits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Prospective
Safety Coordinator (Former Employee), Jackson, MSAugust 8, 2013
-Great coworkers
-Early Start
-Late Stay
-Great working relationship among the employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Perks and insentives
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Albq NM, San Diego CAAugust 8, 2013
Pros: excellent perks and insentives
Cons: driviing times
Called on existing accounts and visit new accounts. Worked unsupervised.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had many jobs while working at Sysco
whs operations/maint (Former Employee), Jackson, MSJuly 31, 2013
Pros: enjoyed the people i worked with, the job at hand. i do enjoy fixing broken things and learning new things
Cons: management never took suggestions from experienced workers, furnished proper matierials to fix things properly.
I started working on night shift back in Sept of 1999. I held several jobs while in the shipping dept. I took a job in the maint dept back in 2004. My primary job was to work and service equipment such as forklifts and pallet jacks. Often I would be asked to help with building maint. I would work on dock doors and dock lights along with resurfacing – more... the floors. Whatever was asked of me I would do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of flexibility
Marketing Associate (Former Employee), Austin, TXJuly 31, 2013
Pros: great benefits and paid time off
Cons: paying for my own gas
I was a sales representative. A typical day would be to get to customers around 8:00am. Take orders, sell customers new products and then scout out new customers to grow my territory.
I learned to be self sufficient and be my own boss. Time management was also something I learned with this job.
I had great managers that showed me the ropes and worked – more... closely with me when I needed their help closing the deal on new accounts.
Everyone I worked with was helpful and nurturing and we created a family environment.
The hardest part of the job was believing in the product.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people and providing them with service that added ease to their day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved being outside
Marketing Associate (Former Employee), Fremont, CAJuly 30, 2013
Pros: loved to cook and eat, new product demos regularly
Great company!! I wasn't tied to a desk and my days would seem short. I love to cook and eat, which made vendor demos worth the stress.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful job
Order Selector/Floor Supervisor (Former Employee), Calera, ALJuly 30, 2013
I really enjoyed working for this company did all my duties and pulled all orders for schools and restatuarants
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work with good compensation and benefits
Transportation Risk Specialist/Dispatch (Current Employee), Jackson, MSJuly 29, 2013
Pros: wages
Cons: management
Productive place to work with good compensation and benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People, fast paced.
Tractor Trailer Operator (Former Employee), Round Rock, TXJuly 28, 2013
Big company, very fast paced which time seems to go by fast also.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meat cutting side of Sysco in NC
Meat Cutter (Current Employee), Charlotte NCJuly 28, 2013
Pros: free coffee in the breakroom
Cons: horrible benifets, not full time hours
Well let's face the facts about the Meat cutting side of Sysco NC....
Fact#1.The BCBS insurance was $500 a month for a family plan plus a $3,500 deductable .The company did away with the employee pension plan after I was hired.
Fact#2. The Charlotte NC Sysco location "for meatcutters" is actually a company called Buckhead Beef which was recently aquired – more... by Sysco and has very little if any involvement with the actual Sysco corporation and its companys culture.
Fact#3. There is no onsite human resources department to go to at the Buckhead Beef/Sysco location ...so if you have an issue, you're on your own.
Fact#4. You are not promised 40 hours a week from the start ,and Buckhead Beef/Sysco is notorious for laying people off/cutting hours during the slow season

Be advised,do your research and invest your time and energy into a company that will do the same in return. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job until the market crashed
Sales and Marketing Territory Manager (Former Employee), Palmetto, FLJuly 26, 2013
Pros: autonomy and money
Cons: 7 days a week/70 hrs a week/vertually no money
I loved working for this company and made A Lot of money until the market crash. Went from making over 75k annual commission plus bonus to $300 a week commission average in the summer and $600 in season in 2010. Company was doing a total reconstruction at West Coast Florida. I fell back on my nursing license during this professional and personal transition, – more... but extremely motivated and ready to get back into food sales!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent training, hard to make money
Marketing Associate for Sysco I (Current Employee), CincinnatiJuly 25, 2013
Pros: training
Cons: not great corp support, no clear direction, no expenses taken care of for any travel
Excellent training but the prices you are made to sell at will not let you be competitive and make you commissions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team support is important.
Marketing Associate (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 23, 2013
Pros: i am able to manage my work day/week for the most part.
Cons: company does not help pay for the expense of managing my territory.
The company offers a great deal of professional resources for their employees and customers. I try to utilize these resources as much as possible and find success through team work. I enjoy helping our customers realize they can be more profitable and showing them how to do it. It is very frustrating when customers do not seem to care about their business – more... and reject obvious solutions to challanges. Recent cuts in commission and an increase in micro management has caused a decline in moral. – less

About Sysco Corporation

As a subsidiary of┬áSYSCO Corporation, the largest foodservice distributor in North America, Sysco Houston distributes fresh and – Read more