SYSCO Employee Reviews

Found 929 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace environment
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAMarch 24, 2017
Awesome place to work. I enjoyed the company because they took really good care of their employees and the environment was always positive. Here, I learned to work fast and efficiently in a cold room environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Operations Manager, Nights (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCMarch 22, 2017
I like to work with a productive group of people. I learned many jobs at Sysco. The workplace culture was outstanding. I really enjoyed the great communication in management.
Pros
discounts on food
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay & Training
Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Washington StateMarch 21, 2017
My only real complaint is the job culture. Sales is very cut throat to begin with, but why bring a bad attitude into to work place or around other colleges? Also, when you accept a job with Sysco, be prepared to drive A LOT! They do not cover gas or mileage for your day to day business (or phone). I just figured my taxes for 2016 and I drove 11,586 miles in 8 months. I suggest having a very fuel efficient car. This job is not for the faint of heart - be prepared to put up with loads of corporate meetings, angry managers and nasty competitive coworkers.
All in all, it was a great learning experience for my first corporate job.
Pros
Great benefits, learning experience, great pay
Cons
Bad company culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service, and delivery on demand.
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 20, 2017
Delivering goods, and services in a timely manner. Meeting the needs of the customer's by providing products, and goods in great condition smiling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Delivery Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Tolleson, AZMarch 19, 2017
Loved working at Sysco foods. the best. I only lived 5minutes away from work so I love the travel time . the hours of service was great as well . Start time is at 2:30 a.m M-Sat. all Sundays off.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome leadership fun safe work involvement
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEMarch 17, 2017
Always had a blast at work never had conflict or problems is a great place to work long-term never had problem s friendly environment awesome bosses
Pros
Awsome break room
Cons
Nice break times
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent freedom and variety of workweek.
Marketing Associate (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMarch 17, 2017
Great company with excellent benefits but there is no trust with their determination of commissions paid. Autocratic. They will allow a new District Sales Manager to keep their position regardless of the fact that he is disliked by all his reports.
Pros
Best product line and services in the industry, great benefits.
Cons
No consistent basis to determine comissions from, Have reduced commissions as a % of sales consistently over the last decade.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits and cukture
Territory Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 17, 2017
Calling on customers and prospects throughout a typical 7 hour workday. Manage any problems in an efficient manner. Suggest new products and services available. Make your own schedule for the most part.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
Driver (Former Employee) –  louisville, kyMarch 16, 2017
management stunk and the routing was terrible. they cant keep people due to the work load and the lack of understanding. would never recommend Sysco to anyone
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Misleading
Shuttle Driver (Former Employee) –  Somewhere southMarch 15, 2017
Poor management, this company wants too much from you and the compensation is not real good either you have to stand around for sometimes 3 hours per night just to make decent money. No real chance for advancement within unless you are a teachers pet. I did enjoy the people I worked with every night. Just done a lot of foot dragging to make a decent check.
Pros
Its a job
Cons
A LOT
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Driver (Current Employee) –  Lewisville, TXMarch 15, 2017
A day at work for Sysco is usually great as we go in, load our truck and head out for the day to do our deliveries. Things get hectic and disorganized at times which cause stress and makes you irritated.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Inbound Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Canton, MIMarch 15, 2017
Overall a pretty good company to work for. Management is not the best and job security is not the best as well. Overall most people seemed to be stressed out
Pros
friendly co workers
Cons
Job security is not the best
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast passed productive and a safe inviorment
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMarch 15, 2017
the work day was always fast passed the culture was a little tense depending on the work load the best part of the job to me was knowing i was playing a major role in the customers product making sure the right item was picked and staged at the right loading door mi really enjoyed that test.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Order Selector (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 14, 2017
typical days are like 10-13 hour days. have to maintain a 90% daily performance and 100% weekly which makes no sense. management is not very good no structure
Pros
guaranteed work
Cons
short breaks and no family time
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company as a whole
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSMarch 13, 2017
The company is a good company with good benefits, but very poor work ethic employees. Employees are very jealous and envy of each other. Management doesn't monitor employees work ethic like they should.
Pros
Solid company
Cons
Poor work ethic employees, poor management intervention of employees issues with each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, at times stressful, hard work.
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJMarch 13, 2017
At times runs smooth and at times no. Come in to work and punch in. Grab paper work and manifest and head out to hook up your tractor to trailer and the hit the road. Hardest part of job is mental. Work a lot of hours. Go from work to home to eat and shower and get ready for bed for the next day. At times forced to work Saturdays. The most enjoyable part of work besides the money was the relationship you create and being out on the road in your own little office which was your truck.
Pros
Great pay and benefits. Guaranteed work and hours.
Cons
Worked consumed your whole week so very little time for family during week, Long work days and weeks.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover rate
Driver (Current Employee) –  Metro NYC Jersey City, NJMarch 13, 2017
Overly hard work. It's a two-man job but only one man is doing it. Some of the supervisors are kiddish with overbearing Egos. Supplies to do the job correctly and effective are scarce.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Some supervisors are Childs Play
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Company to work for...
Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Kent, WAMarch 9, 2017
All aspects of the company are driven toward adding to the bottom line of the company. Employees are shown little value and are churned on a regular basis. Marketing Associate is expected to work Sunday through Friday with mandatory 4 hour sales meetings every Friday including once a month 8 hour meeting. Employee moral is poor and politics run rampant.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
Marketing Associate (Current Employee) –  Durango, COMarch 9, 2017
You will need to give them your life to work for this company. If you are a single person with no responsibilities, it may work for you but it requires 70 hours a week if you want to make any money. It takes 5 to 10 years to make a decent living. If you have that kind of time, it may work for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment
Outbound Warehouse Manager (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMarch 8, 2017
Very challenge day by day.
Challenges every minute.
Work side by side with you co-workers build trust.
Is very demanding environment, all ways need to make sure you give 100 + in daily basis.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
long hours for managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SYSCO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,018 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2