SYSCO Employee Reviews in United States

Found 760 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all a great place to work
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Tolleson, AZJune 23, 2016
worked there 26 years, so good job, 4 day work week averaging 12 hr days. lot go great people working there. hard part work was very physical. i like to drive.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work enviroment
Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 9, 2016
High volume sales opportunity with low margins. Information systems are in the process of being upgraded which will enhance the sales experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working job
packer (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAJune 7, 2016
This is a non stop moving job. you have to keep moving to be above your percentage to get your pay rate. I learned how to use a power hand jack and got used to it fast
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long time ago
Supervisor/Inspector (Former Employee) –  Jessup, MD 20794June 5, 2016
Well managed warehouse, Treated everyone the same across the board. Gave opportunity for advancement. Very long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Selector (Current Employee) –  Saint Charles, MOJune 2, 2016
2nd into 3rd shift....Long hrs and little to no home life. if you are single this is the job for you. if not then I would move along.
Pros
discounts on food/fresh meat. get food catered for special occations.
Cons
Long nights, and no advancment
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good training
Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Calera, ALJune 1, 2016
great place to learn the ropes. Superior training and products. I learned a lot from this company. Enjoyed working here but in the last couple of years the compensation had changed so much that I had to move on.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice campus
Planner (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 27, 2016
overall great company to work for however managment would need to require more training, utilize more skill set from collegues verses buddy system.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Professional Purchasing office for operating companies
Procurement Manager for accounts (Current Employee) –  Pompano Beach, FLMay 24, 2016
A very busy office with highly responsible management of purchasing produce related items to operating companies.
Manage account sales of over 8 million packages of produce annually.
Daily managing order reviews, entry data, price management.
Manage and direct contracts, items and vendors with buyers
Direct communications daily in the process of orders, deliveries and sourcing.
Manage accounting principals, bills for produce and transportation
Manage trucks for dispatching and communication standards
Supervise and maintain communications with other associates in office to obtain most pertinent market information
Pros
Active office, keeps you busy always changing, new things
Cons
hard to take a lunch break, eat at desk or find time to get up
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sysco Grand Rapids
Marketing Associate (Current Employee) –  Cadillac, MIMay 23, 2016
Great Company to work for. Driven for results, and creatively creates new initiatives to help drive business growth. Would prefer to see a more structured selling method.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable,and appreacitive of hard work
Night Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Selma, NCMay 22, 2016
Loved my experiences there and would recommend the job to a friend, if asked.
I enjoyed coaching my staff up to the next level, advancing them to take my place one day.
A typical day of work would consist of starting with dealing with the man-hours involved and what it would take to reach our productivity goals for the day, then helping the forklifts and selectors out with any and all issues or obstacles they may run to.
My managers took personal interest in my life, and were always understanding. But, understandably, expected results as well.
My co-workers were a great mix of backgrounds and were the most productive team you could hope for.
The hardest part of my job was the long hours. I have a very strong work ethic and would stay and help the following shifts out nearly every day. This would result in 14-18 hour days.
The most enjoyable part of my job was seeing others succeed because of something I either taught them, or motivated them into doing.
Pros
Good Comradery between management and associates
Cons
No bad things to say at all
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Experience
Management (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaMay 22, 2016
Great Company. Sysco has been very good to me. I would recommend Sysco as an employer. It is very solid and stable company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Multi unit Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAMay 20, 2016
very fast paced environment. The company offers classes to help improve skills. People are very friendly. The hours are long have to work weekends and holidays.
Pros
fast paced
Cons
when it comes to vaction time it is hard to get off.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks azz..
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Front Royal, VAMay 13, 2016
Managment is worse than horrible... You get paid good in the beginning then only .20 raise every year... Little to no room for advancement... Management are the boss HR works with management to cover their azz... Very demanding work... LM is crazy... no personal life..

FAVORITISM FAVORITISM this place needs a good overhaul starting from the top...


MANAGERS/supervisors are a bunch of controlling/egotistic babies that bullies hourly employees and gets away with it because HR and everyone above them covers for them...

If you try to go to the HR your screwed cause they inform the supervisors who WILL retaliate... Write ups till your fired or quit...

waiting for that fed up coworker scenario..


Great place to make money then move on to a better job once you are able to....
Pros
Great starting pay benefits
Cons
Managers/supervisors/ the people that think they run it
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with a nce selection of products.
Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 11, 2016
A great partner for your food service business. The company has a great selection of categories to sell any foodservice business.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Night Selector (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KSMay 10, 2016
Great company to work for, its the only company to hold you at very high accountability and percentage goal standards. They will push you to work better and be a better employee.
Pros
Pay is excellent
Cons
Percentage goals
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place
Technology Service Desk Analyst (Current Employee) –  Cypress, TXMay 9, 2016
It's a matter of opinion, I have no serious complaints on the company. I would like an overnight shift diff, but who knows what the future holds.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work with
Digital Marketing - Project Contractor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 8, 2016
Had a great working experience working at sysco. Everyone is helpful and you will learn a lot here. Overall i would recommend anyone this place to work at.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internal audit is a decent department
Senior Auditor - Internal Audit (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 6, 2016
Travel is exactly 50% or more which limits the work-life balance. Company culture is great for the most part. Compensation leaves much to be desired.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 5, 2016
Did not care about home life we worked over 14 hour days 6 days a week, never had a chance to spend time with family or events.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay and benefits were good.
Driver/Salesman, CDL/Class A License (Former Employee) –  Warners, NY 13164April 21, 2016
Deliver goods to customer locations everyday throughout WNY. Using a two wheeler off the back off a trailer. Long days and hard work. Pay and benefits were good.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 826 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.2