SYSCO Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun company to work for
SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAAugust 17, 2017
My experience with Sysco was a positive experience, in my opinion Sysco has the largest inventory and product line to offer customers. The best foodservice company in the USA.
Pros
Great management and support specialist
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Marketing Associate (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCAugust 17, 2017
Good company overall, management is good, corporate goals are extremely high and there is continuous pressure to meet numbers. Very stressful at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Little to no room for advancement.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNAugust 16, 2017
Sysco Memphis was not founded on the basis of inclusion. The sales force is comprised of 4 minorities out of 367. All decisions within the company are based on "like-ability" rather than are you qualified for the job. HR Dept is a complete joke and lack the competence to be engage with the employees. Cohesiveness and trust are obsolete within the company. The overall culture of the company is a antiquated and unproductive.
Pros
Frequent free meals, stock package, 401k
Cons
Lack of leadership, little to no managerial training, no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You work for the pay!
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYAugust 16, 2017
Great company for benefits but the pay is low for the work you do! Loads are almost always messed up as loaders and pickers bury products under multiple cases so you handle the cases multiple times before they can be delivered.
Pros
Excellent benefits
Cons
Long hours, loads more often than not are horrible, poor inventory equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced..hot!
Selector/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Palmetto, FLAugust 15, 2017
This is definitely a younger person's place to work , long hours and very strenuous on the body.the pay scale is fantastic you'll make good money by if you hustle!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive environment with opportunities to grow professionally.
Distributor Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAAugust 15, 2017
Sysco is a competitive workplace with opportunities to advance and contribute to a dynamic organization. Great internal support and tools / resources to help business owners grow and differentiate their businesses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and pay is great if you are a selector.
Outbound Warehouse Clerk (Current Employee) –  Jackson, WIAugust 14, 2017
If you are a selector you can make great money. I was told when I took the clerk position I would get quarterly reviews amd a yearly raise. Due to management dropping the ball, I worked my butt off the last year gor nothing as I found out that since they jave not given me my reviews, I am not eligable for a raise until next fiscal year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNAugust 14, 2017
I worked for this company for one year. The company is extremely using. They paid great and offered wonderful benefits. The management of the company is very unusual and not inviting for a long term position.
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough atmoshere to be apart of
Technology and Marketing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYAugust 14, 2017
Although my direct boss was great, the executive team did not provided the resources needed to achieve their goals. There have been major changes made recently that I believe could improve the environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed enviroment
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 11, 2017
Work i usually ready by the time employees get to work. Very friendly working atmosphere. Neat and clean facility. Everyone is treated fairly, and with respect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about SYSCO?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull work enviroment
Lead Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CAAugust 11, 2017
Horrible communication not geared towards customers only geared towards numbers. Great union truck drivers and some supervisors overworked and under paid.
Pros
Good product excellent xompany structure
Cons
No realastic views or customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Class C CDL Commercial Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Kent, WAAugust 10, 2017
Great Company to work for with excellent leadership and fantastic benefits. Takes good care of their employees and their families. Great vacation and retirement packages
Pros
Benefits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sysco is a great company to work for
Marketing Associate (Current Employee) –  TexasAugust 9, 2017
I enjoy working for Sysco and have high expectations to one day retire from this great company. I have the greatest coworkers in the region who are selfless and try to help one another at anytime of the day with problems or issues that may arrive. I just love Sysco!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work environment
Marketing Associate (Outside Sales) (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 8, 2017
great company. plenty of support from team leaders and buyers. vendors play a big role in your success. able to manage your own schedule. discount on all items.
Pros
great sales meetings.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique position with Corporate managing three different product lines
Regional Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 7, 2017
I learned to represent three manufacturers full product lines and managed growth of those products in four Sysco OPCOs. This position allowed me to continue my career with Sysco Corporation and move closer to Atlanta.
Pros
I worked with some Great People in this group and developed friendships that will last forever
Cons
Sysco Management gave up to quickly on this program.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depite the hard work good attitudes from most drivers.
Transportation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 7, 2017
Food service giant with lots of pressure to get product out on the road and delivered. Communication a bit slow. Organization is not strong in systematic procedures. Training is rushed.
Pros
Flexibility to work in the field and occasionally from home.
Cons
Tight delivery timelines.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Assistant Dock Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Jessup, MDAugust 7, 2017
Solo makes working on a daily basis with employees and managers feel like a family. Most of the people working here have been here for years which shows the amount of dedication and support they get from Solo. It's a great workplace which recognizes efforts and in turn provides rewards for a job well done
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of work but the money is worth it
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Jessup, MDAugust 6, 2017
If I didn't have kids it would be a great job to but for those who have families I don't think it's the job for them we worked 13-15 hours a day five days a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Order Filler/Restock (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 5, 2017
Fast pace

Learn how to drive tractor trailer

Didn't see them much

you were on your own

Throwing cases

Pulling and parking tractor trailer
Pros
Would have family gathering on weekends on occasion
Cons
The required braeks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Impossible to maintain 100% pick Rate
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Lenexa, KSAugust 3, 2017
cool place to work, but too many people in aisles to maintain 100% weekly average. They treat probes like s*** and and really just throw you in to drown.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SYSCO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,249 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2

CEO Approval

71%
452 ratings
Add your rating