SYSCO

629 reviews

SYSCO Employee Reviews

Found 576 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid job
selctor (Former Employee) –  Suffolk, VANovember 12, 2015
worked in freezer. had benefits. was able to work overtime when needed. gave the tools necessary to achieve success in your work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great money Hard work
Driver (Former Employee) –  Jessup, MDNovember 11, 2015
I really enjoyed the money i made with this company but be prepared to work hard. drive in tight spots and deliver a lot of food.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very physical job and not fun at all
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  FLNovember 11, 2015
sysco is a very demanding company to work for. Everyday was busy and routing was terrible. the warehouse were on a tight schedule as well which made them rush and not do a great job zoning product correctly. Management is poor here as well. they treat you like a number. the drivers i worked were like family and still are to this day.
Pros
free food from chefs.
Cons
very demanding physically and long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment with highly motivated atmosphere
National Accounts Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Maitland, FLNovember 9, 2015
I had the privilege of working in a professional atmosphere with great people. Always learned new things and management is always willing to try new ways of processing information.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sysco IT in transition
Sr. Manager, Program Management (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 8, 2015
Average workplace. Much transition and changes in Management. Transition to an SAP environment delayed.

Work Life Balance is ok, however new hires must work 7 years for 3 weeks vacation

Compensation is average

Job Security is average

Management is very new. No longer than 2 years in some Senior areas.

Job Culture varies by functional area.

Overall rating is 3
Pros
Fortune 500 Company
Cons
Constant change in process and platforms
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Lead Loader/Order Selector (Current Employee) –  Selma, NCNovember 4, 2015
A typical day at work for Winn-Dixie as a selector and forklift driver along with inventory control. I made sure quantity and quality of work was above job duties.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
with the company for eight years
Accounts Receiveables (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLNovember 4, 2015
I loved this job working with all the great people and had great customers, i love data entry accounts recieveables and i was heart broked when they did away with my posistion and i was let go
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and hardworking
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Harahan, LANovember 3, 2015
Sysco is a great company to work for, unfortunately u have to work at an incredible pace to make money. Great benefits but very hard work.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't make probation period
Delivery Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Des Plaines, ILNovember 2, 2015
The pay was great for the work performed and I thought I was going to make company. I actually took this job serious and was running out of truck down the ramps and trying my best to perform the functions of this crazy job! After 60 day review they let me go and I was not happy about it didn't expect it, but kept mouth shut and just threw my stuff on table and left
Pros
Great pay Great work out!
Cons
Hard to make company!
Was this review helpful?Yes11No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work that was close to home
business analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 29, 2015
Decent place to work that was close to home. The people for the most part were great to work with. The atmosphere was friendly and the work life balance was ok.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
chaotic
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good physical work
Delivery associate (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNOctober 26, 2015
A great job to stay in shape with. Moving 25,000 LBS on a daily basis and walking about 9 miles with weight on a 2 wheel dolly.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Tares the body up.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and knowledgeable
Warehouse Selector (Former Employee) –  Medley, FLOctober 26, 2015
They give you opportunities to grow within the company. Its a hard working and fast pace environment. You learn different sets of skills for the acquired positions. Too many people act like boss authorities, but others are friendly and cooperative. I've acquired skills to repack cases and inventory control, loading trucks, forklift, selector/order picker, and helping drivers on routes...
Pros
free food at times for differ events, within company n crewmembers.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 23, 2015
best paying job i ever had in my life. u can make how much money u want on a week to week base. respectful mangerment good 401k the best discount in any stores
Was this review helpful?Yes14No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Shuttle Driver (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 15, 2015
Sysco foods is rated #1 for a reason they are. Great place to work. From the top to the last one hired everyone is like family. I have worked at Sysco foods in Jacksonville Fl. and Denver CO. and both of these places are outstanding If the military didn't move me I would still be working with them.
Pros
new trucks and trailers
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes20No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good For motivated individuals
Credit Administrator (Former Employee) –  Medley, FLOctober 12, 2015
Great place to work lots of room fro growth only reason i left was for a career change but overall great company plenty of mentors at your despoil if you show good work ethic
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Credit Analyst/Get Paid Administrator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 11, 2015
Fun place to work with great management, benefits are incredible and very good family work life balance. Would recommend this company highly for employment
Was this review helpful?Yes17No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sysco good for a start but not a place to stay
HRIS Systems Support analyst (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 10, 2015
Sysco is not in sync with the modern world low pay and poor management do not help this company live up to its full potential.
Pros
work life balance is good
Cons
Raises are not with local standards
Was this review helpful?Yes20No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work For Real MEn
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Medley, FLOctober 5, 2015
Never knew what you were going to get as a load/route differnet everyday but you learned something everyday. Great Company To Work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, ever evolving and diverse workplace
Business Lead, IT Security Administration (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 2, 2015
IT within Sysco is very fast paced and challenging, as they are always trying to stay on top using the newest technology available. There are many opportunities for advancement provided you have the right skill sets. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with my team members and colleagues.
Pros
great co-workers/diverse
Cons
using managed services offshore/difficult work/life balance management
Was this review helpful?Yes14No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but good money
Route Truck Driver - Temp (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 1, 2015
YOu get thru the class room, must unload trailer via handtruck of pallet, training is ok, you make good money but they are all about speed and efficency,. if your slow or take your time they will let you go. Overall the money is great there. they work in all weather, they dont care if its 16 inches of snow you must come in to work on time and expect to go out. zero tolerance.
Pros
union after 90 working days
Cons
zero torelence for lateness on deliveries, working in all weather
Was this review helpful?Yes26No12

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 629 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture