T. Marzetti Company Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor leadership
Processor (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 27, 2017
I cant begin to explain how difficult it is to stay employed at this place. There's a very low lack of leadership and advancement its all politics and the production manager is a complete waste of time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typica work day
Quality Analyst I (Current Employee) –  Horse Cave, KYNovember 8, 2017
You start your day by changing into your uniform. Clock in after changing, get your shift handoff with information on what to expect for your shift. Usually the department manager nor the supervisors will address anyone unless there has been a problem and then they assign more work for everyone to try and prevent the problem from happening again. Production floor is always chaotic because of a lack of communication and leadership. Somehow work still gets completed. It is an overall lack of organization that is so frustrating.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Lack of organization and communication, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good friends
Operator (Current Employee) –  warheam maOctober 4, 2017
i been working there for 5 years and i have a lot of experience i teach new people but i get paid the same as new people i prepare and mix all tipe of bread i cook bread i cut bread i run all the machines in the building i training people
Cons
20 mm breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Administration Supervisor for Corporate (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJuly 11, 2017
Marzetti was a great place to work. I worked their for 14 yrs and met a lot of great people there. There are employee appreciation days, and company luncheons.
Pros
Employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Process Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 14, 2017
provided stability for many years now upper management have retired and a new management style is in effect. They have down sized all senior plant management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MISmanaged Managemenat--
Spice Room Attendant (Current Employee) –  Horse Cave, KYApril 27, 2017
RIght hand doesnt know what the left hand is doing. one person says something another different. was promised opportunity to switch shifts NOT. Been there going on a year and NO opportunity to switch shifts or departments. Miserable working conditions; inoperable safety items such as a suction for the spice dust DOES NOT WORK and hasnt for YEARS according to other employees.
Pros
free food on occasion from sister shubert/ Marzetti dressings
Cons
NO opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay. Everything else is questionable.
Mixer (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 7, 2017
They pay you just enough to keep you from leaving. I would recommend this place to most people. If you have good work ethics and insist on doing your job, be prepared to be overworked and singled out. They would rather ask you to do something than try to find the person whose job it really is.
Pros
Great pay, Great insurance, Solid 40 hour workweeks
Cons
Poor management, Low morale, Bad union, Third shift is nessisary but a huge joke, If you are in the union, which they say is mandatory for all hourly, there is no chance in moving to a differant location and little chance of advancment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think Twice
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Worthington, OHJanuary 24, 2017
Management favors a few, and disregards the needs of most. Human Resources ignores complaints. Many long-term employees that lack the skills to make the company great.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
oo many old school employees, no one leaves and new ideas are squashed.
Payables rep (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 22, 2017
Too many old school employees, no one leaves and new ideas are squashed. Computer systems are ancient and it takes 2-4 of them to band aid any reporting that is done. Sales has it together, the business administration side has very poor leadership, know how to do the job but are horrible at managing, no guidance no help is given. The first time doing a task, you better be right or be ready to be hit hard, instructions to do things can be 5-8 pages long, ask a question, you get hammered. Not recomended.
Pros
m-f work
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace Overall, Employees Very Friendly
R&D Technician (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 9, 2017
Only problem had here with this company was the advancement. i acquired the job from a temp agency, i was there for quite some time. Employees who have been with the company for 2-3 years were also still on contracts with temps, which was questionable comparing to what you were told in the interview with the supervisor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about T. Marzetti Company?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient safe workplace with high goals of quality and service
Quality Assurance Analyst (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OhioMay 27, 2015
- A typical work day includes approval of all raw ingredients and packaged products, execution of sanitation testing program for pre-operation, complete all extra assigned duties. Goal is for all departments to support and work together efficiently to produce safe, quality products.

- Most successful skill acquired not taught in school is how to work with all types of personalities and how to best accommodate everyone while stile maintaining high quality and safety

- Best part of the job is taking in pride in our companies high quality, safe products and feeling a part of the team to produce such items
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
various positions (Former Employee) –  Wilson, NYMarch 24, 2015
T. Marzetti Company offered me numerous advancements within the company, which I greatly appreciate. My superiors were the best. It was a very sad when we closed, as we were like a family. I was fortunate enough to be offered a transfer to another facility, however, family ties kept me here. They have an awesome work life balance ethic. Your family mattered to this company.

I would reccommend anyone to work for T. Marzetti Company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great leadership and great people
Shipping Clerk (Former Employee) –  Milpitas CaSeptember 19, 2014
T. Marzetti is a fast paced condiment manufacturing company which takes total pride in their product. They expect perfection and give you the guidance and tools for you to succeed. My Manager Frank Gallardo was a great leader and a great man.
Pros
There is alot of growing and learning at T. Marzetti
Cons
Unless you are a union member you cannot become full time long term.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Like Atmosphere
Accounts Payable Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHJuly 15, 2014
Friendly corporate office, hard working employees, large corporation, a super President to lead the company!
Pros
Free Monthly Samples, Quarterly Corporate Events
Cons
Longevity of staff (pro) leads to less advancements
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical old manufacturing plant
Quality Assurance Technician (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 29, 2014
Dark and gloomy, old equipment, the places needs a lot of work. The company requires a lot of overtime, so there are some pretty great paychecks.
Pros
Lots of overtime
Cons
Hard to balance work/life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of politics and drama
Food Scientist (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 4, 2014
Outside of basic QA or manufacturing, there's a lot of politics between management in each department, which obscures priorities. Also, the pay is not great. This is my personal experience; your mileage may vary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment.
Ricky Groghan, foreman (Former Employee) –  Horse Cave, KYNovember 29, 2013
- Fast paced and structured to produce a quality product.
- How to manufacture salad dressing.
- Overall management is good.
- I enjoyed working with co-workers.
- The hardest part of the job are the frozen ingredients.
- The most enjoyable part is working with co-workers.
Pros
air conditioning, good pay
Cons
insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
HR Generalist (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHAugust 2, 2013
Payroll
how to deal with union employees
managment not fulfilling promise on pay
helpful co workers
dealing with union workers
knowing the job was complete
Pros
Hours
Cons
Management not fulfulling pay increase after hired perm
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at T. Marzetti Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.5
Culture
2.7