TA TRAVEL CENTERS OF AMERICA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
run relaxed environment
Server (Former Employee) –  Tekonsha, MIOctober 11, 2017
Fun workplace and co-workers. The company tries to put fun activities in place to make the work day more enjoyable. the managers are easy to get along with and the atmosphere is very relaxed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job for high school student
Cook/dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAOctober 3, 2017
Wash dishes mop clean vents work doubles as cook get oe rders out fast work work work work work work wont get rasie no bonus no thank you nothing just a check that's under your work output
Pros
Fun work staff
Cons
No rasie no love for good workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
General Manager (GM) (Former Employee) –  IllinoisSeptember 29, 2017
This company is poorly managed. Clueless District Mangers up to less knowledgeable Field Managers. No rule No Training No Organization. I would rather stub my pinki toe then work for that company again.
Pros
Everyone eats free
Cons
Everything. The free food is even garbage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement
Restaurant General Manager (Current Employee) –  Corfu, NYSeptember 11, 2017
Great company for advancement. Working with the public is one of the most satisfying things about this job. It is also a great place if you want to learn, they are always willing to teach.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at TA and would go back to work there.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mt. Vernon, ILSeptember 1, 2017
TA was one of the best jobs I had. I would love to work back there. I love working with the public. My co-workers was great to work with. I would recommen that job to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great workplace
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, LAAugust 27, 2017
The travel centers of American is a great place to dine, shower, and enjoy wonderful refreshments at our store. A typical day at work requires seating guest, taking orders, bussing tables and checking them out ! I've learned about people from all over the world.
Pros
Great Food, chapel, clean showers, and refreshments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
chaotic poorly managed store
Porter (Former Employee) –  Wheat Ridge, COAugust 23, 2017
very very busy always having to catch up on what the person before you didn't do whIch sometimes was OK mostly it was just go go go . Felt very over worked and way under appreciated.
Pros
tips
Cons
working alone & half hour lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience as far as customer service
Fuel Desk Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Holbrook, AZAugust 3, 2017
This was a great place to work as far as getting customer service experience. Truckers can get rude at times but you also meet a lot of nice people. some of the coworkers are a little difficult to get along with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reasonable schedule multiple job tasks to stay busy
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Clayton, INJuly 31, 2017
Friendly staff flexible hours friendly customers always something to keep you busy challenging computers to learn but great once you get it learned good atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job, not a great career though
Lead Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Hebron, OHJuly 12, 2017
Decent company to work for. Ok benifits, some chances of advancement. Fairly low pay for the position. Very poor work/life balance due to never having a set schedule and hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people bad company to work for
Assistant General Manager (Current Employee) –  Fremont, INJuly 10, 2017
The people are fun to work with but the management is bad no Communication and they do not know how to handle things as far as unhappy employees I have worked ther for 5 years thinking it would change and it never has
Pros
You pay 300 a day for a meal and something to drink
Cons
No breaks endless they need to fix there numbers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor salary
Porter/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Madison, GAJune 25, 2017
Worked here for 9 months and wasnt paid according to the work. I felt like i should've gotten hazzard pay for dealing with showers and nasty bathroom. Management is not great, and they are not fair with hours. I made $8.75 and only got paid every two weeks. Too much drama in the work place and employees were rude to other employees.
Pros
20% discount and a three dollar deduction on paycheck for any fountain drink/coffee no limit
Cons
Poor healthcare plans and not enough pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ehh
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNJune 24, 2017
It is an ok place to work. Management is hit or miss most days. My biggest complaint is how they don't realy work with you if you have drs appointments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Tech Level II (Former Employee) –  Eloy, AZJune 22, 2017
Maintained a variety of vehicles including semi-trucks, tow trucks and daily commuter trucks. Followed company protocols on examinations, replacements and services. Operated pneumatic tools and air compressors. Serviced air conditioning, heating, engine cooling systems and electrical systems. Rebuilt faulty assemblies, including steering systems and linkages. Repaired and replaced belts, hoses, steering systems, tires, shocks, struts and brakes. Communicated vehicle issues and potential repairs with customers. Consistently generated additional revenue through skilled sales techniques; and gained repeat/referral business by using excellent customer service and problem solving skills
Pros
great with entry level workers
Cons
Not many locations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great money lots of work
Deisel Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Antioch, TNJune 12, 2017
Hard work everything deisil is extremely heavy but as long you use your head it can be done safe and easy. Everything will work out the way it should if you follow directions.
Pros
Good commission
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviorment
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJune 8, 2017
making coffee for truck drivers clean every night receive outside deliveries from vendors maintain the register stock shelves and stock the coolers clean gas pumps
Pros
good people
Cons
management sucked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different everyday
Porter (Current Employee) –  Terrell, TXJune 7, 2017
Fun place to work, you meet people traveling and truckers from all over the US most of the co workers are great to work with some people work some do not makes it hard to do a good job when you are doing your work and someone else work, which becomes the norm.
Pros
discounts
Cons
lots of chiefs no indians
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its drama central
Cook/Prep (Current Employee) –  Teays Valley, WVMay 10, 2017
If you dont like drama or people screaming at you like a dog dont work there. When i first started working here im not going to lie i did like it it was fun fast paced.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TA truck stop
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mt. Vernon, MOMay 3, 2017
I loved the fact that I'm a people person and got to interact with new people everyday the truck stop was a great place to work and it was busy some days and slow others but never a dull moment there..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New Lisbon, INMarch 7, 2017
A typical day at work was usually steady paced and it was a very laid back environment. Management was awesome. The company cared about their employees. The hardest part about my job was learning all of the little details. The most enjoyable part of my job was meeting new people. There are a lot of regular customers who come in daily.
Pros
Breaks, benefits
Cons
open 24 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at TA TRAVEL CENTERS OF AMERICA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 46 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.2

TA TRAVEL CENTERS OF AMERICA Reviews by Location