Taco John's Employee Reviews

Showing all 388 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fun
Cook, Cashier, Food Prep, MIT (Former Employee) –  Princeton, KYMay 23, 2017
Loved it, ownership drove me away because she wouldn't give me a raise. An wanted me to as a manager but I didn't personally feel like she knew how to keep one because we went through 10 in my 13 months there.
Pros
Free food, decent hrs, and great leadership by GM
Cons
Dirty, and greasy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace, easy going environment.
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYMay 17, 2017
working here helped with a better look on time management. Adapt to handling pressure when overwhelmed and quick problem solving. Team work is a must here to advance in more opportunities.
Cons
short breaks, no discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst job
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Salina, KSMay 17, 2017
This job has a horrible turn over rate and bad management. Switches owners all the time. I would not recommend unless you do not like stability with your jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun work place, clean environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Dillon, MTMay 16, 2017
My day at work was fun, with good people and flexible.
I learned to prep cook, cashier, shut machines down, and sanitation skills.
Management was great and always willing to teach me more.
The workplace was clean, flexible and organized.
Hardest part of the job was clean out the vats.
Most enjoyable part of the job is management was always willing to teach me new things and my co workers were good people, and great customers.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recomended
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Sartell, MNMay 16, 2017
Not a good place to advance. They kept saying they'd make me a manager and keep making excuses not to. They talk about anything and everything while you're on the clock and bring personal problems to work with them. May just be the stores I've worked at for them, but I wouldn't recommend it as more than just an into job to get on a resume.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job material
Shift Leader/Manager (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEMay 15, 2017
Working for Taco John's was a great experience. I learned a lot about beginning to develop my leadership skills and social skills. The job was providing excellent customer service in a timely manner. The work enviroment was enjoyable and a great starting point for anyone looking to gain people skills.
Pros
Employee discount on products.
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with fun people
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Watertown, SDMay 11, 2017
Taco John's has always been like family and they're very flexible with scheduling. No one stays serious for too long but we all know when the tacos and burritos need to be made and get down to business. Its nice that they give half price discounts to workers and free drinks, Christmas gifts and a party! There's definite potential to become a shift manager here.
Pros
50% discounts on food, free drinks, Christmas bonus, IRAs, insurance
Cons
Only if you don't like cleaning!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is fast food
Cashier and Food prep (Former Employee) –  Council Bluffs, IAMay 11, 2017
Decent fist job, but it is fast food. The management was good and so where most of the co workers but the pay wasnt enough to make a living on and it is a very fast pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Manager (Current Employee) –  ColoradoMay 10, 2017
Love my job but the pay is so low. Great atmosphere. Good flexibility with scheduling. Nice management. Vacation time. Has health benefits but they are unaffordable.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing part time job with great management
Team Member/ Night Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sturgis, SDMay 10, 2017
Working for Taco Johns was the best first job I could have ever asked for. The manager was super nice and amazing at being flexible with everyone's schedule. She made sure everyone was doing their share of work equally as well. The level of cleanliness and organization of the restaurant was phenomenal. If you are looking for a part time or even full time job opportunity, I would highly suggest Taco Johns as an option for people young and old.
Pros
Great management, flexible schedules, equal workload
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work place
Cashier/ Front House (Former Employee) –  North CasperMay 8, 2017
The hardest part about working there was trying to get along with everyone when they were have a bad day, but most of the time we had fun if everyone had a great mood. Closing was always the best part because that's when everyone would make jokes and just have the best time.
Pros
Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management, don't expect a schedule
Food Prep (Former Employee) –  Morristown, TNMay 8, 2017
Taco John's has a manager who relies upon nepotism in order to keep her employees, there literally is no schedule and you will be given nothing but busy work
Pros
50% off
Cons
Scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job, bad managment
Closing Manager (Former Employee) –  Kennewick, WAMay 8, 2017
This job is a great holdover, but dont expect to stay long if you wish for fair or even treatment from the managment. I worked theire for a long time, saw many people come and go, and very few were treated fairly. Hard workers were pushed till they left, and everyone else made to feel like they couldn't survive anywhere else. Other than issues with managment, the job was great. Wonderful people to work with ouytside of the managment circle, and easy to understand job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  North Platte, NEMay 6, 2017
It was good except during rushes. management is great. Fairly flexible with work hours. Not to hard to get days off. It is similar to other fast food jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Grand Island, NEMay 5, 2017
Overworked and underpaid
You work really hard and try your best and it's never enough.
The people here don't respect their employees and they don't treat them right.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  East Peoria ilMay 3, 2017
Great work place.
Great people.
Awesome customers.
Cleanliness is good.
Great food.
Great customer service.

I love everything about Taco Johns and would recommend itt to numerous others.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IAMay 2, 2017
I was over worked and underpaid . I work as hard as I could for them and it was for absolutely nothing. There was no advancement aside from the manager offering a position if I did not leave , but he never would follow through with his offer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent First Time Job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Salina, KSApril 26, 2017
Management really works with you to train you. Customers usually nice and generous with large tip with visibly long-term hard work. Equipment is very simple to learn.
Pros
Drinks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We all work well as a team
Fast Food Cashier (Current Employee) –  Rockford, ILApril 25, 2017
I still work here. The manager is a very genuine person. Everyone stays focus and gets the task done. I love to be at the register because I have excellent customer skills. The hardest part of the job is working on the line or putting the food up from the truck.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable part of the job
Cook (Former Employee) –  Gillette, WYApril 24, 2017
enjoyed working with the coworkers and having a great time will we work amazing people willing to train you the right way and go beyond what is accepted
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Taco John's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 388 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3