Takata Employee Reviews

Found 56 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool
Warehouse Clerk (Current Employee) –  Howell, MIJuly 18, 2017
Job is definitely easy for the pay, just stay to yourself. there were plenty of conflicts during my time working with them. over all the pay is good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job over all
Line Operator (Current Employee) –  Moses Lake, WAJune 13, 2017
Good pay and benefits and job security. management isn't the best. sometimes work schedules change every couple of months. Chances to advance are possible but mostly if you know the right people. In all if your looking for a good paying job and don't mind last minute schedule changes try it.
Pros
Good pay job security
Cons
Work Schedule always subject to Change
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You don't want to work here right now
Technical Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Auburn Hills, MIJune 6, 2017
Worked for Takata for 18 years most of them i was very happy with. these past few years with the recalls, pending buyout and lose of business has let the company a shell of what it was.
Pros
mostly work with good people
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs to be over hauled for management HR head is the worst, Be a favorite or be fired.
Gladiator / Mixer Operator (Former Employee) –  Moses Lake, WAJune 6, 2017
Hours weren't awful, The management/ leads are the worst aside from a few good ones. Its always quantity over quality, over all a awful place to work.
Pros
benefits, compensation, sick leave, wages
Cons
aside from the above pros all cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive environment
Assembly Operator (Former Employee) –  Moses Lake, WAMarch 17, 2017
i love that we always stayed busy and to know that i was making a product that could save someones life so i loved my job and all management was very open and felt like if i had a problem they were always there to listen
Pros
we save lives
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It can be interesting
Technician (Current Employee) –  MichiganFebruary 25, 2017
I enjoy working for Takata. Working here has given me several opportunities and I would recommend it as a good place to work. The only areas that it could improve on it seems the company is actively trying to improve. Its obvious they see what they need to do and are working to achieve it. The problem is the negative shadow cast by the recalls, and the uncertainty that it brings.
Pros
Good work life balance, Interesting
Cons
Older management styles leave some feeling ignored
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
embedded software engineer
Embedded Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Auburn Hills, MIFebruary 14, 2017
work in this company is very great full to me and i felt very happy in this company and make me learn more in this all very supportive and encouraging and helping in all areas
Pros
embedded software engineer
Cons
embedded software engineer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very strict but fun place to be with high pay
Line Worker (Current Employee) –  Howell, MINovember 13, 2016
There is a lot of extra stuff that go on but for the most part they try to keep most of the workers happy and the pay is very good for the type of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was interesting but very demanding
Operator III (Former Employee) –  Moses Lake, WASeptember 29, 2016
Takata requires a lot of mandatory overtime and the work is very physical. The management was nice, and they did have an employee appreciation day once a year as well as a swim party at the local aquatic center. After 5 years of employment each employee got a total of 120 vacation pay on top of the sick pay.
Pros
Good health insurance
Cons
Low pay cap, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineer
Co-Op Engineer (Current Employee) –  Auburn Hills, MISeptember 19, 2016
Recalls are constantly growing and they fail to notify the staff until after it hits the media. Management seems to not care in certain aspects. Product Engineers are straight out of school and neglect real world experience in an engineering environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead end with good benefits.
Die Maintenance Tech (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 16, 2016
They need to hire divorced toolmakers paying a lot in alimony, because if you are not already, you will be. 7 day work week is normal despite being told repeatedly in the interview that it was done occasionally in the past. Tools are cut up and shimmed eight ways to Sunday, a real nightmare to get correct.
Pros
Good healthcare benefits
Cons
Management that blames Diemakers instead of their own push for parts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding work environment with no ability to excel
Propellant Specialist (Former Employee) –  Moses Lake, WAAugust 31, 2016
- show up then work for 8 hours mon-sun
- i learned how to mix chemicals and press them into pill form
- when i had a complaint management didn't take anything i said into consideration
-the people i worked with were childish, irresponsible and rude
-the hardest part of the job was to withhold 100 degree heat for hours
- the most enjoyable part of the job were the breaks
Pros
3 breaks
Cons
incompatible working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a whole lot to advance here
Maintanence Technician (Former Employee) –  Moses Lake, WAAugust 22, 2016
Clock in and get a pass down from the other techs. After that basically keep the machines going. Lots of babysitting operators and resetting machines. You learn enough but anything new they basically dont tell you anything you just have to read off a procedure book.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Job, Great Compensation
Propellant Operator (Current Employee) –  Moses Lake, WAAugust 11, 2016
Everything is great besides the fact that it takes a long time to transfer to a different shift, The work to pay ratio is good I've worked harder in previous jobs for less pay.
Pros
20 minute paid lunch or 30 minute non-paid option
Cons
May be required to work 7 days a week at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work was Steady
Assembly Lead (Former Employee) –  Moses Lake, WAAugust 1, 2016
Learned a lot about volatile explosives and Safety regulations. Team work was very important. Volunteered for Safety representative was advanced to lead after nine months. Good place to work. Could be difficult when working on second or third shift for family life. May still be working there, but had a chance for more education.
Pros
Good benefits and pay
Cons
Worked seven days a week
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not prductive
Warehouse Attendant, Assembler (Former Employee) –  Cheraw, SCJuly 17, 2016
may go in a stand up most of the day. I learned not to trust no one to turn in my down time when they see my machine was not running
Pros
nothing
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for
QA Sampler (Current Employee) –  Moses Lake, WAJune 26, 2016
A decent place to work at. The Benefits are Great and Wages are above average. Management is Nice and Friendly. Work is steady and sometimes demanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay,Not enough workers,dangerous rough environment
Stamping (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 9, 2016
This place pays good depending on what department you are in.Over all the workers are very friendly and helping,especially the quality lab,logistics and maint and die maint departments.the plating and welding department is a different story,the workers from there are very trashy,gossip too much and if you do not speak Spanish they will mess with you as a lot of the workers are from Mexico.Highest paying positions are stamping,die maint,maint and wire edm.The experience in stamping is the workers are pretty much good to work with and friendly,however you have some that have been there for so long that they will watch your every move,scream,yell and curse at you and force you to things half way that are dangerous just to get the job done.The lead of the Third shift is very knowledgeable,however he still has a immature attitude as he is still a young kid,expect him to make you throw out oil,trash,gloves when it is not your week just to make sure the other workers hit and or exceed quota.The training is very poor,expect you to be throwing trash,oil,mopping and sweeping,and stacking parts for three months or so.There are no manuals or instructions to operate the machinery that you can take home or learn,it is on the PLC screen to view but you cannot download it,print it out and will have the time to read it.This is why they cannot keep workers,either they are terrified or it is too much manual work.The majority of the fellow workers have no prior machining experience,most do not know how to use measuring instruments,read blue prints or are just forced to keep making poor quality  more... parts as the company is known for.If you end up in the stamping department but have a very heavy resume and machining experience you can kiss that goodbye,this department will hold on to you until you either quit,they have someone as good as you to replace you,or you have the exact experience for the department you would better fit.For example if you want EDM machining,you must have EDM experience because the manager in charge of that department does not want to train employees.He will make it as difficult as he can to make sure you do not get this position.Overall the money is their if you are willing to put up with it.  less
Pros
pay, steady work
Cons
no days off, aggressive co workers, department confrontations
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting job
Product Engineer (Current Employee) –  Auburn Hills, MIJanuary 26, 2016
The engineer is expected to play too many roles. We are expected to play engineering, quality, process engineer, build technician, among other roles. This usually ends up leading to many late nights when there shouldn't be, work life balance could use some help. The job security is great because they can't afford to fire anyone. In my 4+ years at Takata I've only seen 3 people fired, but that's because they were horrid. But what's nice is that since management knows you work longs hours, they can be forgiving with work from home days if you ask for them.
Pros
job security
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Auburn Hills, MIDecember 2, 2015
Interesting company, much to learn about the products it manufactures. It was nice to travel to plants in Mexico and the United States, see the products manufactured there, its processes and meeting many employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Takata. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 155 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6