Talbert House Employee Reviews

Showing all 87 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do great work for people in need, however the agency struggles has poor corporate culture
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 20, 2017
I have worked with Talbert House in multiple roles over the course of 6 years and have enjoyed the work I have done. However, the corporate culture of the agency can be quite poor - many departments have no accountability, as such their lack of production creates many stressors on the sites providing direct care to clients. HR department will take weeks to post for open positions, leading to decreased client care, the billing department takes months sometimes even a full year to bill for services rendered, which reflects negatively on the sites, etc... If you are a direct service provider, I would strongly recommend the job. However, individuals in positions of management often get burned out as they are often held accountable for actions of other departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day in the Life
IT Infrastucture Specialist (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 14, 2017
IT Staff member work in never done.

The Department works well as a team.

Our current Director manages well

We are a small department but we have some of the best persons working the projects. The technology is current and improving every year.
Pros
Decent Work Life Balance
Cons
No upward mobility and very little increases in salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Youth Care Provider (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 13, 2017
I would not like to give a review. This should be a choice not a requirement.

I have nothing to say regarding no job I ever worked for.

Nothing nothing nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Case Management
Clinical Service Provider (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 6, 2017
There are various sites to obtain employment within this organization. Overall, high turnover, lack of support, overworking all levels of staff, inadequate management, overall very stressful work environment from all aspects
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace culture
Administrative Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 27, 2017
This organization has an excellent policy of hiring exceptional people to fulfill their staffing needs;bonded with a quite a few of the employees while employed with this organization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NON profit ran like its FOR profit
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 16, 2017
no regard or concern for clients only documentation to get company paid.NON profit ran like its FOR profit,low pay for extremely high expectations. and NON profit ran like its FOR profit
Pros
catered meals few times a month
Cons
low pay for extreamly high expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress
Administrative Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 12, 2017
Very stressful in every position due to the clients with little to no support from immediate supervision except for a very rare occasion. Negative atmosphere by most co-workers.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Most days were rough.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Administrative Specialist (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 16, 2017
Good place for someone who wants a career in social work, mental health, and psychiatric services. This place is for someone who have strong management and patience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workforce training and personal development
Workforce Developer (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 15, 2017
Committed organization seeking to help individuals that have experienced setbacks in their life. Whether the challenges were through courts and corrections, dependency, or other life changing situations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a healthy place for people who are passionate about helping others.
Clinical Corrections Provider (Former Employee) –  Spring GroveMay 10, 2017
It was an experience. Good for experience , training and resume building but not a good place for stability and African Americans. The culture is very cut throat.
Pros
They will provide you with lunch every so often
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Really Great Nonprofit to Work for
Public Relations Specialist (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 18, 2017
Talbert House pushes building leaders and growing from within. It has been a great place to work. Management truly cares about what is best for you as a person and continues to challenge you to use your strengths. In addition to career advancement, there is plenty of opportunity to try different job fields within the agency so you never get "bored" with your work. The organization is run more like a business than most nonprofits which gives it a more professional feel. Seeing the work in action and the positive outcomes from clients is a reward in itself.
Pros
leadership development, opportunity for annual raise, great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social Worker
Prevention Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 1, 2017
Social Worker for Talbert House and daily duties involved client management, client support, progress monitoring, and group facilitation. Caseloads were often high and somewhat difficult to maintain.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay work place
Associate Director (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHFebruary 24, 2017
the company has a lot of perks - in house continuing education credits. the management is very reactionary and would do better to be more proactive. some sites receive more support than others
Pros
ceu's
Cons
salaries
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs improvement
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJanuary 15, 2017
Upper management is disconnected from the employee's responsibilities and needs. Poor compensation for anyone under associate directors. Questionable ethics
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nonprofit with excellent mission
Human Resources Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJanuary 13, 2017
Like any nonprofit the budget constraints at Talbert House played a major part of employee dissatisfaction however the mission itself made up for it. The management team made smart strategic decisions and focused on providing excellent services to the community.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meaningful Work
Associate Director of Development (Former Employee) –  Vine Street, Cincinnati OHJanuary 10, 2017
A typical work day in my area was from 8 to 4:30 with occasional evenings and weekends. I learned a lot about the human services field and the pay for service structure. Overall management was good and co-workers were helpful. The hardest part of the job was working within the restrictions of a pay for service government funded agency. The most enjoyable part of the job was the co-workers.
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talbert House has a great mission and really cares about the community they serve
IT Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHDecember 7, 2016
This is a great job if you'd like to give back to the community and get experience. However there is little room for advancement and they have a high turnover rate in my opinion. There is very few incentives and you literally feel like you can be replaced often.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talbert House? Run!
Substance Abuse Counselor (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHDecember 4, 2016
The only good thing about Talbert House is that you get your foot into the door if this is the field that you want to work in. Horrible management that will throw you under a bus in a heartbeat. Low end employees that are low paid, disgruntled and can't find work anywhere else. It was one of the worst jobs I ever had and I was happy when I found another job.
Pros
Get your feet wet.
Cons
Pretty much, everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace with good people
Direct resident activities (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHOctober 25, 2016
A typical day at work is interacting with clients discussing their lies and what they are trying to achieve,
I have learned how to be patient with people you never know what a person has been through or is going through.
My management team was great i learned a lot from them.
I love my co-workers they are like family to me.
The hardest part of the job is not being able to help clients'
the most enjoyable part of the job is working with my co-workers and and helping someone with a problem and made the smile.
Pros
Staff Appreciation day, great overtime
Cons
inconsistances
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Human Resource Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHOctober 8, 2016
Talbert House is a community-wide nonprofit network of services focusing on prevention, assessment, treatment and reintegration. Services are provided at multiple sites throughout Greater Cincinnati for children, adults and families.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Talbert House. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 87 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1

CEO Approval

63%
22 ratings
Add your rating