Talbot's Employee Reviews

Showing all 34 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of energy will be needed to work here fast paced environment
CLIENT SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAJune 21, 2017
I enjoyed helping customers pick out fabulous outfits for special occasions. I always had return clients that enjoyed working with me and I with them.
Pros
50% employee discount on great clothing, flexible schedules, always busy
Cons
Mostly older women co workers that didnt seem happy with their job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Client Specialist (Former Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXJune 6, 2017
Working as a client specialist at Talbots was truly a rewarding experience for me both personally and professionally.

The people that I worked with were some of the best people I know. And our team selling environment really promoted a happier environment to work in.

The hardest part of the job was the lack of breaks given if you didn't work over or at 6 hours. Part of this was that our store was understaffed, but it could be trying at times.

The most enjoyable part of the job was helping someone build an outfit, and building and cultivating relationships with clients, some of which I'm still friends with.
Pros
Great people to work with, friendly environment
Cons
Short to no breaks sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Customer service (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 25, 2017
it was fun to meet new people.
I learned to convers with different people.
Co-wokers was amazing to be around.
The hardest part the work load that had to be done in half hour.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive ad good experience
Employee (Former Employee) –  Ketchikan, AKFebruary 22, 2017
A lot to learn and great experiences with different people, the tourists, It was a very good place to work at, a lot of improvements were achieved and experiences at different job titles there.
Pros
People
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bath and Body Works
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Davenport, IAFebruary 3, 2017
They company is great to work for. They give you all the tools you need to be successful. It was always busy so you were never bored. Management was great,
Pros
Sales
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNSeptember 8, 2016
Talbot's is a great place to work, great atmosphere.

I like the comradery that I have with the customers and store associates over the phone as well as my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting place to work, no two days are the same.
Sales Support (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 19, 2016
I have been able to lean customer service skills and further my interpersonal skills. During my time with Talbot's i have also been able to learn the value of being flexible and problem solving.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not recomend to any one!
Personal Shopper (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 29, 2016
Talbots treats their employees really bad ! management starting from top to bottom are uncaring people ... they work you to death and don't even say think you ! they don't like black people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job was fullfilling helping others
Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  Wyomissing, PAJanuary 12, 2016
It was a great job. The most enjoyable part was working with people, just very difficult when working retail hours when you a sick child
Pros
chance for promotions
Cons
working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAAugust 3, 2015
Great place to work with great people and product. Our staff was seasoned and everyone knew everyone. Repeat customers
Pros
Strong client base
Cons
Pay was okay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talbots is a good company for retail
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCSeptember 24, 2014
I worked with excellent staff members, standing all day would be my biggest complaint.
Pros
meeting new people and assisting them with things that made them feel beautiful
Cons
1. Standind all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many changes
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Concord, NHJune 11, 2014
A lot of changes in a short amount time. Big turnover. Upper management expects a lot to be finished with little time and no man power along with no payroll hours.
Pros
discount, coworkers, customers
Cons
benefits are expensive, pay is low
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy
Lead Sales Associate/Stylist (Current Employee) –  Brentwood, CAApril 11, 2014
A typical day at work would be a very busy day servicing my client and meeting my goals at the end of the day,What I have learned for the most part as a previous Small Boutique Owner..I learned how to better operate a retail store and how to time manage in daily operation .
I am learning the process of reaching organizational goals by working with and through people and other organizational resources.
I consider my co-worker as team members and find to be very helpful and surpportive in company daily operarion.
I love what I do in retail it's been my interest for the last thirteen years...and I consider myself to be very good at what I do as well as working with people so when I don't suceed in my customer needs for what ever reason It's hard to deal with because I set goals for myself and strive to meet them daily...So when I have completed my day and met all company goals as well as servicing my client at the end of the day I would feel to be the most enjoyable part of my job.
Pros
My general job
Cons
Not receiving the salary for the skills I offer and the option to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work hours; Flexible schedual; Team work;
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 10, 2014
Customer satisfaction is goal; Fun environment; Competitive workplace;
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHFebruary 8, 2014
Some days were more busy than other days. Sometimes we had enough staff and other times we had very little staff.
so when you walked into the store you never knew what you were going to get.

I saw that as a challange and enjoyable. A challange because one could walk into the store and have a huge mess to clean up and organize and sometimes you had no work to do because of the large amount of staff.
The enjoyable part is the not knowing what your day will bring.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MAOctober 15, 2013
While I was employed with this company I enjoyed everybit of it. The management was amazing and the people i worked closely with were also great. The work environment was top notch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely negative environment
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXSeptember 4, 2013
Overall company may deserve higher ratings. The specific store I was assigned to had dysfunctional management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 5, 2013
too much compensation in the fashion industry
too much pressure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of associates, poor management
Assistant shipper/receiver (Former Employee) –  Waterford, CTJune 27, 2013
For a typical day at work, I usually arrived their and took care of the cardboard and trash- there was a lot. Then jumped into processing packages, pricing items, and general things that were asked of me. The management was great until the new manager came in. Hardest part of the job was probably putting up with the new "manager" if you could even call her that. The Co- workers were great upbeat energetic people; we all got along great. The most enjoyable part was being able to joke around with Co-workers and have fun while still fulfilling your responsibilities. Breaks were also a plus.
Pros
half-hour breaks
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAMarch 19, 2013
Enjoy working for Talbots. Great people to work with and good environment.
Pros
discount on clothes
Cons
feet are sore after 4-5 hours of being on your feet
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Talbot's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 34 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8