Talbot's Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not recomend to any one!
Personal Shopper (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 29, 2016
Talbots treats their employees really bad ! management starting from top to bottom are uncaring people ... they work you to death and don't even say think you ! they don't like black people
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job was fullfilling helping others
Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  Wyomissing, PAJanuary 12, 2016
It was a great job. The most enjoyable part was working with people, just very difficult when working retail hours when you a sick child
Pros
chance for promotions
Cons
working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAAugust 3, 2015
Great place to work with great people and product. Our staff was seasoned and everyone knew everyone. Repeat customers
Pros
Strong client base
Cons
Pay was okay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talbots is a good company for retail
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCSeptember 24, 2014
I worked with excellent staff members, standing all day would be my biggest complaint.
Pros
meeting new people and assisting them with things that made them feel beautiful
Cons
1. standind all day
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many changes
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Concord, NHJune 11, 2014
A lot of changes in a short amount time. Big turnover. Upper management expects a lot to be finished with little time and no man power along with no payroll hours.
Pros
discount, coworkers, customers
Cons
benefits are expensive, pay is low
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy
Lead Sales Associate/Stylist (Current Employee) –  Brentwood, CAApril 11, 2014
A typical day at work would be a very busy day servicing my client and meeting my goals at the end of the day,What I have learned for the most part as a previous Small Boutique Owner..I learned how to better operate a retail store and how to time manage in daily operation .
I am learning the process of reaching organizational goals by working with and through people and other organizational resources.
I consider my co-worker as team members and find to be very helpful and surpportive in company daily operarion.
I love what I do in retail it's been my interest for the last thirteen years...and I consider myself to be very good at what I do as well as working with people so when I don't suceed in my customer needs for what ever reason It's hard to deal with because I set goals for myself and strive to meet them daily...So when I have completed my day and met all company goals as well as servicing my client at the end of the day I would feel to be the most enjoyable part of my job.
Pros
my general job
Cons
not receiving the salary for the skills i offer and the option to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work hours; Flexible schedual; Team work;
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 10, 2014
Customer satisfaction is goal; Fun environment; Competitive workplace;
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHFebruary 8, 2014
Some days were more busy than other days. Sometimes we had enough staff and other times we had very little staff.
so when you walked into the store you never knew what you were going to get.

I saw that as a challange and enjoyable. A challange because one could walk into the store and have a huge mess to clean up and organize and sometimes you had no work to do because of the large amount of staff.
The enjoyable part is the not knowing what your day will bring.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MAOctober 15, 2013
While I was employed with this company I enjoyed everybit of it. The management was amazing and the people i worked closely with were also great. The work environment was top notch
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely negative environment
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXSeptember 4, 2013
Overall company may deserve higher ratings. The specific store I was assigned to had dysfunctional management.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 5, 2013
too much compensation in the fashion industry
too much pressure.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of associates, poor management
Assistant shipper/receiver (Former Employee) –  Waterford, CTJune 27, 2013
For a typical day at work, I usually arrived their and took care of the cardboard and trash- there was a lot. Then jumped into processing packages, pricing items, and general things that were asked of me. The management was great until the new manager came in. Hardest part of the job was probably putting up with the new "manager" if you could even call her that. The Co- workers were great upbeat energetic people; we all got along great. The most enjoyable part was being able to joke around with Co-workers and have fun while still fulfilling your responsibilities. Breaks were also a plus.
Pros
half-hour breaks
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAMarch 19, 2013
Enjoy working for Talbots. Great people to work with and good environment.
Pros
discount on clothes
Cons
feet are sore after 4-5 hours of being on your feet
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Store Sales Manager II (Current Employee) –  Westchester, NYMarch 2, 2013
Company realignment makes job stability unpredictable. Very high end environment, customer oriented retail store
Pros
great discount
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun staff
Customer Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Dale City, VAFebruary 20, 2013
very good job layed back but responsible at the same time
learned about sales
learned how much responsibilities a manager has
co workers were nice and clean.
hard part about the job was sales
fun part was meeting new people
Pros
good money
Cons
les business
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Retailer
Diversity Specialist/College Recruiter (Former Employee) –  HinghamDecember 19, 2012
First company I worked for out of college. I had a great management team and great co-workers that trained me, and let me shadow.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service/ Sales
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Short Hills, NJDecember 6, 2012
• Greeted customers in a friendly and courteous manner.
• Handled merchandise returns and exchanges
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
walking distance to my home
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hendersonville, NCDecember 1, 2012
Enjoyed working for Talbots, I learned to work on a computer, loved the managment, got along good with co workers, The hardest part was carring clothing up and down a ladder. I lived very close so I could walk back and forth.
Cons
climbing up and down ladders.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast-paced
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 11, 2012
I loved working at Talbot's! Working with a brand that is growing and expanding was very rewarding. I would recommend this company to anyone!!
Pros
discounts on a great brand...
Cons
no health benefits...
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the team I work with and the quality of the products we sell. I only wish the company offered full time employment for sales associates.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Fredericksburg, VAAugust 5, 2012
I love my job. I have the privilege of meeting a variety of wonderful people while at the same time having the satisfaction of knowing I was able to assist them in finding items that they were looking for. I have learned many different avenues of the retail business and I have awesome managers. My co-workers from day one were very welcoming and as a unit are fantastic to work with. The hardest part for me has been not being able to work full time. I have enjoyed all the different aspects of my job, but I think the most rewading has been when I have been able to help a customer find an outfit that makes them feel good about themselves when they put it on and how grateful they are for my help.
Pros
discounts on merchandise
Cons
no full time employment/health benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Talbot's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8