Find companies:
Tallahassee Community College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

Tallahassee Community College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, interactive workplace
Administrative Assistant Senior Cashier (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FloridaOctober 28, 2014
A typical day as an administrative assistant varied from day to day, which kept it interesting. I was responsible for greeting students upon entrance, scheduling or re-scheduling appointments. Answering the phone within three rings, transferring, taking messages, operating the copy machine/ facsimile. And occasionally running errands. All the while – more... making sure that everything pertaining to the front area was running calmly, peacefully and in order. My co-workers and I often times worked together to ensure that everything was operating smoothly, if someone was held up working on a specific task, the others would fill in. The hardest part of the job was trying to keep the peace while students are raging in anger. The easiest part of the job was the face to face interaction with the students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant to dean
Assistant to the Dean (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: working with students
Cons: dealing with the dean
I worked with students and faculty. I helped students register for classes. I helped faculty with their paperwork that was required by the college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun enviroment
Surgical Technologist Student (Current Employee), Tallahassee, FLSeptember 10, 2014
Very good school but the program was a little un-organized because it is a new program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Insightful on how a community based program is structured.
Assistant/Intern (Former Employee), 444 Appleyard DriveJuly 23, 2014
Working in the Take Stock in Children office,a typical day would begin with me arriving 8:00am and greeting my co-workers. I would begin working on any previous tasks that I have been assigned and presenting them to my manager. I would make sure that all files are up to date and that each student personal file is correctly positioned for easy access.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Work Study Student (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLJune 30, 2014
it work around my schedule and its great for students who are attedning school
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience with minor set-backs
Intramural Supervisor (Current Employee), Tallahassee, FLJune 7, 2014
Great work enviroment with some down falls. Hours are slim. Pay is ok. But the enviroment is great you have to love what you do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
While working for TCC, my position allowed me to connect with other adult students,as well as the importance of staying connected to complete anything
PEER LEADER (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLMay 27, 2014
Pros: working with fellow students and staying connected to my future goal.
Cons: healthcare and part-time
A typical day at work consisted of assisting professors, having daily meetings in regards to the " Pantry," which is for students who have financial problems, will have one less stress of having a meal to eat during hard times. We also have a community "garden," that we are trying to incorporate into the Pantry. I learned leadership skills and service – more... learning, while expanding my education and knowledge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive at all times
Economic & Workforce Development (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: learning enviroment
Cons: ops positions/ not permanent
Working with adults to become students to obtain their GED is rewarding. I learn people communicate in many different ways. Therefore to be a successful teacher/instructor/coordinator, I must learn the culture of many people. With guide lines all can learn and reach their goals and become very successful. I feel we are ALL STUDENTS. WE CAN ALWAYS LEARN – more... SOMETHING.

Coordinating programs for TCC Economic Workforce Development is challenging. TCC EWD has various learning sites. It was my responsibility setting up sites and aiding in hiring teachers for that particular site, whether it was in a school, hospital, library, or prison. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship By Which I have learned immensely
Instructional Designer (Current Employee), Tallahassee, FLJanuary 19, 2014
•Designed and implemented a statewide, e-Learning course using Articulate Storyline; incorporated voice over, animation, multiple modules, a course review section, and quiz items to reinforce learner retention
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dental Assistant / Class Tutor
Dental Assistant, Dental Hygiene Tutor (Former Employee), Tallahassee Dental Hygiene ClinicJanuary 10, 2014
Worked with the Floor dentist during his office hours.
Focused on Tutoring underclassmen for courses such as:
head and neck anatomy, Applied pharmacology, Dental Emergencies, dental materials, Review for National Boards
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good.
Senior Accountant (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLJanuary 3, 2014
Although TCC pays very well and the benefits are great there are problems in the Business Office that need to be resolved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivery of workforce development training in renewable energy, construction trades and safety.
Program Specialist and OPS Instructor (Current Employee), Tallahassee, FLOctober 7, 2013
Training career encumbents in enhanced skills. Delivery of workforce development training in renewable energy, construction trades and safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Student Office Aid (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLSeptember 6, 2013
I had made life long friends while working at Tallahassee Community College!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part-time job during the time of attending school. Work Study.
File Clerk (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLJune 26, 2013
Cons: very short break.
answered phone calls & direct them to the proper extensions or person they needed to talk to. Opened mail daily & disturbuted them in teachers mailboxes. Walk around campus picking up & delivering documentations. There was no hard work about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clerical
Clerical (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLMay 19, 2013
I was a great place to be and learn how to work with others including my peers. Most of the times we tried to help each other out, evening changing days if something came up at the last minute.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities for adjunct professors!
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLMay 15, 2013
The Communications and Humanities Division at Tallahassee Community College offers a great chance for an aspiring professor to gain experience in the classroom. The student body is largely committed to doing good academic work, and any teacher who is willing to take the time to be personally invested in his or her students will find great reward in – more... making a positive impact on these young minds. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, not a bad place to work
Media Lab Associate (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLMay 6, 2013
Pros: willing to work with your schedule
Cons: no benefits
If hired as an OPS there are no benefits, no compensation, no job security and no advancement. Not a horrible place to work but not a place to build a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun exciting place to work
Computer Technical Support Computer Lab (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLApril 25, 2013
Pros: great mentor great atmopsphere
fun exciting place to work always learning everyday. Always a new challenge day to day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
INSTRUCTIONAL TECHNOLOGY SPECIALIST (Current Employee), Tallahassee, FLMarch 20, 2013
Pros: paid time off
Cons: no upward advancement
It's a good place to retire. No room for advancement, most likely the job you are hired for is the job you will retire in. But great benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a Secretary and Teacher Assistant.
Student Work (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: working in the communication and humanities department
Prepare and manage correspondence, reports and documents
organize and coordinate meetings, conferences, travel arrangements
take,type and distribute minutes of meetings
implement and maintain office systems
maintain schedules and calendars
arrange and confirm appointments
organize internal and external events
handle incoming mail and other material
set – more... up and maintain filing systems.

Discuss assigned duties with classroom teachers in order to coordinate instructional efforts.
Prepare lesson materials, bulletin board displays, exhibits, equipment, and demonstrations.
Present subject matter to students under the direction and guidance of teachers, using lectures, discussions, or supervised role-playing methods.
Tutor and assist students individually or in small groups in order to help them master assignments and to reinforce learning concepts presented by teachers. – less