TAMKO Employee Reviews

Showing all 32 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor line leaders in Joplin Mo
Forklift driver (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOJanuary 28, 2016
Worst job I ever worked at! They hire ###kissers to take mgmt jobs than dont know from stop to go! Beware of working here!!!!!
They dont care about family at all, married to your job
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Line leaders must be from Florida
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tm
Territory Manager (Current Employee) –  Long Island, NYDecember 3, 2015
The company pays well. They do not train the rep, they give you a laptop and throw you into the market. Sink or swim, no help.
Pros
Comp
Cons
Too much work.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are better places
Manager (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALNovember 3, 2015
Owned and run by one family. The owner makes all the final decisions at multiple locations around the country. They have some rigid concepts about who they want to hire and how fast they should progress. Owner is a lawyer so, many decisions are risk based. Most Leadership at plant levels change very frequently.
Pros
Good compensation
Cons
Frequent changes and lack of control by local leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Maint. Planner/Scheduler (Current Employee) –  Ennis,TxAugust 25, 2015
Tamko is a fair employer. Management is involved in all aspects of jobs on line. Everybody in plant is a team member and not an I person. Great to be employeed here.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours, fluctuating schedule no room for home life.
Industrial Technician (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 25, 2015
The work schedule is very demanding. There are no set guidelines. The health conditions at this plant would not be good for me in the long run. I breathe in fiberglass daily and I'm not sure what else.
Pros
pay, benefits
Cons
health, job security, advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good place to work
Industrial Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Joplin, MOAugust 16, 2015
Great pay, and pretty good people to work with. It's really hot in the summer and really cold in the winter. Safety is the number one goal all of the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It pays good, but they only care about shingles
MAINTENANCE/ PLANT ELECTRICIAN (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 14, 2015
great pay and benefits, GREAT PEOPLE ON LINES AND MAINTENANCE,BUT MANAGEMENT IS REVOLVING DOOR
MORAL IS HORRIBLE everybody's worried about getting fired from management,
Pros
great pay and benefits
Cons
cant trust anybody, nobody cares about you
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never.HOME.
Packaging Technician-A (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 1, 2015
Loved the work, training was horrible. Co-workers really don't want to to help train. Schedule is rough 4-12hr shifts two days off then 4-12hr nights, so not much of a home life.
Cons
Schedule and time away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
real strict place
Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 16, 2015
it was ok the other employes made it fun to work.we talked about ever thing.but theres no smoking on site.and we get free lunch on
holidays
Cons
we got three breaks a day pluse30 min lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employees are hard workers
Clean up crew member (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXOctober 21, 2014
i enjoyed my time working at tamko, it was an excellent experience to learn how making shingles is and how the machinery works.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They took care of there Employees with great Benefits.
Forklift / Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Frederick, MDOctober 2, 2014
I really liked Tamko as a company and Employer. I worked with great people to make our shift work as a Team. I learned how to manage a crew and lead by example.
Pros
benefits and paid lunches
Cons
swing shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TAMKO is a great company, and it is great working for them. They atmosphere is like a giant family.
Contractor Sales-Specialist (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHAugust 6, 2014
I am very thankful to work for TAMKO. They are a great company, and you cannot help but feel cared for.
Pros
they let you work like it's your business. they are very supportive, and communicate well.
Cons
there are none.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Machine Operator
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Lamar, MOMay 18, 2014
I was able to perform different jobs as needed on particular days. Jobs I performed included machine operator, loading and unloading railcars and trucks. (more details included in resume)
Pros
good paying job, good people, good overtime
Cons
job stability due to economy
Was this review helpful?Yes11No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
far from professionals
process production trainee (fork lift driver) (Former Employee) –  joplin MoApril 28, 2014
I was put through hoop after hoop to get hired on and I started for orientaion and spent 6 hours there and when it was time to take a fork lift test I didnt even get a chance they walked me out the door without any reason. The manager said I quote "yeah its not working" and walked me out the door. Gave an employer 2 weeks notice for that. If Tamko ever is an opportunity again I will not make the same mistake twice.

If you value a stable work enviorment this is not a place for you this place is a joke
Pros
the pay was nearly 30 dollars an hour
Cons
unprofessional management
Was this review helpful?Yes25No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Warehouse Manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 11, 2014
TAMKO is a great company with great benefits and an amazing management team. I would recommend this employer to my closest friends.
Pros
management
Was this review helpful?Yes12No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALFebruary 24, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of preparing for the shift getting the forklift check sheet done. Operate a forklift and run two lines picking up shingles and store them in the proper storage area throughout the shift and get the job done. My supervisor was very helpful and friendly. the most enjoyable part of the job after learning my job duties and responsibilities.
Pros
overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes15No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Purchasing Agent/Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Naples, TXFebruary 24, 2014
Wonderful company to work for. Overall great company with good benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you don't smoke.
Machinist/Welder (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOOctober 12, 2013
I worked in a division that traveled a lot. It got to be too much travel for my situation.
Pros
good pay
Cons
away from home too much
Was this review helpful?Yes13No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company with great core values
Employee (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOOctober 8, 2013
Great work environment that stresses safety for the production and maintenance staff. Focused on profitablility of the company and the common suppliers that they do buisness with for the mutal benefit of both. Honesty and Integrity, in all they do in buisness is a keystone to the company's core values.
Pros
core values, family environment, safety culture
Cons
not recession proof
Was this review helpful?Yes8No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, nice co-workers
Inventory Control Manager (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALSeptember 30, 2013
I spent 22 years of my life and made numerous friends at Tamko.
management change in the last few years not so good.
overall good place to make a career
Was this review helpful?Yes9No8

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 32 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture