Tandem Transport Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tandem was a great place to work for, I was heart broken when they closed
Corporate Receptionist/Driver Personnel Assistant (Former Employee) –  Michigan City, INSeptember 19, 2017
I started as a corporate receptionist and also added driver personal to my daily tasks. I was able to keep busy and assistant all departments when needed. Everyone I worked with at Tandem was very positive!
Pros
Everyone was very postive in the work place.
Cons
An hour lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work, until they sold out and i lost my job.
Billing Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MIJanuary 12, 2017
My all time favorite job. Loved the work, the independence, the people I worked with were the best of the best. I took the position I had, went from part time promoted to full time and given additional tasks the longer i was there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Driver (Former Employee) –  Michigan City, INDecember 12, 2016
Great job, also good supervisor and overall good place for careers. They have good matinence program, good benefits package.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun place to work
Dispatch Manager (Former Employee) –  Michigan City, INOctober 27, 2015
Tandem was overall a good company.
Typical day involved overseeing dispatch, talking to customers, problem solving.
Learned flatbed industry, as I was previously managing box trucks.
Co-workers were dedicated and fun to work with
Hardest part of the job was deciding to leave
Most enjoyable part of the job was the drivers
Pros
great benefits, family oriented
Cons
Michigan City was a long drive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Misinformed of the job description
OTR Driver Flatbed (Former Employee) –  Michigan City, INOctober 2, 2014
Was promised by recuritment of local position. After traveling to headquarters was informed the local position had been filled three weeks prior, was forced into an OTR position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More work than it's worth pay
Driver (Former Employee) –  Michigan cityFebruary 26, 2014
Try to act like a professional company but is not when it comes down to it. Will call the cops to escort u off property if you do not sign a willingly quit form, even if you are being decent to them so if you do work there DO NOT put a 2 week notice in! And they just got out of bankruptcy so don't expect new equipment!
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
2006 and older equipment, awful mechanics expect breakdowns/or them not fixing it at all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work day
Driver (Current Employee) –  Michigan City, INMay 19, 2013
Typical day of flat bedding, load, secure, tarp and make your delivery in a timely and safe manner.
Pros
We have a good benefit package average pay.
Cons
A lot of older equipment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They had a drivers loung and rooms to sleep in at the depot
Driver (Former Employee) –  Michigan City, INApril 29, 2013
I liked Tandem, it was hard work, and they are a good company, I have nothing negitive to say about them. I got the Idea that I could make more money owning my own company, So I left. but they treated me fare
Pros
They treat their driver well
Cons
I took so much time straping down my loads that I was not making $$$
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations department could use improvment
Class A Driver (Former Employee) –  Michigan City, INMarch 29, 2013
Flatbed carrier primary customers Lowes & Georgia Pacific
Pros
home most weekends
Cons
equipment is not in the best of shape
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work place
Regional Driver Manager (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAMay 4, 2012
Was with the company for 3 years, stuck with them through a 6% pay cut company wide, but it was worth it to work with my drivers and customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report

Want to know more about Tandem Transport?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work and Life style
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Garden City, GAMarch 6, 2012
I enjoyed the workers in the Savannah location. The problem with this company is the micro management from Michigan City, IN. The Senior Director of Safety and Maintenance was very poor at his job. He wasted more money on things we as a company did not need and would not provide the equipment that we really need for the shop.
Pros
the pay was good
Cons
the manager need to be replaced.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 5Report

See more Tandem Transport reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tandem Transport. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.6
Culture
3.1