Find companies:
Target
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,826 reviews

Target Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical retail job
Warehouse/Customer Service (Former Employee), Issaquah, WAApril 14, 2014
pros: great coworkers and managment.

cons: unrewarding work for the amount being done
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interested, fast paced work place.
TEAM MEMBER (Current Employee), Plainfield, NJApril 14, 2014
Pros: set schedule
Cons: short breaks
Everyday I come to work and wait for the boxes to be unloaded from the truck and then I push the product to the shelves. The hardest part of the job is trying to handle all of the product on days when we are receiving a large shipment. The most enjoyable part of the job is when management orders food for us to keep the morale up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours
Order Packer (Former Employee), Gansevoort, NYApril 14, 2014
Pros: pay is pretty good
Cons: very strict security policy
Long hours shifts, 12 hour 3 days a week and 4 ten hour shifts. If you don't mind being on your feet for hours on end with breaks spread out this is an ok job. Most positions are seasonal and temporary. You must clear multiple forms of security to enter though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and caring envirment
Team Member (Current Employee), Jackson, TNApril 14, 2014
Target promotes a hardworking and caring atmosphere. They encourage teamwork. the hardest part is sales the Reds card however all team members share each others tricks to help saves the guest their five percent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & Productive workplace
Backroom Trainer (Former Employee), San Clemente, CAApril 14, 2014
i was brought up quickly in this company for my knowledge and ability of learning quickly of the fundamentals. I was a trainer for the backroom and learned how important it is for companies like this for every individual to do their job right. all my co workers were very good workers and we all worked good together as a team. the hardest part of the – more... job was dealing with 3000 to 4000 boxes a day in getting it to the floor and the backroom in a small amount of time. the most enjoyable times were being able to work with the people i was surrounded by. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Asset Protection Leader (Current Employee), Jennings, MOApril 14, 2014
Long work hours, payed well plus commission, Sales qoutas are easy to make
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Fridays for the Team
Senior Team Lead (Current Employee), Irving, TXApril 14, 2014
Pros: there are so many things to do in a short period of time and not enough people
Cons: the team feels better after they get their recognition verbally and through food
A typical Friday at Target can be a pretty hectic day so we like to have food for the team in the break room. We start the morning off with a brand list to take care of any issues that may need to be dealt with before we get our rush. Once the brand list are taken care of we have the team start working on pulls and reshop that go back on the floor and – more... by that time we are starting to get busy with guests. We have many back ups at the front lanes. As the teams are getting ready for breaks and lunches they will be happily surprised with a snack which is different every Friday. I have learned that the team gets tired and works hard but they do feel appreciated when we do things like putting drinks or food in the break room for them to enjoy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my co-workers
Sales Floor Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), York, PAApril 14, 2014
The customer service and team work were very enjoyable. The hardest part about working in retail was to not shop and work at the same time. All the managers were very encouraging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with many opportunities
Bakery Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee), Lakewood, COApril 14, 2014
Pros: free food on big holidays, barbeques, cake day, games some days during break
Cons: nothing
My typical day at work consisted of cleaning workspace, prepping food for the baker the next day, cleaning dishes, helping customers with finding products, writing cake orders, and putting product on the floor as well as helping as a cashier. Also helped cut fruit and put product out for Produce, and helped cut meat as well as close Deli. I learned – more... how to work at a good pace to get everything done in the amount of time I had as well as help other areas. I learned how to decorate cakes as well. Management was great and my co-workers were great as well. They were helpful if I was falling behind, or getting advice on the best way to fix things. The hardest part of the job, well that was when I was helping some customers who had attitudes, but I kept a smile on my face and did what I could to give the customer what they wanted. I loved being able to help decorate cakes and cupcakes. That was so much fun, especially to see the happy faces of the customers. Always made my day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace.
Cashier (Former Employee), baltimore,mdApril 14, 2014
Fun workplace, great work experience. Helping customers and performing on the cash register everyday. Also stocking and organizing merchandise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target
Cashier (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAApril 14, 2014
Pros: discounted lunch, target always throws parties and exciting events for the team members, rewards for selling red cards
Cons: short breaks, short on employees
Being a cashier at Target can be somewhat fun and not so fun at times. When the rush comes, things may get a bit hectic. My co-workers and nice and fun to be around. They make the time fly by. The best part of being a cashier at Target is all the personalities that come through my line. By me being a people person, I like meeting new people and learning – more... new things. Also, seeing the children that come through my line just puts a smile on my face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Company
Logistics Team Member (Former Employee), Webster, NY, Saint Paul, MNApril 13, 2014
Pros: occasional free meals for entire team. small gifts for great work and recognition.
Cons: physically demanding
Target is a good company to work with. At the time that I worked with them, they offered good health benefits and scheduling which allowed for a good work/life balance. The hardest part about being a Logistics Team Member was that it was very physically demanding. The best part about being a Logistics Team Member was being able to help "guests" (as – more... Target calls their customers) on and off the sales floor! Many times the knowledge and experience in the back of the store as well as on the sales floor came in handy getting the guest what they needed, therefore, leaving satisfied with the product and service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Typical Day
Sales Floor Team Member (Former Employee), Manassas, VAApril 13, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: reduced hours
My typical day of work consisted of organizing re-shop, putting the re-shop away, making sure each assigned section was clean, neat and organized. I also worked on the cash register when I was needed to clear out the lines. I learned how to be a team player, working with other employees that were in other departments as well as mine. I learned how to – more... work with the guest professionally. I learned the proper procedure of how to handle cash, credit/ debit cards and gift cards. I was able to collaborate with a diverse group of managers. I learned the importance of time management by completing my assigned work task. I was able to complete my assigned work tasks well within the allotted time allowing me the opportunity to asset others in other sections of the store. The most enjoyable part of my job was interacting with guests when they needed help or had a question on an item. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Target Team Member (Former Employee), Granada Hills, CAApril 13, 2014
I wasn't a fan of some of the team leads. We had one that would reduce the cashiers to tears. Over all it wasn't bad, but things could have been better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
some ok managerment, lots of free food
Cashier (Former Employee), Wichita, KSApril 13, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: redcards
I worked at a super target, most of my team leaders were great, but there were three who were so cocky about being on salary, kinda treated everyone like dirt and were always very loud. The ones who were great would always find a reason to buy food for the break room, but breaks were always 10-45 minutes late. There's lot of opportunity to move up, – more... a lot of chances to pick up shifts. Everyone gets super crazy about having outs in your lanes and percent amazed and you have to ask every guest about the red card which gets super annoying for everyone involved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun cooperative workplace.
Sales Floor/Cashier (Former Employee), Omaha, NEApril 13, 2014
Cashiering, zoning.
How to handle responsibilities, and team work.
Great and organized management.
Cooperative co-workers.
There was no hard part in the job.
Cashiering.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, and not that bad of a company.
Cashier (Former Employee), New Mexico Albuquerque MontgomeryApril 13, 2014
Good place to work for, epically if you are looking for a first time job. Most of the people there will treat you right.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Cashier (Former Employee), Norwalk, CAApril 13, 2014
Pros: friendly place
Cons: no cons
I learned to organize and utilize money management in my day to day life. I learned to be more care in life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Richmond, VAApril 12, 2014
Pros: the team mates are friendly an always helpfull
Cons: managment an pay are to be reviewed
-A typical work day at target started about six in the evening, you have to be there for a couple of years before you were able to get a day shift.
-They protect their own, which means the leaders look out for the leaders an the team looks out for the team.
-The attitudes of different leaders ran out a lot of hard working employees.
-My time there was – more... great because of my yellow team mates, they showed me prays an helped me with any project! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gave great hours overnight
Overnight Logistics (Former Employee), Brentwood, MOApril 12, 2014
typical day fast pace

ive learned never take things personal

management for the most part were pretty fair

nothing to difficult about the job pretty easy

the people were the most enjoyable

1 2 3 4 5

About Target

Target Corporation (Target) operates Target general merchandise stores with an assortment of general merchandise and food items, – Read more