Find companies:
Target
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9,908 reviews

Target Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job to gain experience
Senior Team Lead (Current Employee), Middle River, MDOctober 21, 2014
Great company to work for. A lot of advancement and training in multiple areas. A little disorganized sometimes. Overall for Me it is an okay place to work if your not really into retail type work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Job
Merchandise Flow Team Member (Former Employee), California, MDOctober 21, 2014
Pros: amazing funny co-workers, understanding team leads, flexible scheduling, free lunch, great atmosphere
Cons: pay
I started off as a seasonal team member working overnights, and they decided to keep me. This was a great first job and I met some really amazing people. All of my team leads were funny, friendly, and very understanding. Definitely understanding when personal situations arose. Only con I would have is that the pay isn't all that great. I mean, as a – more... first job, it was awesome, but overall, it's not all that 'attractive'. I only worked there a year, so I'm not sure how pay raises went, but you start off at $8.75 an hour or $9.75 if you work before/after store hours or on holidays. Overall awesome place and made some great friends/memories that I will never forget :-) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When I worked at target...
Overnight remodel, cashier (Former Employee), Jonesboro, AROctober 21, 2014
Pros: good pay, always had snacks in the break room
When I worked at target I loved it there. the people I worked with was great!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT JOB
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Columbia, SCOctober 21, 2014
I DID THIS JOB THRU COLLEGE IT WAS FLEXIBLE HOURS AND I LOVED THE STAFF FROM MANAGERS TO TEAM MEMBER AND WE ALWAYS HAD APPRECIATION OFFERS I.E SNACKS, CANDY, GAMES, I LOVED IT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty good over-all
Cashier (Former Employee), Orem, UTOctober 21, 2014
job was consistent, nothing new really happened. The management is friendly so are all the co-workers. You will rarely find your co-workers to be in a bad mood. Positive environment with a lot of friendly guest and customers. There is little downside to working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, challenging and rewarding
Executive Team Lead, Human Resources (Current Employee), New Albany, NYOctober 21, 2014
Retail can be a harsh environment to work in. It takes a great team to make it manageable. Target does a nice job trying to integrate a work life balance and make work "fun". Granted, there are some tough days but overall its a great place to work and I believe a great place for someone just graduating from college. Target has wonderful programs in – more... place for personal and professional development. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Lead Guest Service Associate (Current Employee), VAOctober 21, 2014
Pros: healthcare
Cons: short breaks
I think one of the most interesting jobs I have is being a Team Lead for a popular retail store. I get to meet and interact with people from all walks of life. Also there is something about working late night or during the day at a fast pace retail in store!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easily the worst job I've ever had
Guest Service Team Member (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INOctober 21, 2014
Cons: bad pay, careless management, nepotism
I started working at Target in high school and stayed through the majority of college, simply because I needed a job that wasn't going to be too demanding with a full time school schedule. I worked there for five years and never made it out of the $7 bracket, even though I always had amazing performance reviews. Nepotism was rampant at my store, with – more... people getting their kids hired on and making more money starting out than people who had been there for years. The management ranged from extremely careless to wildly egotistical. Human resources was the worst; you'd go to them with a problem and they would literally laugh in your face. If you can help it, do NOT work here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive fun,fast,friendly work environment
Customer Service Rep./Team Lead Target (Former Employee), Lakewood, CAOctober 21, 2014
So much too say about this company! I learned so many skills working here such as how too manage my time wisely. Were i was giving job duties to fulfill in a certain time period and was able too get things doing an still remember safety first.I learned alot about sales and customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unconditionally poor working environment
Elecronics Brand Manager (Current Employee), Tomball, TXOctober 21, 2014
Pros: impossible to get fired
Cons: no advancement, insufficient resources, understaffed, unethical management
I worked at Target for 3 years and although I have learned a lot about procedural structures.Target continued to actively block venues for advancement and inhibit job growth potential with subversive tactics and outright lying
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workers go unappreciated
Flow Team (Current Employee), Citrus Heights, CAOctober 21, 2014
Pros: was early in the morning so i still had the rest of the day.
Cons: the people, the boss's
I feel that I bust my butt most days and don't get an recognition. Everybody has their bad days and I am one of them, but most of the time I bring my A game and push myself to the limit. I try and turn it into a workout just to make it more interesting and to help push myself. But it's never good enough. No matter how fast I went or how much I pushed – more... it never seems to be enough. It's always "why didn't more get done, or that's all you did?" It's sort of an ego killer when I think to myself hey I did good, we quick, got a good workout in, and then I get told I didn't do enough, or I wasn't quick enough. And for this reason I find myself looking for other employment where my skills will be noticed and maybe a little appreciated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Fun and Friendly Company that Listens to their Employees
Team Member/Beauty Brand Member (Current Employee), Machesney Park, ILOctober 21, 2014
Typically at work I'm responsible for the Cosmetics area. I'm responsible for keeping it looking clean and helping guests find what they need. I interact with any vendors and help set end caps and keep the zone looking nice.

From this job I learned how to multi-task better as well as how to be nice and polite to guests/team members even if they aren't – more... in the best moods. I've learned how to manage not only my time better but those of my peers and find their strengths to help the work day be more productive. I've learned how to work in just about every aspect of the store and this is helpful if I need to fill in for a co-worker or they need to move me to another work center.

Management and co-workers can be hard to handle at times but I've learned that you need to still try your hardest to keep a positive attitude and do your best to accomplish what they ask of you in the time given. It doesn't do any good for you to get upset if they are in a bad mood or anything so keeping a smiling face and positive attitude will help others do the same. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment for personal development.
Executive Team Leader (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 21, 2014
Pros: team engagement and culture, results-oriented leadership
Cons: work-life balance
Target is a wonderful environment for personal learning, growth, and development. Leadership at Target means providing and receiving continuous feedback on performance to develop an efficient, hard-working team that delivers on company goals and initiatives. Each day brings new changes, some more challenging than others, and requires leaders to be resilient – more... and adaptable - capable of making intelligent decisions quickly and responsibly, while also considering the impact to the business and the team as a whole.

The culture at Target is one of teamwork, respect, and service. This culture, along with consistent communication and clear company goals, creates a positive environment for achievement and success. It is also one of the most rewarding aspects of the job - working as a team towards a common goal, and then meeting or exceeding it is what makes being a leader at Target truly great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No one wins
Perishables Associate (Current Employee), Nashville, TNOctober 21, 2014
Most of the mangers are horrible people who care only about the businesses and not the individual. The Other Team Members are wonderful and always willing to help. The culture in the store is BAD no one is happy everyone complains. its not a good place and its hard to be fun, fast, and friendly when everyone around you is miserable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Inventory Specialist/ Planogram Team Lead (Former Employee), georgiaOctober 20, 2014
flexible, fun friendly environment. great for students and part time work. managment is nice and helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target
Front End Associate (Former Employee), Clifton, NJOctober 20, 2014
Interacting with customers to assist them and make their visit as time efficient and enjoyable as possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent pay/benefits, no advancement potential
Warehouse Worker, MBP (Current Employee), Wilton, NYOctober 20, 2014
Pay and benefits are very good for a job with little qualifications. Workload is tough and fastpaced, but doable.

No potential advancement without a 4 year degree.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to be
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Temple, TXOctober 20, 2014
Pros: atmosphere, crew members
Cons: couponders
Scanning groceries and offering customers to apply for Red cards.
Red cards: is a debit/credit card, that allows you to save 5% with each shopping purchase.

Management is amazing!

Co-workers are full of energy and seem as if they want to be there.

Hardest part of the job are the coupons.

Most enjoyable part of the job is the atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Cashier (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 20, 2014
A typical day at work for target was stocking the shelves over night when items ran low. I would tag the items, make sure things were cleaned, and I made sure everything was done in a thoughtful organized fashion. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the customers. I loved to help them with the things they could not find.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ok place to work
Electronics Champion (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MIOctober 20, 2014
Working at target is OK, the pay is pitiful, but they are flexible with your schedule as long as you give them fair warning.

1 2 3 4 5

About Target

Target Corporation operates Target general merchandise stores with an assortment of general merchandise and food items, as well – Read more