Target Employee Reviews in United States

Found 17,258 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exhausting day at Target
Cashier/ Cart Attendant (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAAugust 23, 2016
A typical day at work is exhausting after pushing carts, chasing them and sweating. I've learned that it takes energy and patience to overcome the obstacles when dealing with certain situations. The management in my store can be better if more employees got trained in other positions. My co-workers are helpful and friendly to the guest. The hardest part of my job is helping out by hopping on the check lanes while people are coming in grabbing carts because I have to go out and replace the row of carts. What I like about my job is that I can come inside and outside of the building and still do my work
Pros
Team member discounts, Free Drink refills
Cons
Cross Training, 6 hour break period
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast, Fun and Friendly atmosphere
Human Resources Team Leader/Clerical (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 22, 2016
A lot of community events, Target gives back to it's community!
I've learned to lead in every area, you definitely move up in this big company. People are approachable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target had good team workers.
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Clifton, NJAugust 22, 2016
A typical day at target was just stocking boxes and zoning. i learned how to use a forklift there. My manager was very nice & professional. MY co-workers was great they got the job done as well as me. It really was not hard to me. The best part of the job was the team members stuck together to get the job done.
Pros
You receive monthly awards for great work
Cons
Some managers was mean for no reasons
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Face Paced Work Environment
Sales Associate-Retail (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCAugust 22, 2016
My short time with Target was one to remember. The Management were great to work with. The Co-workers helped keep the day going by and the customers were always a joy.
Pros
Fun, Fast Pace, Great Work Environment
Cons
Seasonal Position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Royal Palm Beach, FLAugust 22, 2016
A typical day at target begins with great customer service being on time. My co workers are excellent we all work together as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive place to work
Fulfillment Center Team Member (Current Employee) –  Woodbury, MNAugust 22, 2016
this would be a great place to work if the management didn't away micro manage,I love that we have a ping pong table, I've learned how to always find a positive in a difficult time a typical time a target is a fast pace work zone moving from department to department getting orders filled
Pros
ping pong table
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
GSA (Guest Service Attendant) (Current Employee) –  Manalapan, NJAugust 22, 2016
Target is a wonderful company to work for. They offer great benefits for part time employees as well as flexible scheduling.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physical job with good team.
Flow Team Member (Former Employee) –  Quakertown, PAAugust 22, 2016
Early morning shift unloading trucks and placing product on the floor. Also making sure electronic products were delivered properly and plentifully.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I prefer a company that has adequate management
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  6600 Richmond hwy. Alex. VirginiaAugust 22, 2016
I feel that the site I work at is poorly managed, poorly staffed for daily business, team members are frequently low in morale, the front end is unhealthy as far as cleanliness is concerned and overall is just a total chaotic mess
Pros
they hire anyone reguardless of race
Cons
It's hard to make a living working for target without being full-time
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working there the team is wonderful
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Union, NJAugust 22, 2016
Working there is definitely cool everyone is very friendly and they help each other out it's really a wonderful place and again the team is great
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Team leader (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNAugust 22, 2016
Retail is fast paced, lots of energy, and always growing and learning. Typical day was completing routines in timely manner and adjusting to hiccups that occurred all while following policies and procedures. Able to learn multiple work areas often which was helpful in learning and getting satisfactory hours.
Play a big part in volunteer activities with outside organizations which I really enjoyed being a part of.
Great for recognizing accomplishments with gifts but not too great with advancing employees up corporate ladder.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Advancement upward not too great
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long term outlook positive
Sr. Executive Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Linden, NJAugust 22, 2016
Target's long term outlook is positive- the company will still be present in ten years. It will not be any easier to work for though. Headcount reductions and cost cutting make a career in-store very challenging.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Practice Ageism
Cashier (Former Employee) –  ColoradoAugust 22, 2016
At first it was fun but then management started playing games and setting employees up for failure. They wrote people up for very petty things. They deliberately set people up, for instance a person left their keys sitting beside the computer and the supervisor snuck up and grabbed them when they weren't looking. They got written up. One Exec point blank told someone they wanted a younger set of employees and that was the reason for shoving the older people out. HR is a joke there.
Pros
Formed a lot of long term friendships.
Cons
Favoritism & Ageism
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad hours compensation and bad team leaders
Backroom Associate (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXAugust 21, 2016
Target always cuts your hours and expects you to do the same amount of work not caring if you have bills to pay. They always hurry you up even if you are going fast. I got a 30 cent raise after a year and a half even tho they tell me I am a hard worker and super fast. This place is a joke it helps if u got no other opinions other than thathat it's bad
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Ok for a first Job
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Missouri City, TX 77459August 21, 2016
the pay is ok for your very first job or if you are a teenager but as for a grown up the work is not acceptable but u get free food so
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stocker
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLAugust 21, 2016
I worked nights stocking shelves, heavy lifting , fast pace enviroment, friendly workers, unloading trucks , using pallet jacks. introduction to shipping and receiving
Pros
discounts
Cons
low pay, heavy lifting, night work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A mostly rewarding experience.
Target Team Member (Former Employee) –  Kent, WAAugust 21, 2016
Target aimed to be a fun, fair work environment and for the most part delivered. It was a great learning experience and was a good employer for gaining managing experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Place to Work
Price Accuracy Team Member (Current Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAAugust 21, 2016
OK Place to work. Coworkers are great however managerial staff needs better communication. Constant transition of jobs and task on a day to day basis. The company provides great benefits such as health care and 401k
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management Communication
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical busy retail
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAAugust 20, 2016
As a team member, you are constantly on your feet, restocking, straightening shelves and helping customers. During the holiday months you are expected to stay hours after shift to help clean up, but at least compensation is there. Co-workers are friendly but mostly busy days prevent most socializing. As a retail department store, dealing with angry, rude or uncooperative customers comes with the job.
Pros
none that come to mind
Cons
customers, no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of deceiving management/unfair policies
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Rialto, CAAugust 20, 2016
Target UDC 3840 is a corrupt place. They try so hard to make it seem like they care about you but trust me, they DO NOT. I just quit because management sucks, they hire college kids straight out of school as managers because you must have a degree to be one with NO experience and they power trip and think they're God and have no business managing people. Managers don't know jack either, they will tell you one thing and policy is the complete opposite. HR is completely useless, if you have a concern they will blame it all on you and protect management. The pay is great and benefits are decent but it's not worth the BS. The work is pretty easy but Target's management is absolutely terrible. They have extremely unfair policies and most are undefined so they can do whatever THEY want, P.S. they are NOT flexible with scheduling I promise you, they don't care what you need to do, you CAN NOT get a day off unless you have vacation time. Be warned, the great pay and peppy attitudes may make it seem great at first but you'll soon learn the ugly truth about Target. Please don't waste your time and work here.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Management, Useless Human Resources, Unethical policies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 18,309 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7