Find companies:
Target
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9,923 reviews

Target Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), sterling, vaOctober 15, 2014
Cons: salary is low
target has lot of opportunity to grow within the company. management is always happy to help in any way possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for
Jewelry Specialist (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 15, 2014
I enjoyed working for this company and have made great friends among my coworkers. Really great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast, Fun, and Friendly
Guest Service Team Member (Current Employee), Augusta, GAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: free donuts on some mornings.
Cons: 9 houar days and 30 minute lunch breaks
A typical day at Target was fast, fun, and friendly. I loved my coworkers and enjoyed working with them. It was a great learning experience to cross train in all parts of the store and learn all retail. The hardest part of the job was sometimes trying to satisfy customers. The most enjoyable part of my job was the people I worked with and the flexible – more... working schedule. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diverse company. A fun place to work most of the time.
Guest Service and Cash Office Team Member (Current Employee), Gainesville, GAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: family oriented
Cons: working more hours during holiday breaks from school. this means less time with the kids.
Managers are very fair. Most co-workers are willing to help wherever needed. This is important because teamwork is an essential part of our job.

No day is typical because we deal with the public. Most days are rewarding because we enjoy helping our guests find what they need and saving them as much time and money as we possibly can.

The hardest part – more... is being on your feet all day. The most enjoyable is meeting new people every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overnight Sensation
Seasonal Overnight Replenish Associate (Former Employee), Elmhurst, NYOctober 15, 2014
Pros: no lack of work
Cons: during off hours no employee was allowed outside due to the security alarms being activated
This was the first job I worked overnight, It was another great experience as it did relate to warehouse environment. I would replenish shelves on the sales floor during off hours of operation. I moved from location to location from the Toy department to linens to sporting goods, electronics, home entertainment etc. My night started at 11 p.m. to 7 – more... a.m. Needless to say I slept the entire day before going to evening class or resume back to work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,Energetic place to work at
operator / Sales Associate (Current Employee), Wauwatosa, WIOctober 15, 2014
Pros: free lunch, free movies, volunteer opporunities
Cons: short breaks, not enough hours
A typical day at work was vibing with the guest and having a great time helping people find what they needed. I learn how to work their system to find things on the selves. I learned to be more open and outgoing. My co-workers were great people and I loved working with them. the hardest part of my job was telling a guest if we did not have something – more... in stock especially if they really wanted it, and did not want to go any where else. The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to meet new people and make people smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target
Flow Team (Former Employee), Monmouth Junction, NJOctober 15, 2014
Pros: production
Cons: pay and hours
It wasn't the best. I only worked 2 days a week which was not enough to survive and take care of my family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Superviors were great.
Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYOctober 15, 2014
Pros: free lunch, long breaks n long hours.
Cons: not much overtime.
Very business workplace. Overnight job unloading trucks n unloading stock onto the shelves. I learned how to unload trucks at a fast pace. The most enjoyable part of the job was to see how much stock we put on the shelves before the morning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chains are the worst.
Cashier/Cart Attendant (Former Employee), Hudson, WIOctober 14, 2014
I've never seen a place so micromanaged in all my life. It was a monotonous job that showed no room for growth. I worked with people who had been doing it for years with no moving up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Valencia, CAOctober 14, 2014
Pros: helpful co workers
Cons: obnoxious management, overloads cashiers with pressure, red cards
When I first came to Target, I believed I found a great place to start building experience. And in the beginning, it was. I learned how to work the registers, self check out, as well as familiarize myself with the store when doing go backs. I loved talking to the people who came to my lane and making sure that they were all taken care of. I thought – more... I was doing a great job providing fast, fun, and friendly service. Unfortunately, when it came to my two week report, it seemed like I hadn't been doing a good job at all. All because of those Red Cards. My supervisors then began being very adamant about my conversion score. I asked all the cashiers how they got guests to sign up, but none of their tactics worked. I found myself being talked to constantly and I began to feel very distressed whenever I was working. My supervisors were breathing down my neck, and suddenly they began talking to me about everything I was doing. They wanted me to talk to the guests the way they talked to them! Being a little introverted and shy, I had my own way of talking to them that wasn't overly pushy and in a nice even tone. Having a job that you're too stressed about or is affecting your physical health isn't a good job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Fun and Friendly
Backroom Team Member (Former Employee), Orange Park, FLOctober 14, 2014
Pros: great team experience, store discounts
Cons: no overtime
Very fast pace from the time I got there to the end of my shift. Everyday was mostly routine work so its a fairly easy job once use to it. I now know how a major retailer keeps there shelves replenished. It was hard at first to tell the difference between co-workers and managers, everybody was working side-by-side.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Merchandiser (Current Employee), Duluth, GAOctober 14, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: no benefits
Productive and fun place to work. I love the hours and employee discounts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kept order in Vaults
Logistics Team Leader (Former Employee), Silver Spring, MDOctober 14, 2014
Pros: using pda's
Cons: cold vaults
Organized and kept company rules in effect for proficient and effective sales.
Designed logistic patterns for a safer work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing people to work with
Pharmacy Externship (Former Employee), Glendale, AZOctober 14, 2014
Pros: welcoming environment, genuine care about customers, advocates for health
Cons: short lunch break
A typical day on the job as a pharmacy technician is somewhat hectic, but if that's the type of career you're looking for, then hectic is not a problem. I learned so much on my externship here. I learned skills ranging from pill counting to keeping patient records. My co-workers were AWESOME! They were welcoming since the very moment I stepped foot – more... in the pharmacy to my last day of externship, and if I had the opportunity I would definitely work with them again. The hardest part of the job (which I didn't have the luxury of doing) I'd have to say was dealing with the insurance companies. More often than not, the technicians were on the phone with insurance companies trying to clear up issues that had arised either because the drug the patient was prescribed wasn't covered due to formulary issues or the insurance just wouldn't pay for anymore refills. The most enjoyable part of the job, in my opinion was filling prescriptions. Most people would find that part of the job tedious and meticulous, but I found it rather therapeutic. It also gave me slightly more knowledge on my brand/generics which I wasn't prepared for at all when I walked into the pharmacy. I wouldn't say I have a vast knowledge on them now either because it's not like I had time to sit and study every medication while on the job, but I can say that I know slightly more than I did when I began. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with sense of urgency, finishing task with efficiency
Backroom Team Member (Former Employee), Seal Beach, CAOctober 14, 2014
for openers you would come in the backroom and start cleaning up what was not finished from the night before. then work on back stocking all the merchandise in the proper place. also had to pull all the priority batches to go out to the sales floor.

mids: come in and pull all cafs batches within the time accounted for.
then push out merchandise to – more... the sales floor and all left over merchandise would get back stocked, get all incoming call for guest items. check fullfillment orders every hour.

closers: make sure everything is up to date. keep the back room clean and organized as possible. pull and push out all caf batches when done. back stock any left over merchandise. set up the line for the over night team. back stock in the coolers if needed.

co workers were great. most of them would come with a 100% great attitude.

hardest part of the job was when someone would call out, or when etl's would not let us know about a call out. etl's would not communicate between each other and it made it harder on us.

most enjoyable part of this job was that i really enjoyed it, i liked working fast pace using the walking forklift and the wave also the pallet jack. working with great and nice customers and even with angry customers because when they were upset i would try my best to make them leave with a smile on there face. but as soon as i was getting 20hr a week i knew that i need to look for a better opportunity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Aurora, OHOctober 14, 2014
Target is a decent place to work but the pay dosent match the busy work needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Flow Team Member/Electronic Sales Associate (Former Employee), North Charleston, SCOctober 14, 2014
I loved working for target.. Great Place to work. Dealing with customers and helping them with their purchases.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place. Wonderful team and customers.
Guest Service Attendant/Sales floor Representative (Former Employee), Miami, FL; Daytona Beach, FL; Lakewood, WaOctober 14, 2014
Working at Target was a very fun experience. Usually I would be left in charge of managing the front end. Making sure that the guest left the store happy. All of my coworkers loved working with me because I made the day go by fast. Fast, Fun, and Friendly is the motto and I made sure I went the extra mile to ensure it was just that everyday, The hardest – more... part would have been dealing with the most difficult guest that didn't have a very pleasant experience. I would make sure my team would go above and beyond to correct any wrong. Management definitely backed me up with that and made sure every customer was happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast, Fun and Friendly
Senior Team Lead, Logistics (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, COOctober 14, 2014
Pros: culture, relocation opportunities
Cons: entry level pay, promotion from within, leadership development
As Senior Team Leader, Logistics I am responsible for largest team in the store and share responsibilities of serving as the Leader on Duty (store manager). I have learned a great deal about creating an amazing shopping experience and how to relate with an extremely diverse team in a fast paced environment.
Compensation and benefits for my level are – more... quite competitive but as a whole the company may be better served by offering a higher wage for entry level team members. Lower than average wages make it difficult to attract and retain motivated and talented team members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Atmosphere
Floor Team Member (Former Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 14, 2014
Very nice place to work enjoyed meeting new faces. Stock is a easy job I love doing detail work and stock was a job for me.

About Target

Target Corporation operates Target general merchandise stores with an assortment of general merchandise and food items, as well – Read more