Tasty Baking Company Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 14 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Relocated
Credit & Accounts Receivable Manager (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 22, 2015
I worked with Tasty Baking for a short period during an acquisition transition. I was brought in as the Credit manager to liaise between management and the credit team during this time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJuly 9, 2015
Challenging business, consumer preferences are changing day by day. Company tries to keep up with changing environment. Never a dull moment.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like it
Warehosue Shipper/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAFebruary 21, 2015
Fill out each order
Make sure skids are neat and organized
Count left over product add to inventory storage area
Data entry for inventory
Was this review helpful?Yes15No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent compensation and benfits, results oriented
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAFebruary 2, 2015
Typical Day: Fast paced, always a lot going on
What I've learned: very valuable experience, excel, kronos payroll system, SAP systems, detailed shift reports, Union CBAs and work agreement, learned valuable tools for safety and quality audits
Pros
excellent pay and benefits
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
100 yr old business almost goes under
Systems Administrator II (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 8, 2015
What I learned most about working for a business that grew from the back of a delivery truck...

- It used to have a very "family" like atmosphere
- Management had to embrace modern business practices and tools or else lose everything
- modernization of the infrastructure negated many positions
- competition in the food industry is insane
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sanitation Worker (Temporary) (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PANovember 23, 2014
Very productive place to work. This is the place I developed my efficient skills
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMarch 17, 2014
My internship at Tastykake was both fun and educational. They have a great staff that will help you when desired. The lead engineer Monty Wood is a great man and really helped me with getting to know the engineering workplace, as well as Mr. Huston and Mr. Raggousis. The maintence workers are a wonderful to be around and I enjoyed working for them. My daily routine would be to assist in whatever Mr. Wood wanted me to do, from CAD drawings to mechanical and electrical errors.
Was this review helpful?Yes27No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work
Financial Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 30, 2014
In the 8 years I worked for Tasty Baking Company I enjoyed going to work. It is a great company to work for and my only reason for leaving was to stay home with my children.
The management at Tasty Baking was excellent. I was always being challenged with advancement within the company and always did a great job.
Pros
friendly environment
Was this review helpful?Yes20No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nobody bakes a kake as tasty as a Tasty Kake
Employee (Former Employee) –  PhiladelphiaApril 7, 2013
Good People, Financial issues. Upper Management lacked focus..
Pros
good people
Cons
poorly focused upper mngt.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More concerned with filling orders then quality and safety.
Manufacturing Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAFebruary 20, 2013
I've learned that I can not work for or respect management who look upon output over quality. The hardest part of my job was the 60 mile commute to and from and the two hours a day spent in my car. I liked the people who worked for me, I had the priveledge of working with some excellent people.
Pros
the money
Cons
the commute
Was this review helpful?Yes23No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All the free tastykakes to eat while on duty,free meals too.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PANovember 8, 2012
Tasty Baking Company was a great place to work at,i miss my co-workers from the bakery.
Pros
no accident on the job, the company treat the workers to lunch.
Cons
ceo of the company out source our jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PASeptember 17, 2012
not very secure. Work days are from mon- sat. Start at 5am-finish around 12-1.
Was this review helpful?Yes30No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Machine Operator/Feeder/Monitor (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 3, 2012
It was a good place to work and the employees got alone with each other.
Pros
we got paid every week
Cons
we stood up all day.
Was this review helpful?Yes30No6

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture