TATE and LYLE Employee Reviews

Found 23 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment, rough work schedule, good group and co-workers.
Engineering Technician II (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILApril 12, 2017
Learned good lab practice, learned good management practice. Went through a good aseptic training. Worked swing shifts, which is hard. But had enough days off to recover.
Pros
Great benefits, good people to work with, great training opportunities.
Cons
Work schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with.
Scale Operator/Grain Tester (Former Employee) –  Heyworth, ILMarch 15, 2017
Grain elevator scale operator.
Learned to get along with many different types of people.
Some management politics.
Good workplace culture.
Hardest part was an occasional fly in the ointment regarding awkward personalities, but those were few and far between.
Loved getting to know people.
Pros
Good environment.
Cons
Pay scale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with a great group of employees, but horrible hours and shifts.
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Loudon, TNDecember 9, 2016
This is a great place to work if you are young and need a stable income; however, the swing shifts of 12 hours could take its toll on someone. All in all, I was glad I was able to work here even though it was for a short time. The management and fellow employees were very nice and helpful.
Pros
A great surrounding cast of people, low stress environment, good breaks
Cons
Hours and shifts were tough
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Review
Glatt & Production Operator (Current Employee) –  Sycamore, ILOctober 19, 2016
A typical envolves first arriving on time.
then a safety meeting,
then an report of the prior shift has endure and what needs are to be meet,
next is HAACP to test the critical points of metal detectors,
next is a walk thru to observe the machinery and make sure its mechanically operable for my shift.
learned Haacp, cpr, particle engineering, lab testing of particle performance size.
Pros
work with good people
Cons
The segregation between personel of office and warehouse, gives an inferior impression which kills moral
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and benefits, overall a difficult environment to be in.
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILAugust 26, 2016
The pay and benefits are some of the best around. From a union point of view it was difficult to communicate with management due to them not being in the process or even grasping the simple concepts of it. Then them being upset if you approach with a better, or more logical method of completing a task or project.
Pros
pay and benefits
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Sycamore, ILFebruary 29, 2016
This place was very nice to work at! They gave good benefits, paid breaks,401k and they gave you safety bonuses. I would recommend anyone who likes factories to this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It depends who you know
Operator (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILOctober 9, 2015
I made soy sauce, soy seasoning, syrup, and sugar I like my job management was pretty harsh with some people. I like it at first because of treatment I was fired with any warnings. I was an operator
Pros
no
Cons
30 min lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced lots to learn very demanding.
REFINERY PROCESS TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Loudon, TNJuly 28, 2015
Poor moral and work environment. But great place to make some money and get some experience. Worth checking out. Follow the rules and get training done and you will be ok.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice area
Safety Professional (Former Employee) –  Loudon, TNNovember 14, 2014
Was a nice area to be in. The people was good to work in and the safety culture started slow but ended on a good note.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fast paced
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Sycamore, ILNovember 3, 2014
I am a Glatt machine operator. I also am in charge of making sure my people's safety and job performance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company treats employees well.
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILSeptember 7, 2014
Worked at the facility in Decatur, Illinois for 18 years. The Management I worked for believed in family and making sure a employee was able to be there for them when ultimately needed at home.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor working environment. Poor Safety.
Process Operator (Current Employee) –  Decatur, ILJuly 12, 2014
Poor management team. Lack of leadership. Continuous safety violations that are not fixed.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Unsafe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace and good cowokers
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Sycamore, ILJune 15, 2014
made dry product operate forklift i learned good team work and know how a globe company works i enjoyed working with my coworkers
Pros
good coworkers and benfits
Cons
supervisor did not help
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good First Step into the Food Safety Industry
Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, INMay 8, 2014
This was is my first job in industry and it is helping me get my foot in the door of the scientific community as a student. I work weekends in the quality assurance lab, testing starches produced at the plant before they get sent out to other processed food companies. I come into the lab, count the cultures grown on plates set up during the week, record the results, and then set up new tests for new starch samples. The management at my plant are very flexible and my co-workers have been some of the nicest people I have ever met. They have been very accommodating of whenever my exam schedules overlapped with my work schedule.
Pros
Benefits program avaliable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILJanuary 8, 2014
great pay good benefits not the cleanest place to work but its not the worst
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay No Future
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Sagamore Operations, Lafayette, In.December 19, 2013
worked there for twenty six years. Started at the bottom and worked up to the top paying position. worked long and hard hours, sacrificed being with family and friends for all of the twenty six years. The company talks a good game but has absolutely no Core Values , Honesty, Compassion, Sympathy, or Loyalty. The fact that the company wants people with a degree is laughable at best. It is a factory and anyone can do a great job there as long as they are trained by someone who has the core values mentioned.
Pros
Good wages
Cons
Long hours, Rotating Swing shifts, Working Holidays, Not Appreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Safe working enviorment
Chemical Operator (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHSeptember 11, 2013
A typical day is that something different would go wrong. I always learned something new almost everyday and what I learned over the years would take very long to write. Management would always help with troubleshooting. Most of the co-workers are hard workers. The hardest part of the job would be when equipment would malfunction. Most enjoyable part is that most things were getting automated.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and very littlr communication from management
Senior Territory Manager (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILApril 16, 2013
Used to be a family type atmosphere then Tate and Lyle purchased them and began cutting positions to save money in a sold out environment.
Pros
co. car, expense account, cell phone
Cons
long drives to customers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Laboratory Analyst (Current Employee) –  McIntosh, ALMarch 4, 2013
I performed a variety of lab tests on sucralose samples. My coworkers were great. I really wish they had a permanent job opening because I really like working here.
Pros
company gym
Cons
i was only a temporary contract employee
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Idiots
Maintenance Planner (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILJune 27, 2012
They recruited me from across the country, paid for the relocation and then laid me off. Good severance package, but I don't think they have much vision.
Pros
good pay
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at TATE and LYLE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.0
Culture
3.4