Tax Services Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Work
H&R Block (Seasonal Work) (Former Employee) –  Tracy, CAJuly 26, 2015
On a typical day I opened the store, if I was an opener, placed signs outside and blew up balloons. Along with this, I make fresh coffee and made sure there was sugar and cream for clients.

I learned how to use the company's software, greet clients with a smile whether clients walked into office or I received/called clients.

The management was nice to work with on a daily basis, as were my co-workers, who were tax professionals.

The one thing I was not a fan of was closing the cash register at the end of the day if I worked the evening shift.

I loved opening the store, opening the register and greeting clients throughout the day.
Pros
Greeting clients and talking to clients daily
Cons
Closing register at night
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Oriented, Fast Pace high Voulme, and High Spirited.
Bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 4, 2015
Pay bills and maintain ledgers
Purchase supplies and equipment as authorized by management. Prepare financial statements and reports, including the profit and loss statement and balance sheet.
Pros
Fun working inviornment
Cons
Small Bussiness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sole proprietorship, very busy, has been in business many years. Reliable, extremely knowlegeable.
Tax Accountant (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAOctober 1, 2014
My duties included gathering data form clients , organizing information to complete federal and state tax returns.Data entry, communication with clients, general clerical office work, billing and assisting owner with any and all details necessary to complete returns, were all in a typical day's work. The business is efficient, accurate, and well managed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
only tax time
tax perparer (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 10, 2012
help low income people perpare their taxes from the begging of the year Jan-April of each year. it also helps me to supplement my income.
Pros
it only last for four (4) months.
Cons
not enough months or not enough money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to meet alot of new people
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Jamaica NYSeptember 4, 2012
I had fun working for jackson hewitt; i meet alot of nice people who still say hi to me on the street. my boss and co-wokers all are great listerners and understanding people.
Pros
morning shifts
Cons
it was only seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tax services
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Whittier, CAMarch 6, 2013
was an interesting experience.Not all of the employees were on time so alot of the time I had to stall for them while the clients waited for them to arriive. I dealt with many complaints and questions everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tax Services
Accountant, Tax Services (Current Employee) –  416 N. Santon El Paso, TX 79901December 12, 2013
Prepared individual tax returns, federal and state tax returns.
Prepared exempt tax returns.
Prepared partnership and corporation tax return, federal, state tax returns, and Texas franchise returns.
Prepared email for clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager
Branch Leader (Former Employee) –  Winter Park, FLJune 18, 2014
Managed a staff of 8-12 employees; budgeted new orders and weekly receiving.
South Seminole Middle School Cooking, Cashiering & Stocking.
Pros
new learning opportunity
Cons
lack of balance between school and work opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer in business
Receptionist/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 27, 2014
No longer in business so no review necessary. Good experience working in a busy office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Receptionist for tax season.
OFFICE CLERK (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTNovember 6, 2014
Worked for the tax season. Everybody was nice and learned how to deal with customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for extra money
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Spring Hill FlJuly 22, 2014
This is a seasonal position. Doing taxes was enjoyable but did not pay very well.
Pros
seasonal
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working in a business place
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 17, 2012
My day would begin with a stack of files my duties was to input all the datas into our system. I would deal with customers on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.7
Culture
3.7