Teck Mining Employee Reviews

Found 16 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
open discrimination
Operator/Laborer (Current Employee) –  Red Dog Mine, AKJuly 20, 2017
This employer openly discriminates against non-native employees. Double standards. Almost as if two different employee manuals exist. Promotions will not happen for non-native applicants.
Pros
lots of hours
Cons
employees are a disposable commodity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very busy work place, with nice and friendly people.
Port Laborer (Former Employee) –  Red Dog Mine, AKJune 7, 2017
The job was a 24 hour workplace 7 days a week. I would work 12 days. I've learned to communicate more and a whole lot of things. met new people. got to see a lot of wild life animals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and suportive atmosphere.
Maintenance Planner (Current Employee) –  Metaline Falls, WAJanuary 20, 2017
A challenging place to work enjoyed the freedom that management allowed to complete my projects. Always very safety oriented with the employee in mind.
Pros
Management ethics, pay/benifits, working with contractors/vendors/managment
Cons
Employee mindset not productive or positive
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teck
Lime room operator (Former Employee) –  Red Dog, AKJanuary 18, 2017
I love working for Teck, I really for to know my co-workers. I always had my supervisors there to help me no matter what. Every question or anything they were there to help me. No wasn't an answer
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sauna, Gym, Exercise Room,
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Red Dog Mine, AKJanuary 13, 2017
typical day at work is staying busy. Working safe, good communication with everyone. Always expect the unexpected, being alert, always looking out for your co-workers. Always looking to go home healthy and safe.
Pros
flying you to the mine and back home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changed
Operator (Current Employee) –  Logan lakeDecember 15, 2016
Not like it used to be. A lot of job cuts and no way for employees to advance unless you are an engineer. They no longer offer apprenticeships.
Pros
Compensation good
Cons
Job cuts
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Away from home too much
Employee (Current Employee) –  Red Dog Mine, AKNovember 10, 2016
Not all Teck Mines are remote like the one I work at. I work 4 weeks on-site, away from my family so it is quite difficult. However, they offer a gym, game room, movie room, and other amenities to help make up for it.

The CEO is also very involved with each of the properties which I think is an excellent quality to have. He keeps each property up to date with current events relating to our industry as well as financial information. He is not one who tries to cover up any short-comings.
Pros
Free food all day every day
Cons
Advancing to a managerial position can be difficult........
Was this review helpful?Yes 25NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teck Alaska
HR Administrator (Former Employee) –  Red Dog Mine, AKAugust 20, 2016
Teck Alaska is one of the worst employers to work for in the world. They don't treat employees right and employees are too scared to say anything because they're afraid to lose their high paying job.
Pros
Free room and board while onsite
Cons
Senior Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work atmoshpere with saftey as priority
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Red Dog Port SiteApril 20, 2016
Safety was always placed above production, and still is. Business is a constant labor there, along with motivated co workers the hardest part of the Job was leaving on a rotational schedule back home.
Pros
Free room and board
Cons
were not always allowed to work overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good air quality, clean mine
Underground Miner (Current Employee) –  Metaline Falls, WAAugust 31, 2015
Mine provided safe work environment, ability to learn in a controlled environment. Good life work balance. Close knit crew. Co-workers willing to teach and assist in new task.
Pros
benefits
Cons
travel distance
Was this review helpful?Yes 46No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first project above the Arctic Circle
Construction Manager (Former Employee) –  Red Dog Mine, AKJuly 3, 2015
I liked the challenging atmosphere of a project in a remote area with only 4 month access for large material supply.
The management and operations group of Teck was an example of an effective team. They had a goal to support the project team to the best of their abilities and as a result we were able to finish the project on time and 15% under budget.
Pros
great team
Cons
lots of travel time to/from site
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work
Millwright (Former Employee) –  red dog alaskaMay 24, 2015
a great place to work with a lot of hrs a week its in a remote location you fly in fly out work a 2 week on 1 week off or 4 weeks on 2 weeks off rotation.
Pros
free breakfast lunch and dinner
Cons
very remote
Was this review helpful?Yes 61No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Safety & Training Officer (Current Employee) –  AlaskaApril 26, 2014
Teck is a great company to work for, with great benefits and positive work atmosphere. my only complaint is the schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 58No 19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big mining company
Production/Process Engineer, Silver Refinery (Former Employee) –  Trail, BCJanuary 1, 2014
Lead and manage small-scale process improvement/development projects from inception to implementation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We get hands on training all the time.
Mill Operator II (Current Employee) –  Red Dog Mine, AKApril 3, 2012
I think i have improve alot since working for Teck in Red Dog Mine. We get alot of training time for our jobs and its really good that we do cause in improves our skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 55No 11Report

See more Teck Mining reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Teck Mining. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 100 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8

Teck Mining Reviews by Location