Temple-Inland Employee Reviews in United States

Found 104 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and fun place to work.
Fork Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Mount Jewett, PAApril 7, 2015
I learned what it means to work in a team environment. I learned how to solve problems on my own as well as with the help of others.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee) –  Diboll, TXMarch 21, 2015
enjoyable place to work, alot of friendly people and job security is also something they offer. Would highly recommend this to any willing to put a hard day of work in
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy mortgage post closing position in the thick of the mortgage boom
Mortgage loan post closer (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAFebruary 4, 2015
Enjoyable office environment, I processed mortgage paperwork for loans. The company enventually closed up in the state of Virginia.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work dusty environment
Production Lead Person (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARJanuary 6, 2015
Was a Hot environment inside the plant with no air but the people were good and everyone was expected to be a leader, learn new things and be pro active
Pros
opertunity to advance and learn
Cons
outsourced
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy. fast paced environment
Assistant Winder Operator (Former Employee) –  New Johnsonville, TNDecember 22, 2014
Worked in a high pace atmosphere that challenged you both mentally and physically. After becoming competent in diifferent areas of the plant the employees were given the opportunities to advance to other positions
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was aquired by International Paper
Lead Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 3, 2014
International Paper acquired Temple Inland in February of 2012. Management had high integrity and it was a great place to work!
Pros
great management and staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Results based company
Plant Manager (Former Employee) –  San AntonioDecember 2, 2014
Very little input toward end goals and more like run it like we tell you. Paid managers well but wanted the Company to be your life.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Folder Gluer Operator (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 30, 2014
good people to work with, job wasn't to overly hard,room for advancement if wanted
Pros
wages and co workers
Cons
job security wasnt very good
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast past
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSSeptember 15, 2014
enter order in computer for automatic set-up.
open machine and verify set-up make corrections where needed.
drain, clean and replace ink when needed.
set pre feeder.
close machine and run 1 box and verify set-up is correct.
run order, and checking boxes during run to make sure they are printing correctly to customer specs, til order is complete
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Operation Agent (Former Employee) –  DeQuincy, LAAugust 16, 2014
When I worked here, I think the company was outdated. Very hard work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of over time
Machine Operator/Clamp Driver (Former Employee) –  Tracy, CAAugust 10, 2014
union job with lots of overtime well payed machine operator. also drove a clamp truck. made many boxs
Pros
payed lunches
Cons
union
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting
Guaranty Federal Bank/Statement Processing Clerk I (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 26, 2014
I enjoyed helping customers solve problems related to their accounts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Operator, Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Lexington, SCJune 14, 2014
Well this job I worked as a second operator for three months then bidded for a job as a Dye Monter. I learned how to Operate the machine, fix the Dye board, put the right amount of paint to in the pan to make a box, and learn how to make a box from scratch. Management was cool some better than others. Co-workers was cool everybody was on getting production out. The hardest part of job is hand feeding the machine for 12 hours it made my back hurt. Most enjoyable part was the days off we got.
Pros
days off
Cons
sometimes not getting a break at all
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Diboll, TXApril 9, 2014
I worked in Energy, Environment, and Industrial Hygiene at the Diboll headquarters. The work culture was professional with a feeling that we were all family. The pay was competitive and the office atmosphere was fun.
Pros
competitive salary
Cons
can't think of any
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced saw mill
Strapper Operator (Former Employee) –  Pineland, TexasMarch 10, 2014
I learned how to operate a machine at this job not hard work at all. Management was not all that well not very worker friendly. Very nice co-workers though all hard working people.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really like the company
Machine operator (Former Employee) –  Petersburg, VAJanuary 24, 2014
I ran the machine it was loud and noisy. co- workers were fun to be around
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Box Plant
Machine Operator/1st Helper (Former Employee) –  Northlake, ILJanuary 23, 2014
We made cardboard boxes, I leaned die- cut skills, mixing paints, and how to run da minis. The hardest part of the job was the sets ups and getting the slots correct. The best part was learning new skills.
Pros
the pay
Cons
to my staff changes
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned the box business here
CSR 1 (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CAJanuary 15, 2014
Entered new items to quote dept for pricing and returned quote to outside sales rep.

Set up new items in the system, as well as ordering cutting dies and print plates when needed, Expidite orders when necessary and maintain current specs with any changes, but entering the changes in the system as soon as they were completed in writing by sales rep.

Working with the desing dept on sturctural cad drawings and sample boxes if customer needed to confirm proper fit for their item.

Keeping track of inventory on the floor for some JIT customers, making sure I was never out of boxes that the customer depended on me to have in stock at all times.

Most enjoyable part was the people I worked with in my dept, the other CSR's were always very helpful
Pros
great co-workers
Cons
long hours, lots of over time
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very pleasant company to work for
Plant/Project Engineer - Plant Operations (Former Employee) –  Thomson, GADecember 20, 2013
Plant project engineer with responsibility for capital projects in Thomson, GA facility.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Temple-Inland
Package Maker Operator (Former Employee) –  Pineland, TXNovember 22, 2013
I became forklift certified, I learned minor computer skills, my co-workers were friendly and accepted, my job was fairly easy, and the most enjoyable part of my job was learning new things
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 105 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5