TEMPLE-INLAND Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work for
Boiler Operator (Former Employee), Northlake, ILOctober 30, 2013
It was fun when everything was working like a clock
Learned to troubleshoot the boiler and repair mechanical pumps
For the most part management was ok
Had a good times working my co-workers
The hardest part was when replacing pipes at 170 degrees f
When I was able to diagnose a problem in a matter of minutes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work with good people.
RELIEF OPERATOR (Former Employee), Rome, GAOctober 29, 2013
It was union, the job I was doing was good but it just didn't pay that well. It was hard to advance past my grade four job because there was hardly any turnover on the upper level jobs. Other than job advancement, it was really a good job with good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer in around
JDE Admin/Computer Operator Shift Lead (Former Employee), Austin, TXOctober 15, 2013
Pros: na
Cons: na
It was an OK company to work for. when it was around. with both good and bad moments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dissapointing
Manufacturing Coordinator (Former Employee), Marion, OHOctober 7, 2013
Employees very skilled and extremely knowledgeable, however, inexperienced senior management at the local facility provided insufficient guidance and leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace work environment
Assistant Operator (Former Employee), Ontario, CAAugust 19, 2013
Had to keep up with the machine, work would not stop for an individual. Great benefits and great hours, lots of overtime 50+/week
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Sales Account Manager Temple Inland
Territory Account Manager (Former Employee), MinnesotaJuly 13, 2013
Pros: outstanding company
Cons: there are none
Temple Inland was the best company I ever worked for, a manufacture of quality building products, a company with outstanding caring people

Wish I still worked for them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
made boxes
Driver (Former Employee), Lexington, SCJuly 8, 2013
Pros: weekends off
Cons: did away with all company drivers
delivery driver- delivered boxes to SC, NC, GA,TN and VA
good people to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
factory
Feeder Operator (Former Employee), Madison, OHJuly 2, 2013
go into work load press and trim parts all day i would also help change the dies and had a desent crew
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Arduous labor
Utility hand (Former Employee), DeQuincy, LAJune 13, 2013
Pros: good pay, close to home
Cons: short breaks, hard to get hired on permanantley
A typical day was hot and long but the work was honest and anybody out there would bend over backwards to help you if you were in a bind. The superintendent never really trusted in the green hats mental ability and talked down on you like you didn't know what was going on which was kind of annoying, but it is to be expected. the hardest part about the job was just the swing shift thing but you get used to it. The job did pay good and was really close to the house which was fantastic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Company that truly valued its employees.
Human Resources Generalist (Current Employee), Carol Stream, ILMay 30, 2013
Temple Inland was purchased by International Paper February 13, 2013.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Operator (Former Employee), Buna, TXMay 24, 2013
Pros: always learing something new
Cons: over 45 min drive
Good place to work just no room for advancement. Enjoyed working with my coworkers and became close friends with some. I leared alot about how building material was made and what went in to making them. Although faced with many challanges Management took into consideration how the job affected the employees and their personal time off. The thing I liked most was that everyday was a different day because you always learn something new and was faced with different obsticals to overcome in a positive way. The bad thing about the job was that they gave no warning when they laid over half of the employees off due to the economy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working Temple-Inland. When you go to work and enjoy your job, it's not really work.
Human Resource Data Processor II (Former Employee), Austin, TXMay 14, 2013
Pros: work environment and job duties
Cons: job elimination due to the buy out of temple-inland by international paper.
Working with a great team of people and excellent supervisors was the best part of working for Temple-Inland. A normal day started with checking emails and accessing the hires, terminations, changes and leave of absence needing to be entered in to the JD Edwards system. The hardest part of my job was down-time. Best part of my job was my coworkers. A great team makes work not really work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review of Temple Inland
Bander/Quality Review (Former Employee), Crawfordsville, INMay 1, 2013
Pros: pro-social environment
Cons: short breaks and lunches
The typical day at Temple Inland was always fast paced till the time I got off. I learned the importance of working quickly and efficiently at the same time. Management and co-workers were both helpful and easy to get along with. The hardest part of the job was keeping the machine functioning properly all day. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting a workout while working. Kind of a two for one special.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, nice benefits
Service Crew (Former Employee), Rome, gaApril 15, 2013
Work many hours with a good salary. very physically demanding job. do very hard work for 10 hours a day. then do it again the next.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Print plate mounter for plant
die-mounter (Former Employee), Middletown, OHMarch 17, 2013
Worked for Temple Inland for 17 years, good hours, reasonable pay, overtime most weeks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Worker (Former Employee), Southeast USMarch 10, 2013
Great place to work with plenty opportunities to expand skills and experience in the paper industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Packaging Corporation that had a very good development staff.
Plant Manager (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 26, 2013
Managed 2 different plants within Temple-Inland and enjoyed the companies outlook on employees and development. It became difficult when the mergers and acquisitions phase of growth kicked in. Temple Inland has since been purchased by and operates under International Paper. Most difficult portion of job was being moved to seven locations in and eleven year period.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and a fun place to work.
Assembler/Machine Operator (Former Employee), Utica, NYFebruary 16, 2013
Pros: could eat on the job.
Cons: very long hours to work sometimes.
Not an easy job to perform everyday, but my co-workers made it worthwhile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Network Analyst (Former Employee), Austin, TXFebruary 10, 2013
Pros: great advancement
Cons: company downsizeing
great opportunites to advance, good hours. Company downsizeing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very fast paced place to work
Assistant Operator (Former Employee), Bell, CAFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: great benefits, turkeys and hams given during the holidays.
Cons: short breaks
organizing paper work and materials needed for a days work. Learned to work on different type of machines and forklift. Management and co-workers helpful and friendly. Hardest part of job was covering for another co-worker on a shift where you do not get enough rest before having to return to work. Most enjoyable part of the job was during the yearly picnics where we all got together and just eat and have fun.
Claim this company page
Headquarters
1300 S. Mopac Expwy.
3rd Fl.
Austin TX, United States 78746
Revenue
$1B to $5B (USD)
Employees
10,000+
Industry
Links
TEMPLE-INLAND website