Temple-Inland Employee Reviews

Found 115 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and sometimes frustrating
Raw Material Operator (Current Employee) –  Hope, ARSeptember 20, 2015
Nice place to work. The thing I liked the most about this job is i took pride in what i did. Practiced good attendance, leadership, and good communication between myself, management and our c/ustomers
Pros
week off every month
Cons
not enough family time with the rotating work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
plant shutdown
Flexo-folder Gluer Operator (Former Employee) –  Carol Stream, ILSeptember 16, 2015
poor typical union employee attitude, poor performance led to plant closure.immediate supervisors were pretty good, respected me highly and gave me room to work and succeed, trusted my decisions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recommend this company to anyone who is willing to work hard
Engineering/Purchasing Clerk (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CASeptember 3, 2015
Worked in two departments: Engineering and Purchasing.
Engineering-updated database manuals, long hand minute taking in many meetings, some PowerPoint presentations, AutoCAD Drawings, filing, Answered phones, Customer Service.
Purchasing: Processed daily orders for parts, Customer Service which entailed talking to clients placing the orders, order followup.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Losts of Work
Marketing / Service Representative (Former Employee) –  conklin NYAugust 27, 2015
Ok job - no life balance. Huge work load. Co-workers were nice. It def wasn't for me so I left after 18months. No job perks either.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with good manaegmet and coworkers
Receiving Supervisor / Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Madison, OHAugust 13, 2015
A typical work day here was unloading trucks and delivering raw materials to the machine centers.

I learned allot about the Job force in general. This was my first job out of school so I found it to be very educational in regards to how working for a large company works.
in addition to this I learned allot about manufacturing and warehousing.

Management here was good..I found them all to be very friendly and knowledgeable about running a company.

Many of my coworkers in this facility are still close friends today.

The hardest part of this job was keeping up with production while still managing to unload trucks. it could be very fast paced at times.

I enjoyed driving a tow motor. I was good at it and i found it to be unstressful most of the time.
Pros
Great benefits, Excellent management and good coworkers.
Cons
Low pay and no room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rotate hours monthly
CNC Operator (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 29, 2015
made cardboard boxes for companies. hated to change shifts every month. over all loved the job. people were great. had to perform amintanice on the machines
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goal oriented performer
Corporate Credit Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin TXJune 24, 2015
My experience with Temple-Inland and International Paper was extremely positive. In both cases I was empowered to achieve corporate objectives with superior personnel and automated tools in the evaluation of risk and collecting delinquent AR.
Pros
Strong management and generous benefits
Cons
No significant negatives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Particleboard operation
Finishing & Shipping Supt (Former Employee) –  Diboll, TXJune 7, 2015
Focused on process improvement and elimination of waste in production process. Often times long hours at odd hours of the day and night.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Hectic schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  Pineland, TXMay 22, 2015
at the time the company was going through a time when production was slow and they where not in high demand, so they began cutting hours and laying people off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Employee History Corrugator Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FlMay 15, 2015
work was a different challenge everyday. same job but new situations that you had to conquer to keep the plant running. Never a dull moment

learned to cope under all circumstances and come out on top
Pros
i worked most of my years their as a family
Cons
no stability at the end
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn.
APPLICATION INTEGRATION TEAM LEAD (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 26, 2015
Overall was a great place to work and the people were extremely friendly. I had never worked with colleagues that were so polite and worked together on solutions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and fun place to work.
Fork Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Mount Jewett, PAApril 7, 2015
I learned what it means to work in a team environment. I learned how to solve problems on my own as well as with the help of others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee) –  Diboll, TXMarch 21, 2015
enjoyable place to work, alot of friendly people and job security is also something they offer. Would highly recommend this to any willing to put a hard day of work in
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy mortgage post closing position in the thick of the mortgage boom
Mortgage loan post closer (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAFebruary 4, 2015
Enjoyable office environment, I processed mortgage paperwork for loans. The company enventually closed up in the state of Virginia.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work dusty environment
Production Lead Person (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARJanuary 6, 2015
Was a Hot environment inside the plant with no air but the people were good and everyone was expected to be a leader, learn new things and be pro active
Pros
opertunity to advance and learn
Cons
outsourced
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy. fast paced environment
Assistant Winder Operator (Former Employee) –  New Johnsonville, TNDecember 22, 2014
Worked in a high pace atmosphere that challenged you both mentally and physically. After becoming competent in diifferent areas of the plant the employees were given the opportunities to advance to other positions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was aquired by International Paper
Lead Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 3, 2014
International Paper acquired Temple Inland in February of 2012. Management had high integrity and it was a great place to work!
Pros
Great management and staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Results based company
Plant Manager (Former Employee) –  San AntonioDecember 2, 2014
Very little input toward end goals and more like run it like we tell you. Paid managers well but wanted the Company to be your life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Folder Gluer Operator (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 30, 2014
good people to work with, job wasn't to overly hard,room for advancement if wanted
Pros
wages and co workers
Cons
job security wasnt very good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast past
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSSeptember 15, 2014
enter order in computer for automatic set-up.
open machine and verify set-up make corrections where needed.
drain, clean and replace ink when needed.
set pre feeder.
close machine and run 1 box and verify set-up is correct.
run order, and checking boxes during run to make sure they are printing correctly to customer specs, til order is complete
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Temple-Inland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 116 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6