TEMPLE-INLAND Employee Reviews

Found 78 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced saw mill
Strapper Operator (Former Employee) –  Pineland, TexasMarch 10, 2014
I learned how to operate a machine at this job not hard work at all. Management was not all that well not very worker friendly. Very nice co-workers though all hard working people.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really like the company
Machine operator (Former Employee) –  Petersburg, VAJanuary 24, 2014
I ran the machine it was loud and noisy. co- workers were fun to be around
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Box Plant
Machine Operator/1st Helper (Former Employee) –  Northlake, ILJanuary 23, 2014
We made cardboard boxes, I leaned die- cut skills, mixing paints, and how to run da minis. The hardest part of the job was the sets ups and getting the slots correct. The best part was learning new skills.
Pros
the pay
Cons
to my staff changes
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very pleasant company to work for
Plant/Project Engineer - Plant Operations (Former Employee) –  Thomson, GADecember 20, 2013
Plant project engineer with responsibility for capital projects in Thomson, GA facility.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Temple-Inland
Package Maker Operator (Former Employee) –  Pineland, TXNovember 22, 2013
I became forklift certified, I learned minor computer skills, my co-workers were friendly and accepted, my job was fairly easy, and the most enjoyable part of my job was learning new things
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay
inside refiner/energy operator (Former Employee) –  Kane, PANovember 19, 2013
Worked 12 hour rotating shifts, learned how to make fiber board. Manage management had its own rules- coworkers were great- hardest part was working with broken equipment- loved the pay
Pros
great pay close to home
Cons
manditory overtime on short notice
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Operator/Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Tracy, CANovember 5, 2013
Great schedule and pay. Good union company to work for. Management is very knowledgeable
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work for
Boiler Operator (Former Employee) –  Northlake, ILOctober 30, 2013
It was fun when everything was working like a clock
Learned to troubleshoot the boiler and repair mechanical pumps
For the most part management was ok
Had a good times working my co-workers
The hardest part was when replacing pipes at 170 degrees f
When I was able to diagnose a problem in a matter of minutes
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work with good people.
RELIEF OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Rome, GAOctober 29, 2013
It was union, the job I was doing was good but it just didn't pay that well. It was hard to advance past my grade four job because there was hardly any turnover on the upper level jobs. Other than job advancement, it was really a good job with good people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer in around
JDE Admin/Computer Operator Shift Lead (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 15, 2013
It was an OK company to work for. when it was around. with both good and bad moments
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dissapointing
Manufacturing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Marion, OHOctober 7, 2013
Employees very skilled and extremely knowledgeable, however, inexperienced senior management at the local facility provided insufficient guidance and leadership.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace work environment
Assistant Operator (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CAAugust 19, 2013
Had to keep up with the machine, work would not stop for an individual. Great benefits and great hours, lots of overtime 50+/week
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Sales Account Manager Temple Inland
Territory Account Manager (Former Employee) –  MinnesotaJuly 13, 2013
Temple Inland was the best company I ever worked for, a manufacture of quality building products, a company with outstanding caring people

Wish I still worked for them
Pros
outstanding company
Cons
there are none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
made boxes
Driver (Former Employee) –  Lexington, SCJuly 8, 2013
delivery driver- delivered boxes to SC, NC, GA,TN and VA
good people to work with
Pros
weekends off
Cons
did away with all company drivers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
factory
Feeder Operator (Former Employee) –  Madison, OHJuly 2, 2013
go into work load press and trim parts all day i would also help change the dies and had a desent crew
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Arduous labor
Utility hand (Former Employee) –  DeQuincy, LAJune 13, 2013
A typical day was hot and long but the work was honest and anybody out there would bend over backwards to help you if you were in a bind. The superintendent never really trusted in the green hats mental ability and talked down on you like you didn't know what was going on which was kind of annoying, but it is to be expected. the hardest part about the job was just the swing shift thing but you get used to it. The job did pay good and was really close to the house which was fantastic.
Pros
good pay, close to home
Cons
short breaks, hard to get hired on permanantley
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Company that truly valued its employees.
Human Resources Generalist (Current Employee) –  Carol Stream, ILMay 30, 2013
Temple Inland was purchased by International Paper February 13, 2013.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Operator (Former Employee) –  Buna, TXMay 24, 2013
Good place to work just no room for advancement. Enjoyed working with my coworkers and became close friends with some. I leared alot about how building material was made and what went in to making them. Although faced with many challanges Management took into consideration how the job affected the employees and their personal time off. The thing I liked most was that everyday was a different day because you always learn something new and was faced with different obsticals to overcome in a positive way. The bad thing about the job was that they gave no warning when they laid over half of the employees off due to the economy.
Pros
always learing something new
Cons
over 45 min drive
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working Temple-Inland. When you go to work and enjoy your job, it's not really work.
Human Resource Data Processor II (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 14, 2013
Working with a great team of people and excellent supervisors was the best part of working for Temple-Inland. A normal day started with checking emails and accessing the hires, terminations, changes and leave of absence needing to be entered in to the JD Edwards system. The hardest part of my job was down-time. Best part of my job was my coworkers. A great team makes work not really work.
Pros
work environment and job duties
Cons
job elimination due to the buy out of temple-inland by international paper.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review of Temple Inland
Bander/Quality Review (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INMay 1, 2013
The typical day at Temple Inland was always fast paced till the time I got off. I learned the importance of working quickly and efficiently at the same time. Management and co-workers were both helpful and easy to get along with. The hardest part of the job was keeping the machine functioning properly all day. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting a workout while working. Kind of a two for one special.
Pros
pro-social environment
Cons
short breaks and lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 79 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture