TENCATE Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hours
Machine Operator/ Assembler (Former Employee) –  Camarillo, CAAugust 29, 2017
Great place to work. They gave me lots of hours to work. A lot of moving and lot of work with your hands. Mostly all physical labor. I would recommend working here. They press the importance of safety.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work with friendly staff
Inspector (Former Employee) –  Molena, GAAugust 21, 2017
Inspecting material to be sent out to different vendors. Very nice place to work.Very good start up pay and raises on a regular until you reach the max.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Service Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Morgan Hill, CAJuly 20, 2017
None at this time. I was a contract employee. It was a great learning experience and enjoyed the products.

They have interesting projects and an impressive portfolio.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tencate was a good place to work.
Weaver. Forklife (Former Employee) –  GeorgiaJune 3, 2017
The people that make up the Tecate family are wonderful caring people. Everyone is willing to help out even if it wasn't their job. The majority of the employees along with bosses all got along well and in turn made it a nice atmosphere.
Pros
Friendly and fast paces
Cons
We got a little dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Shipping and Receiving (Current Employee) –  Hebron, OHNovember 15, 2016
Very proudictuve and fun place to work. The management is great. Nice benefits and people are very friendly easy to get along with. Easy going pace
Pros
Pay
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an ok place to work.when they are doing things the way that it should be done
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Senoia, GASeptember 25, 2016
In the beginning things was fine then a lot start changing.with the company and the management .a lot of the time they dont do things by the book
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Healthcare is good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company with great co- workers
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Molena, GAAugust 1, 2016
great company to work for with great working hours and benefits... The management and co-workers are outstanding.Overall satisfied with being an employee for this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working here but when I got sick it was out the door quickly
Extruder Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Dayton, TNJune 17, 2016
If you want to keep working at Tencate, My best advice is stay young and do not get sick. I had a good job making 16.58 per hour. However it was a dangerous job, several of my coworkers got themselves caught in the machines and were severely injured.
Cons
12 hour rotating shifts frequently with no breaks was my experience at tencata
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
MACHINE OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 23, 2016
I really like this job. I got pretty much what I needed. I was happy in that job! I just really wish I could keep working in that job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Inspector/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Senoia, GASeptember 14, 2015
45 areas set up to run plots. Plots are the yarn that has been chosen to run that day. Normally your gone run about three yarn plots. It takes 45 mins to an hour for the plots to wind together to make a double thread.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to acquire broad range of experience
Process Reliability Manager (Current Employee) –  Cornelia, GAAugust 5, 2015
Days are balanced between working on any daily fires and planning or implementing continuous improvement projects. Upper management has a strong belief in the development of its associates and practices promoting from within. This dogma has afforded me the opportunity to build a skill set some would not recognize in an employment history twice as long as mine. The most unsettling part of the job is industry wide as many of the products have reached the end of their life cycles and the term commodity isn't sinking in with some of our management. The family atmosphere is infectious at Tencate...if I ever leave, there will be a hole in my heart.
Pros
Great Healthcare
Cons
Imbalanced expectations in departments
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Material Coordinator & Slitter Operator
Slitter Operator (Former Employee) –  Jefferson, GAJuly 27, 2015
Material coordinator is entry position. Very strong "class" system and upward movement is only when a position above you is vacated. Salary & insurance are very good.
Pros
Medical insurance & salary.
Cons
Long Hours, HOT in summer and COLD in winter.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company has down sized.
Quality Inspector (Current Employee) –  Pendergrass GeorgiaMay 31, 2015
My 12 hour work day consists of testing material made of polypropylene and recording data and entering results into data system. House keeping and polypropylene fiber testing. I have to report back to line operators and managers of my data. If the product fails any of the 7 tests, then I have to continue testing until product passes inspection,
Pros
401k match
Cons
short breaks if any, depending on how products run... only one tech per shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Pendergrass, GAMarch 6, 2015
 Design and fabricate safety improvements for production and packaging equipment
 Maintained production and packaging equipment in food productions facility
 Hazardous Waste and Emergency Response (HAZWOPER) team member
 Knowledge in food safety and good manufacturing practices
 Certified Ammonia Refrigeration specialist
 Managed the PSM program
 The ability to read schematics and blueprints
 Use of everyday hand and power tools
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Skill set
Material Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Pendergrass, GAFebruary 6, 2015
• Assist in start up, ensure all areas are clean and clear of objects.
• Assist in spinnerette change, maintain concentrate levels for each blender.
• Stage bales on lines for nonwooven material by lot number an order.
• Coordinate bales to warehouse, bale lab waste, stage bale wires and bale wraps
• Maintain data entry of all actions, licensed forklift operator, 7 types of lifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shipping
Shipping and receiving Clerk (Current Employee) –  Pendergrass, GASeptember 19, 2014
takes along time to get on full time with the job, gives you the run a round
Pros
company parties
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work but it was aseasoned job
Extrusion Line Leader (Former Employee) –  Cornelia, GAMarch 13, 2014
The pay was excellent and the people where great. Always worried about downtime and such. At this job we always learnt something new each day.
Pros
The pay and benefits
Cons
Downtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic workplace with many opportunities
Porometer Technician (Former Employee) –  Cornelia, GAFebruary 11, 2014
A typical day while working on research at TenCate was filled with curiosity and rigorous application of the scientific method; a great deal of autonomy was given to me, but I also had to produce results. Hard work, a great attitude, and fantastic results are rewarded well at TenCate. When I first took my internship at TenCate, I was a green and untested worker in the field of technical work. Now I have gained a stronger sense of confidence, prioritization skills, and a greater understanding of corporate culture and business tact. Throughout my stay with TenCate, I found all of my fellow employees from the top to the bottom to be genuinely wonderful people. The hardest part of my job was stress management; the leap from theory and clear direction in college to the demanding requirements of industry was a tall one. I never cracked under the pressure, and always yielded results, but it was an arduous journey. The most enjoyable part of my job was gaining the ability to tackle any situation and learning to use my stress and "extra fuel" for completed required tasks.
Pros
Great people, good benefits, relatively high pay
Cons
the only place hourly people can go outside is a smoking area, no windows anywhere
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
inspecting products
Quality Inspector (Current Employee) –  Newark, OHDecember 27, 2013
The people are very good to work with, but the pay rate is not comparable to what it should be
Pros
family orientated
Cons
very low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you need flexability
Technician (Current Employee) –  Morgan Hill, CANovember 18, 2013
I process work orders for mix department and transfer material to other department for process.The hardest part of job is the heavy lifting of material.the most enjoyable part of job is the flexability.
Pros
overtime
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at TENCATE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.4